You are here

SLE: Renaissance and Baroque Paintings

SLE - Winter 2014 - Instructor: Watkins, G.
Last Updated: 11-Feb-2014

This page serves as a guide for Structured Liberal Education's assignment on Northern and Italian Renaissance Paintings (Bruegel, Bosch, Botticelli, Gentileschi, and Holbein), taught by Gregory Watkins.

Subject Librarians

Head, Art & Architecture Library
(650) 725-1038
Assistant Art Librarian
(650) 725-1037
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Reference Librarian/VRC Cataloger
(650) 725-9274
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Suggested databases

[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on art and related disciplines from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published throughout the world. There is full-text coverage for selected periodicals. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with 1994; full-text coverage begins with 1997. It is an online counterpart to: Art Index, published in print from 1929. For indexing of articles covering the period 1929-1984, there is a related database, Art Retrospective.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson, 1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Index of 420 art publications, including important yearbooks and select museum bulletins, from around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984.
[Santa Monica, Calif. : J. Paul Getty Trust ; Vandoeuvre-lès-Nancy, France : Centre national de la recherche scientifique]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
BHA is a database search engine covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. BHA indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
Cambridge, UK : Proquest
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The bibliography provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945; visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields; scholarship from at least 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues; international coverage, with at least 60% of records from non-English-language publications (principally German, French, Italian and Spanish.)
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This database covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
Cumulative ed. Bowling Green, Ohio, Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green University.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z7127 .P4 V. 39 NO.4 2005
This bibliographic database offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.

Paintings for Winter Quarter

Suggested reference sources

One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.

[Oxford, England] : Oxford University Press, c2007-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Tip: For this course, you will probably find Oxford Art Online to be extremely useful, as it contains extensive biographies (and bibliographies) on each of the four artists.
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
ORO contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.
[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. This database includes the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles.

SearchWorks tips

SearchWorks is Stanford's online catalog/database for library resources: books, magazine and journal titles (but not the individual titles within them; for a discussion of these see the "Finding Articles" section), e-books, DVDs, etc. SearchWorks allows for two main methods of searching: the Basic Search, which is the default mode, and the Advanced Search, which can be accessed by clicking on "Advanced" underneath the search box.

The Basic Search performs a lot like a typical Web search engine, bringing back hits from a keyword search, sorted by relevance. You can try simply entering the name of an artist in the search box and then hitting the "Search" button--or you might try entering the artist's name and then switching the button to "Subject terms." The Advanced Search allows for more specificity and flexibility, as you can limit a keyword search to specific fields (e.g., title, subject terms) and/or restrict results to a certain library, language, etc. In either mode you can elect to sort results by a method other than relevance: by year (old to new or new to old), title, or author.

Finding books by using bibliographies:

Sometimes the best way to find books (or articles) on an artist or a subject is to use the bibliographies that authors have already compiled. Academic texts often include a back section that lists the works that the authors have cited, referred to, and/or recommended. Tip: the books on course reserve in the Art Library have extensive bibliographies.