You are here

Russia and Eurasia: Find Primary Sources

Last Updated: 10-Nov-2014

Find primary sources from and about Russia, the Soviet Union, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, the Caucasus, Central Asia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

Available on Campus, in California and Online

Use SearchWorks to find published collections of documents as well archival collections in Stanford's and Hoover's archives. SearchWorks records for collections of documents often include the subject term "sources." So a search might look like this: [topic, geographic entity, or keywords from name of organization] sources. To find archival collections, try this search: [name of person or organization] papers. Some examples:

Hoover Archives » Stacks » 91014
A large archival collection retrieved with a search [name of organization] papers. Search was: Radio Liberty papers.
London : printed for J. Read, in White-Fryars, MDCCXXXIX. [1739]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
E-book from subscription collection Eighteenth Century Collections Online. Search terms: Russia history Peter sources. (Names of rulers can be used to designate historical time periods.)
Sankt-Peterburg : Rossiĭskai͡a nat͡sionalʹnai͡a biblioteka, 2003.
Green Library » Stacks » DK106 .S67 2003
Series: Rukopis'nye pamiatniki. Search terms: Oprichnina sources
4 volumes of testimonies gathered by the Oral History Project of the Commission on the Ukraine Famine of 1932-1933. Search terms: Ukraine famine sources
Bloomington, IN : Indiana University Press, c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » DS327.3 .I75 2010
"[T]he first English-language anthology of primary documents for the study of Central Asian history." Search terms: Islam Central Asia sources
Moskva : Sov. pisatelʹ, 1982.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » D764.3.L4 A3 1982
Records for memoirs and diaries contain the term "personal narratives." Search terms: Saint Petersburg siege personal narratives. (Geographical names, if the place still exists, are tagged with their current names; thus Saint Petersburg as a search term instead of Leningrad.)
[Cambridge, MA] : Harvard College Library, [2008?]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Primarily "summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War." In SearchWorks, interviews are tagged with the term "interviews." Search terms: Soviet Union social conditions interviews

Can I Get It on Interlibrary Loan?

Russian Archives and Their Holdings

European Archives and Their Holdings

Can't Find It? Try These Search Engines, Link Sites, etc.