Rhetoric of the Natural and Beyond

PWR 2RL - Spring 2016 - Instructor: Lee, R.

A guide for PWR 2RL: The Rhetoric of the Natural and Beyond. Tthis class will consider how "natural" is understood and/or modified in what circumstances, how it interfaces with social norms and other notions like safety and authenticity, and how these contexts and ramifications animate different negotiations of power. Topics may range from literary (e.g. magic realism and the fantastic) to social (our growing proximity and intimacy with tech devices) to medical (homeopathy or bionic implants and prosthesis).

Background/Reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument. 

Reference materials can be good resources for subject overviews and a means to collect useful keywords. The bibliographies frequently include key texts and thinkers that are associated with a specific subject. To discover more reference materials held in the Stanford Libraries, search Reference Universe, Searchworks, consult with a librarian, or browse the libraries' reference collections.

Tips for using reference sources:

  1. Look at the cross-references that many entries provide. These can be helpful in pointing you toward a related or more accurate idea/term.
  2. One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.
5th ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, [2010]
Green Library » Information Center » HM1011 .H37 2010 V.1
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2007.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » HM1007 .E53 2007 V.1
3rd ed. Detroit : Gale, Cengage Learning, c2009.
Green Library » Information Center » R733 .G34 2009 V.1
This is available in full text online
4th ed. St. Louis, Mo. : Elsevier/Churchill Livingstone, c2013.
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Lane Library catalog for status » CLINICALKEY
Totowa, N.J. : Humana Press, c2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QH442.6 .G657 2004

Selected Searchworks Subject Terms

Suggested Article Databases

To find articles try the databases below

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This is the most general database for scholarly and non-scholarly articles. 
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Similar to Academic Search Premier - articles on all kinds of topics.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Science and Social Science
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Evanston, Ill.] : American Theological Association, [Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO Information Services
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource