Sexuality and story in the Enlightenment

English 162W-1 - Spring 2017 - Instructor: Erik Johnson

This is a guide to resources for use in the WISE course Sexuality and Story in the Enlightenment.

Reference sources

An annotated guide to reference and research resources in literary studies. 
Oxford, UK : Oxford University Press, [2000]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The definitive historical dictionary of the English language. 
Biographies of notable figures from British history. 
Annotated calendar of theatrical events in London. 
[London : British Library, 1992?]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A catalog of works printed in England and its territories from the advent of printing through the 18th century. 

Primary sources

These databases provide access to digitized versions of Enlightenment era books, newspapers, and journals.

[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : Bell & Howell Information and Learning, [1999]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Detroit, Mich.?] : Gale Group, c2003-2010.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This database features newspapers from 1650-1900, including the 17th and 18th century Burney collection of newpapers and 18th century newspapers from the British Library. You can either search across the entire collection or click on "Change resources" and choose "17th and 18th century Burney Collection of Newspapers" and/or "British Library Newspapers."
[Marlborough, England] : Adam Matthew Publications, 2007.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Alexandria, Va. : Alexander Street Press, c2006-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Streaming video of performances of well-known plays and documentaries on theater. 

Secondary sources

In addition to looking for book in SearchWorks, use these databases to find scholarly articles on your topic.

[New York] : H.W. Wilson, 1987-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Baltimore, MD: National Information Services Corp. (NISC), c1991,1996-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
An interdisciplinary database covering women's studies and feminist studies in a range of disciplines, including history and literature.
[Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO Information Services
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
An interdisciplinary database covering LGBT studies.
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking