Table of Contents
Find Technical Reports Using Subscription Indexes
The Libraries sponsor three particularly useful subscription databases to help with finding reports.
Index to basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences, and also covers technology development and applications in supporting fields. Reports by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms may be found. 1962 to present.
This resource for finding research sponsored by the U.S. and select foreign governments also includes full-text access to many of the documents. 1964 to present.
Access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.
Find Technical Reports Owned By Stanford
Technical reports owned by the Stanford Libraries are listed in the online catalog, SearchWorks, by author, title, and performing organization. Some reports, including NACA, NASA, and AGARD, are only cataloged as a serial, for example: "NASA Technical Memorandum". In those cases it's best to search under the series name, and limit the search to "periodical title" to see which library holds the report series. Many of these old print reports are housed at the Stanford Auxiliary Libraries.
For additional help finding and obtaining technical reports, please contact the reference desk at the appropriate library:
Branner Earth Sciences Library
Mathematics and Statistics Library
Terman Engineering Library
Describes how you can retrieve and view technical reports in Mathematics and Statistics.
Other Technical Reports Servers at Stanford
These servers are not maintained by the Stanford Unisversity Libraries. They do have Stanford Science and Engineering Technical Reports on them. There may be other servers which are not listed here.
Technical Reports on the Internet
There are many technical report sites on the Internet. You can read details of some of the more well-known science and engineering sites below.
Reports from the Aeronautical Research Council (ARC), in Great Britain, which existed from 1909-1979, and published reports until 1980. Also included are reports from the U.S. National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA), from 1917-1958.
Reports from 1995 to date are presented here, as well as some older ones.
Research papers authored by Caltech faculty and other researchers. Updated continuously.
This site is a permanent digital repository for 1000 technical reports issued by the Wright Air Development Center/Wright Air Development Division throughout the 1950's and 1960's as part of the "race for space."
All unclassified, unlimited technical report citations. Some reports are available full-text online. Collection includes areas normally associated with Defense research; however, it also contains information relating to biological and medical sciences; environmental pollution and control; and the behavioral and social sciences. 1974 to present.
Access to full-text DoE R&D reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics. 1995 to present.
Immediate access to information and documents dealing with nuclear power plant installation and waste treatment.
Access to science research citations covering topics such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. EPRI reports are included. Some full text documents are available. 1994 to present.
Research conducted by the UK Fire Research Station (FRS) from 1952 to 1978 on all aspects of fire and explosion safety.
A fire research database. Each reference has complete citation information and there is a direct link from the FIREDOC record to Publications Online if the item is available. Currently, links exist for publications from the year 2004.
Abstracts of HP Labs Technical Reports from 1990 to the present. Also included are some Heritage Technical Reports from DEC, Compaq and Tandem. Many full images of reports are also available.
Searchable index of research reports. Some reports are available for download.
Policy-oriented research into problems that are too large or too complex to be solved by a single country or academic discipline. Many of these publications are available to download free of charge. 1973 to present.
Reports on Nuclear Engineering at MIT since 1990.
Scholarly articles that MIT Faculty have made openly available on the web under their Open Access Policy.
Access to aerospace related citations, full-text documents, and images and videos. Documents published prior to 1959 can be found in the NACA collection, which contains the full text of Technical Notes, and Technical Memoranda from 1917-1958.
Online repository for NRC-authored publication citations, technical reports and peer-reviewed publications. Some full text documents.
Online repository for AGARDographs, NC3A and NURC reports, and various NATO Meetings, Technical Notes and Reports. Uses HTTP and FTP to serve documents. May be slower than anticipated depending on size of document and server load. Suggested method is to "save the link" and let it download in the background.
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's publications resource. One stop access to all EPA publications.
ONERA is a public, scientific and technical establishment with both industrial and commercial responsibilities, covering all the scientific disciplines involved in aircraft, spacecraft and missile design. Many reports online.
The OTA Legacy site includes a complete archive of reports and information about the history and impact of the now-defunct agency. "Objective and authoritative analysis of the complex scientific and technical issues of the late 20th century."
Complete texts of over 300 reports, papers, and books on environmental issues. Includes online editions of World Resources.
Multi-Search Technical Reports Sites
These resources search across several domains to pull in results from multiple sources.
A gateway to over 27,850 Web sites and databases worldwide, containing e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies.
Searches across the web sites of over 50 U.S. government agencies, and many of the resources are full-text.
Federated searching of Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) key resources, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more.
Meta-searching tool to find articles, key websites, technical reports, books, industry news, job announcements, e-journals, e-prints, thesis & dissertations in Engineering, Mathematics, and Computing.
A group of institutions which provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports. Some metasites are listed by subject categories, as well as by institution.
One-stop searching of global science sources. It currently searches 15 countries technical reports collections at once.
