You are here

The rhetoric of the startup

PWR 1JM - Winter 2014 - Instructor: McEntire, J.
Last Updated: 30-Jul-2014

A guide to print and online resources for PWR 1JM: The Rhetoric of the Startup.  Topics include connectedness between Stanford and Silicon Valley startups; entrepreneurship and venture capital.

Article resources for entrepreneurship

Suggested databases to use for locating articles about Silicon Valley, start up companies, and entrepreneurs. 

If you need to pursue a citation search due to low numbers of article found, you will want to use SearchWorks to locate either the Scopus or Web of Science databases.  Those are more complicated to use.  If you decide to try them and they are not working for you, let a librarian know.  We can work together to find you additional sources.

Global ed. [Ann Arbor, Mich. : UMI]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
ABI/Inform covers over 1,600 leading business and management publications. Over 350 English-language titles from outside the U.S. Also includes articles on 60,000 companies, and the Wall Street journal. If this database isn't working well for you, try the broader Academic Search Premier database. Coverage from 1923 forward.
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Academic Search Premier has a broader focus that ABI/Inform. It picks up more news stories from international sources, so if you are looking for new trends or very small companies, it may be worth trying here.  Coverage is from 1965 to the present.
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
[Boston?] : Lux Research,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
State of the Market Reports, Company Profiles, Analyst Insights, search, email alerts, email journal subscriptions, and more. Navigate between videos to learn at your own pace. Limited seats, only FOUR users at the same time are allowed.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The San Jose Mercury News is the paper that covers Silicon Valley companies and venture capital investments.

Books and journals about entrepreneurship

This is only a sampling of what is available.  Search for Books and Journals in the SearchWorks online catalog using terms such as entrepreneurship,  start up or starup,  small business, new products or new business enterprises.  Try also venture capital.  Don't forget to look at the Business School library resources as well.

[Santa Monica, Calif. : Chase Revel]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A journal that carries news stories about entrepreneurialism, small business management, and business opportunities.   The Wall Street Journal and Business Week both carry articles about startups that have become major companies, this magazine is about getting started.
San Jose [Calif.] : American City Business Journals Inc.,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Boston, MA : Gruner & Jahr USA Pub. on behalf of Fast Co. Magazine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A journal written for, by, and about the most progressive business leaders, and comes with a unique and compelling editorial focus on innovation.
[Boston, MA : United Marine Pub.]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A journal where entrepreneurs and business owners can find useful information, advice, insights, resources and inspiration for running and growing their businesses. This magazine has been a premier publication for entrepreneurs since 1979.
2nd ed. Burlington : Elsevier Science, 2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
3rd ed. New York : American Management Association, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
1st ed. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, c2007.
Business Library » Stacks » HD9696.65.U64 C663 2007
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, 2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Los Angeles : Sage Publications, c2007.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » HD60 .E56 2007