You are here

Sociology 200

Sociology 200 - Seminar - Fall 2013 - Instructor: Saperstein, A.
Last Updated: 24-Sep-2013

This guide is intended to support the Sociology 200, research seminar for sociology majors.   This course is a capstone course for students in the major.  In this course sociological problems are framed, linked to theories, and answers pursued through research designs, literature reviews and independent research. How to formulate a research question; how to integrate theory and methods are core outcomes for the class. 

Subject Librarians

Bibliographer for Anthropology & Archaeology, Communication & Journalism, Feminist Studies, Lusophone Africa Collections, and Sociology
(831) 251-5700
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Data Services Specialist
(650) 723-7009
Ron Nakao with 9-track data tape.
Data and Computational Social Science Librarian
(650) 725-1062

Subjects

Article Databases

Palo Alto, Calif. : Annual Reviews, Inc.
[Philadephia, Pa.] : Institute for Scientific Information
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, [200-?]-

Additional article databases

[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
[Stamford, CT] : Softline Information, Inc., [1998 or 1999]-
Ann Arbor, MI : Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-

Data & Statistics

Data & statistical resources recommended for this class:

SDA: Survey Documentation and Analysis
http://sda.berkeley.edu/archive.htm
SDA is a set of programs for the documentation and Web-based analysis of survey data. SDA is developed and maintained by the Computer-assisted Survey Methods Program (CSM) at the University of California, Berkeley.
 
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
http://www.thearda.com/
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion.

Current Population Survey
https://cps.ipums.org/cps/sda.shtml

Healthy City
http://www.healthycity.org/
Statistics for California local areas.
Dates vary depending on the statistics, population data goes back to 2000 Decennial Census.

Historical U.S. Census Data
https://usa.ipums.org/usa/sda/
Using the same SDA online analysis tool. Please note: You must create an IPUMS user account.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/landing.jsp
http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/6285020
Social science data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.

iPoll Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/6563387
IPoll is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)-Data Tools
http://nces.ed.gov/datatools/index.asp?DataToolSectionID=4
The NCES is the primary federal entity collecting and analyzing education-related data for the United States and other nations.

National Center for Health
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/

Center for Disease Control and Prevention-Health Data Interactive
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hdi.htm

VitalStats
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/VitalStats.htm

Urban Institute's Children of Immigrants Data Tool
http://datatool.urban.org/charts/datatool/pages.cfm 

Statistical Databases with Visualization Tools

Here is a short list of licensed and non-liscenced database that have graphing and map visualization tools.

[Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Census Bureau, [<1999- >

American FactFinder is a web tool that provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

Flushing, NY : Sociology Dept., Queens College, CUNY

Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. From research libraries to classrooms to the front page of the New York Times, Social Explorer is helping people engage with society and science.

Recommended Resources

General resources on reserve

3rd ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c1996.
Business Library » Stacks » HN29 .W3994 1996
[At the Graduate School of Business Library]
3rd ed. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Q180.55 .M4 B66 2008
New York : Free Press ; Toronto : Maxwell Macmillan Canada ; New York : Maxwell Macmillan International, c1994.
Green Library » Stacks » HN29 .W42 1994

Handbooks on methods

Los Angeles, Calif. : SAGE, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » H62 .S3195 2012
100 questions (and answers) about research methods
Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire [England] ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2009.
Green Library » Stacks » H62 .W453 2009
Developing research questions
6th ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2002.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » H62 .M44 2002
Handbook of research design & social measurement
Handbook of survey methodology for the social sciences
3rd ed. Los Angeles, CA : SAGE, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » H62 .R667 2012
Learning in the field : an introduction to qualitative research
Los Angeles : SAGE, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » H62 .H2336 2011
Methodology: who needs it?
2nd ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2005.
Green Library » Stacks » H62 .R737 2005
Qualitative interviewing: the art of hearing data
3rd ed. Los Angeles : SAGE, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » H62 .C6963 2009
Research design : qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches

Citation & Style Guides

Citation management tools & style guides

Managing book/journal article citations: 
http://library.stanford.edu/research/bibliography-management 
Resources for keeping track of your citations.
 
ASA style guides:
http://www.asanet.org/students/Quick%20Style%20guide.pdf
American Sociological Association standards is the preferred style for this class. 

Style guide by the American Sociological Association. 3rd ed. (2007) [Green Library]
http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/7725044

How to cite DATA:
ICPSR - citing data
http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/ICPSR/curation/citations.jsp
 
IASSIST - quick guide to data citation
http://iassistdata.org/sites/default/files/iassist-data-citation-quick-guide.pdf