You are here

Sci-tech: Scholarly publishing

Last Updated: 19-Aug-2014

This guide includes resources about scholarly publishing in scientific and technical disciplines. Areas covered include peer review, open access, article metrics, journal evaluation tools, and NISO best practices.

Home

Publishing your research 101

The effective communication of scientific research is vital both to the scientific community and to a scientist’s career. ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications has launched the Publishing Your Research 101 video series to assist authors and reviewers in understanding and improving their experience with the processes of writing, submitting, editing, and reviewing manuscripts.

Article of the future

An introductory movie of the Elsevier's Article of the Future project. For more information, please visit www.articleofthefuture.com

Flow of scientific information

The flow of scientific information: from idea to publication

Academic research process

Academic research process
Visual summary included in an email message from Amazelia Services to Grace Baysinger on 13 January 2006.

Publishing your research

Communicating science : the scientific article from the 17th century to the present
New York : Oxford University Press, 2002.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » Q225.5 .G79 2002
Craft of Editing
New York : Springer, c2000.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » T11.4 .A43 2000
Getting published in the life sciences
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Blackwell, c2011.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QH304 .G53 2011
Guide to e-Science
London ; New York : Springer, c2011.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Handbook of Journal Publishing
Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2013.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » Z286 .S37 H35 2013
handbook of scholarly writing and publishing
1st ed. San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass, c2011.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » PN146 .H36 2011
Introduction to scientific publishing
Berlin ; New York : Springer, c2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Oxford book of modern science writing
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Scholarship in the digital age : information, infrastructure, and the Internet
Cambridge, MA : MIT Press, c2007.
Green Library » HAS-DIGIT (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » AZ195 .B67 2007
What Editors Want : an author's guide to scientific journal publishing
Chicago ; London : University of Chicago Press, 2013.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » Z286 .S37 B467 2013
XML in technical communication
Croydon [England] : Institute of Scientific and Technical Communicators, 2008.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » QA76.76 .H94 C68 2008
  1. edited by Blaise Cronin and Cassidy R. Sugimoto. 2014

  2. edited by Daniel Apollon, Claire Bélisle, and Philippe Régnier. 2014

  3. edited by Bill Cope and Angus Phillips. 2014

Peer review

Is this a peer-reviewed source?

  • Most journals published by professional societies (e.g. ACS, RSC) are peer-reviewed.  The Swain Library Journals List includes publishers.   For a list of profesional societies by subject area, please see Scholarly Societies Project.
  • Use "Ulrich's Periodicals Directory" online. The black and white-striped referee's shirt icon represents peer-review.
  • Limit your database search to peer-reviewed journals only (available in some databases only, not available in the Web of Science).
  • Look on the journal homepage or the print journal for "peer review" information.
  • Check with a librarian.

Peer review in 3 minutes (from NCSU)

Peer review

Do we still need peer review?
Lanham : The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2333 .G58 2013
Guardians of science : fairness and reliability of peer review
Weinheim ; New York : VCH, c1993.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » Q180.55 .E9 D36 1993
Peer review and manuscript management in scientific journals : guidelines for good practice
Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » Q225.5 .H255 2007
Peer review in health sciences
2nd ed. London : BMJ Books, 2003.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Peer Review Handbook
3rd ed. Washington, DC : Science Policy Council, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, [2006?]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Open access

Open access

Open Access
Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » Z286 .O63 S83 2012

Researcher/article metrics

Journal evaluation tools

Journal abbreviations & DOIs

Standards & guidelines