You are here
Scientific and Technical Communication
Scientific and Technical Communication: A Guide to Resources was created to help support students who are interested in strenthening their scientific and technical communication skills in written, oral, visual, and multimedia formats. Until it is migrated to the library's new website, please go to http://libguides.stanford.edu/writing
Topics covered include:
- Home page includes links to two key books about the written and technical communcation, quick tips for undergrads, Publishing Your Research 101 videos, Article of the Future project, plus more.
- Ethics section also includes brief information about copyright, patents, and intellectual property.
- Written communication section includes resources for technical writing (e.g. articles, proposals, term papers, theses), maintaining lab notebooks, and preserving/accessing data.
- Visual section includes resources for communicating visual data and images effectively. It also includes books showing best practices for presenting visual data as well as some examples of "coffee table" books of pictoral works.
- Oral section includes resources about giving oral presentations or public speaking as well as information about how to communicate scientific and technical information to the public and news organizations. This section also incldes links to selected podcasts.
- Multimedia section includes information about the Multimedia Studio in the Meyer Library, a service open to Stanford students, faculty, and staff who need to create multimedia works. This section also includes resources about creating multimedia presentations, how science and engineering are portrayed in the media, plus links to selected multimedia presentations.
- Style guides and citation managers are covered in the next section.
- Dictionaries are included in the last section of this guide.