You are here

Russian literature

Last Updated: 10-Nov-2014

Selective guide to library and online resources for Russian and Soviet literature: poetry, novels, short stories, etc. For tips on finding recently-published criticism and journal articles online, see the guide "Russia and Eurasia: Find articles."

New acquisitions in Russian literature

Russian literature and works about it are found in the call number range PG2900-PG3999. Most of them are in the 3rd floor stacks of Green Library; others are in SAL3. Rare works and materials published before approximately 1830 can be consulted in Special Collections. Below are some new acquisitions in 20th-century Russian literature.

  1. Maĭi͡a Kaganskai͡a ; predislovie M. Vaĭskopfa ; sostavlenie, predgotovka tekstov i primechanii͡a S. Shargorodskogo. 2014

  2. René Lévy.. 2014

  3. Monique Slodzian. 2014

  4. Tatiana Pudova. 2014

  5. Михаил Жванецкий.. 2014

  6. E.A. I͡Ablokov. 2014

  7. Т.Н. Бреева.. 2014

  8. составители В. Левенталь, П. Крусанов.. 2014

  9. Liza Alexandrova-Zorina ; translated by Melanie Moore. 2014

  10. Ekaterina Vassilieva. 2014

Reference guides

Selected guides and histories, most of which are online as well as in book format.

2nd ed. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » DK32 .C33 2012
Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1998.
Green Library » Stacks » PG3098.3 .C33 1998
Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » PG3017 .C36 2011
Rev. ed. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1992.
Green Library » Stacks » PG2951 .D36 1992
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2008.
Green Library » Stacks » PG2951 .E47 2008
New Haven : Yale University Press, c1985.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PG2940 .H29 1985
New Haven : Yale University Press, 1991.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PG2950 .T43 1991
Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1994.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
London ; Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, c1998.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PG2940 .R43 1998

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Selected encyclopedias and dictionaries

New York : Columbia University Press, 1988.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z2500 .K3513 1988
Moskva : Sovetskai͡a ėntsiklopedii͡a, 1962-
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PN41 .K7 V.1
Also available online as part of ФЕБ (http://feb-web.ru/feb/kle/kle-abc/default.asp).
[Moskva] Izd-vo Kommunisticheskoĭ akademii, 1929-1939.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PN41 .L45 V.1
Also available online as part of ФЕБ (http://www.feb-web.ru/feb/litenc/encyclop/) and in Yandex slovari (http://slovari.yandex.ru/~книги/Лит. энциклопедия/).
Moskva : Vremi͡a, 2012.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PG2940 .C48 2012
Gulf Breeze, FL : Academic International Press, 1977-
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PN849 .R9 M6 INDEX V.1
New York : Garland Publishing, 1999.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PG3203 .W64 R868 1999 V.1

Biography, pseudonyms

Find biographical information about authors, connect authors with their pseudonyms. Find more works like the ones below using SeachWorks subject terms: Authors Russian; Biography

A searchable, corrected version of this work is part of ФЕБ: http://feb-web.ru/feb/masanov/default.asp?/feb/masanov/rub.html (see link to its search engine at the bottom of that page).
[Moscow] : "OLMA-Press Invest, " 2005.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PG3016 .R7844 2005 T.1
2-e izd., dorab. Moskva : "Prosveshchenie", 1996.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PG2991.3 .R87 1996 CH.1
New York : Norman Ross Pub., 1993.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PG3515 .B85 1993
Moskva : Sov. pisatelʹ, 1981.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z2503 .M285
Moskva : Prosveshchenie, 2002.
Green Library » Stacks » PG3006 .R875 2002
Moskva : "Prosveshchenie", 1990.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z2500 .R87 V.1
Covers writers from 19th to early 20th centuries
Moskva : "Sovetskai͡a ėnt͡siklopedii͡a", 1989-
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PG2991 .R85 1989 V.1
Includes many writers banned under the Soviet regime. Also includes archival locations for writers' papers.
Detroit : Thomson Gale, c2005.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PS129 .D52 V.317
Note that there are many other biographical dictionaries of Russian writers with nearby call numbers in the Information Center.

Literary terms

Find literary terms in English and Russian. SearchWorks subject terms: Literature Terminology; Criticism Terminology; Russian language Dictionaries

4th ed. London : E. Arnold ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2000.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PN44.5 .H37 2000
12th ed. Boston : Longman, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » PN41 .H355 2012
Moskva, L. D. Frenkelʹ, 1925.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PN41 .L5 V.1
Also available online as part of ФЕБ (http://feb-web.ru/feb/slt/abc/)
Moskva : Sovetskai͡a ėnt͡siklopedii͡a, 1966.
Green Library » Stacks » PN1047 .K79
Also available online as part of ФЕБ (http://feb-web.ru/feb/kps/kps-abc/).

Bibliographies: general, 19th century

Selected bibliographies. Find additional ones in SearchWorks using the subject terms: Russian literature 19th century Bibliography

Reprint of the original 1899 edition. Important work by a giant in the field of Russian literary bibliography.
Leningrad, Izd-vo Akademii nauk SSSR [Leningradskoe otd-nie] 1962.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z2503 .A47
Muratova is another giant in the field of Russian literary bibliography.
Leningrad, Izd-vo Akademii nauk SSSR [Leningradskoe otd-nie] 1963.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z2503 .A474
A new, updated edition of this important bibliography began to appear in 1993, but so far only 1 volume has been published.
Moskva : "Sovetskai͡a ėnt͡siklopedii͡a", 1989-
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PG2991 .R85 1989 V.1
Includes many writers banned under the Soviet regime. Also includes archival locations for writers' papers.

Bibliographies, etc.: 20th century

Use bibliographies to find journal articles not in databases. Find more bibliographies using SearchWorks subject terms: Russian literature 20th century Bibliography. For writers currently active, also click on the section "Russian websites on Russian literature" in the table of contents in the left-hand column.

Still being published. We have вып. 1 and 3 so far. Вып. 1: 1891-1900; вып. 3: 1911-октябрь 1917.
Newtonville, Ma. : Oriental Research Partners, 1989.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z2504 .M6 O2 1989
Material by and about authors. Includes published and unpublished works.
Recent volumes have title Русские писатели - поэты (советский период). Short biography of author; detailed publishing history (note especially section "Произведения, не вошедшие в избранное, сборники и не издававшиеся отдельно"); works about author's life & works (books & articles).
Leningrad : Biblioteka, 1959-
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z2503 .L4
Organized like Russkie sovetskie pisateli-poety.
Moskva, Sovetskiĭ pisatel'.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z2503 .S6 1964/1965
General sections organized by subject. Most of work chronological, by work discussed. Indexes: name, title, periodical, literary movements, etc. Currently missing from Lane Room.
Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, c1983.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z2511 .U5 W64 1983
Sankt-Peterburg : Filologicheskiĭ fakulʹtet S.-Peterburgskogo gos. universiteta, 2004.
Green Library » Stacks » PG3026 .P67 B64 2004
[Moscow] : "OLMA-Press Invest, " 2005.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PG3016 .R7844 2005 T.1

Bibliographies: dissident and emigre

Selected bibliographies. For a good list of additional ones, see June Farris's guide to Russian & Soviet literature, http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/content.php?pid=255419&sid=2109015. SearchWorks terms: Russian literature foreign countries; Russians foreign countries; Russian literature [particular country, e.g., France]; Russian authors [country/foreign countries]; Russian [genre, e.g., theater] [country/foreign countries]; Exiles Russia; Exiles Soviet Union; Underground literature Soviet Union

Paris : Institut d'études slaves ; Moskva : Rosspėn, 2005.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z6955 .R87 2005
Boston, G. K. Hall, 1970.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z2513 .F66 V.1
Т. 1: Писатели русского зарубежья; Т. 2: Периодика и литературные центры; Т. 3: Книги; Т. 4: Всемирная литература и русское зарубежье Vsemirnaia literatura i russkoe zarubezhe
Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, c1983.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z2511 .U5 W64 1983
Moskva : Vremi͡a, 2008.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PG3515 .C58 2008
Filadelʹfii͡a : Prostranstvo, 2004.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z2503.5 .E42 I97 2004

Bibliographies & guides: 21st century

Bibliographies and guides can make it easier for you to find works by and about recent authors. Find more using SearchWork terms Russian literature 21st century bibliography and also Russian literature 20th century bibliography. See also the section "Russian websites on Russian literature" in the table of contents in the left-hand column of this guide.

Moskva : Literaturnai͡a Rossii͡a, 2006-2008.
Green Library » Stacks » PG2991.4 .O383 2006 VYP.1
Sankt-Peterburg : Filologicheskiĭ fakulʹtet S.-Peterburgskogo gos. universiteta, 2004.
Green Library » Stacks » PG3026 .P67 B64 2004
Moskva : Vremi͡a, 2009.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PG2940 .C495 2009
Sections: Памятные даты, Писатели России, Премии, Союзы, Периодика, Русский Гиннес
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2005.
Green Library » Stacks » DK510.762 .B48 2005

Russian websites on Russian literature

Can I get it on interlibrary loan?

More information