You are here

Science education

Last Updated: 20-Oct-2014

This is a guide for those interested in science education, both research and practice.

Background information

2nd ed. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1051 .H2354 2006
Sections include: "Foundations of the Discipline," "Development and Individual Differences," "Cognition and Cognitive Process," "Motivation," "Educational Content," "Society and Cultural Perspectives," "The Educational Context," and "Assessment of Learning, Development, and Teaching." See especially, chapter 22 "Science Education: Integrating Views on Learning and Instruction."
Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Q181 .H149 2007
Westport, Conn. : Praeger Publishers, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Q181 .T3513 2006 V.1
"Consists of 66 chapters written by more than 90 leading education and scientists" which "touch on many of the most controversial topics facing science educators and students today, including evolution, testing, homeschooling, ecology, and the achievement gaps facing girls, children of color, and English-as-a-Second-Language learners."

New books

Science ed. Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Q181 .K65 2014
Practice-oriented.
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Corwin, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1585 .R63 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Q181 .A35 2014
Practice-oriented.
Paris : OECD, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3060.3 .T35 2009
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1140.5 .S35 J66 2014
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1027.23 .M28 2013
Practice-oriented.
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1585 .D39 2014
Third edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1585.3 .L58 2014
Practice-oriented.

Journals

[Dordrecht] : Springer, 2006-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
London ; New York : Taylor & Francis, 1987-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Q181 .A1 E8 V.33:NO.14-18 2011
New York, John Wiley.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » 370.5 .J896 V.47:NO.6-10 2010
New York, NY : Plenum Press,
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB1028.3 .J687 V.17 2008
Auburn, AL : AETS, c1989-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Q181 .A1 J68 V.19 2008
New York, NY : Begell House, Inc., c1994-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Q130 .J678 V.19 2013
[Washington, American Association of Physics Teachers]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .P578 V.45 2007
Chicago [etc.] 1902-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .S3726 V.111 2011
Washington, National Science Teachers Association.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
[New York, Science Education, Incorporated; etc., etc., 1916-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .S416 V.95:NO.4-6 2011
[Washington, D.C.] : The Association,
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
[Normal, Ill., 1934-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
[Leeds, Eng.] Centre for Studies in Science Education, University of Leeds.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Deakin West, ACT : Australian Science Teachers Association, c2003-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .A939 V.54 2008

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related Databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.

Curriculum resources

California ed. Hudson, NH : Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL51 .A55 2007 F
Gr. K
California ed. [Nashua, N.H.?] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC128 .B353 2007 F
Gr. 1-2
Teacher's edition. [Menasha, WI] : National Geographic School Publishing : Hampton-Brown, 2010-2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QB61 .E27 2010 F ASSESSMENT HANDBK
Gr. 1-2
[Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TS1465 .F33 2003 F
Gr. K
Calif. ed. [Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL468.5 .I57 2007 F
Gr. 2
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC133 .I57 2003
Gr. K-1
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL821 .I575 2003
Gr. 4-5
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC920 .I57 2003
Gr. 4-5
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC530 .I57 2003
Gr. 4-5
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QK51 .I57 2003
Gr. 2-3
Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Q161.2 .I5921 2003
Gr. 2-3
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TJ158 .I57 2003
Gr. 2-3
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC145.28 .I57 2003
Gr. 2-3
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH319 .A1 I57 2003
Gr. K-1
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QM30 .I57 2003
Gr. K-1
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QD47 .I57 2003
Gr. 4-5
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QE432.7 .I57 2006
Gr. 2-3
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP435 .I57 2003
Gr. K-1
Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC266 .I575 2003
Gr. 2-3
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QB521 .I57 2007
Gr. 4-5
2nd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC981.5 .I57 2006
Gr. K-1
Carmel, C.A. : National Geographic School Publishing : Hampton-Brown Company, Inc., c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH315 .L58 2010 F ASSESSMENT HANDBK
Gr. 1-2
[Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QK51 .N48 2003 F
Gr. 1-2
Calif. ed. [Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QE432.7 .P43 2007 F
Gr. 2
Calif. ed. [Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QK51 .P53 2007 F
Gr. 1
Calif. ed. [Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Q181 .S375 2007
Calif. ed. [Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Q181 .S376 2007
Calif. ed. [Nashua, N.H.] :: Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Q181 .S377 2007
Calif. ed. [Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC176.5 .S65 2007 F
Gr. 1
Calif. ed. [Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QK476 .T74 2007 F
Gr. K
Calif. ed. [Nashua, N.H.] : Published and distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TS835 .W66 2007 F
Gr. K

Science kits

  • Science kits go out for 28 days and can be renewed.
  • Kits can be recalled by another patron.
  • You must return the entire kit to Cubberley Library. Do not drop off at another library or leave outside of Cubberley.
  • Please purchase your own consumables and clean any parts that you use before returning the kit(s).
  • We have taken any hazardous materials out of the kits and replaced them with color photos so that you can see what the items should look like.
  • Replacement charge for lost kits is $2,000.
  • You will be billed for missing, lost, or damaged parts.
California ed. Nashua, N.H. : Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Q161.2 .F58 2005
Nashua, NH : Delta Education, [2006 or 2007].
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH308.7 .D58 2006
Nashua, N.H. : Delta Education, [2001]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QE28 .E37 2001
California ed. Nashua, N.H. : Delta Education, [2007]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH541.23 .E58 2007
California ed. ; revision E. Nashua, NH. : Distributed by Delta Education, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC523 .M34 2007
Revision B. Nashua, N.H. : Delta Education, [2004?]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH352 .P67 2004

Websites