You are here

Science, Democracy and Social Media

PWR 2ST - Fall 2014 - Instructor: Starkman, R.
Last Updated: 3-Mar-2017

A guide to resources for PWR 2ST: Science, Democracy and Social Media.  Course topics include: Social media and scientific discourse and ways it can now move between scientists and various audiences.

Background/Reference sources

Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2003.
Green Library » Information Center » QA76.575 .E5368 2003
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
Green Library » Information Center » HM851 .O98 2007
2nd ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, c2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Expanded ed. Singapore ; Hackensack, NJ : World Scientific, c2011.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » T11 .L456 2011
Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2008.
Green Library » Stacks » HM851 .B368 2008
Berlin ; New York : Springer, c2006.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » T11 .L37 2006
New York : Columbia University Press, c2011.
Green Library » Stacks » P96 .A83 N35 2011
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press ; Walton Hill, Milton Keynes [U.K.] : Open University, 2009.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » Q224 .I68 2009

Suggested databases

Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
[Miamisburg, OH] : LexisNexis, division of Reed Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides access to various sub-databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, medical and references.
Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Covers such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.

Selected journals

London ; Thousand Oaks, CA : SAGE Publications, c2005-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Hanover, NH : Dartmouth College, Dept. of Film and Television Studies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Palo Alto, Calif. : SNCR Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
London ; Thousand Oaks, CA : Sage Publications, 1999-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QA76.9 .C66 N49 V.5 2003