Rhetorics of Travel and Tourism

PWR 1IY - Spring 2016 - Instructor: Yamboliev, I.

A guide to resources for PWR 1IY: The Rhetorics of Travel and Tourism. Topics include how travel and the objects of travel have been shaped by the changing experiences of the traveler; travelogues, advertisements, guidebooks, postcards, touristic snapshots and souvenirs. 

Getting Started

Travel1. Use Reference Sources to jumpstart your research, to get ideas, search terms, context, and more. 
 

2. Find Books, Journal Titles and Media in Stanford's Online Catalog, SearchWorks.

3. Find Articles in Selected Databases. Note: Stanford subscribes to over 1000 Databases that index articles and books on various  topics. Since there are so many databases we recommend a select subset of databases which will give you access to articles in a wide variety of subject areas.
 
4. Ask Your Librarian for help!

Selected SearchWorks subject terms

Here are some "controlled vocabulary" terms for a few travel related topics. You can use the Limiters on the left column of the results list: Topics, Call Numbers (for Subject Area), Location (which library - another clue for subject/perspective), Publication Date, etc. to narrow your searches.

•  Description and Travel 

•  Highways United States 

•  Leisure 

•  Luggage 

•  Tourism Environmental Aspects 

•  Transportation History 

•  Travel Psychological Aspects 

•  West (U.S.) Description and Travel 

 

Selected Databases

Subscription databases provided by Stanford University Libraries cover a range of topics, including travel writing of various types.   Even if you are using Google Scholar for searching, these databases are usually where you can find the full text articles you need.

Global ed. [Ann Arbor, Mich. : UMI]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Article citations and some full text articles from business-related publications and the Wall Street journal. Touriism businesses are included.
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present."
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs."
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Industries,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles."
Dublin, Ohio : OCLC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present."
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on art and related disciplines from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published throughout the world. There is full-text coverage for selected periodicals. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with 1994; full-text coverage begins with 1997."
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub., [2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Index contains more than 1,590,000 records from 1,500 domestic and international titles going back to the 1950s (including 960 active core titles) as well as 100 monographs. Environment Index also features an in-depth thesaurus, and author profiles will be provided for 3,000 authors in the discipline."
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books."
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis."
[New York] : H.W. Wilson, 1987-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"International bibliography of books and articles on the modern languages and literatures including travel writing."