Table of Contents
The Palgrave handbook of race and ethnic inequalities in education / edited by Peter A.J. Stevens and A. Gary Dworkin.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC212 .P35 2014
"provides the first systematic review to date of how sociologists have studied the relationship between race/ethnicity and educational inequality in 18 different national contexts"
Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC1099 .E38 2012 V.1
"The major aim of this encyclopedia is to describe the most important concepts, theories, research, policies, case studies, and programs at the pre-school through the postsecondary levels and their implications for educational reform. Diversity is defined broadly in this encyclopedia and includes race, ethnicity, social class, gender, sexual orientation (LGBT), religion, language, and exceptionality, which encompasses giftedness and disability." p. xlviii
Education and sociology : an encyclopedia / editors, David L. Levinson, Peter W. Cookson, Jr., Alan R. Sadovnik.
New York : RoutledgeFalmer, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC189.95 .E38 2002
"Pooling together writings from leading academic authorities in education, this single-volume reference provides readers and researchers with provocative new topics and issues in the sociology of education. Entries cover both national and international perspectives and studies, and tackle controversial points in education today, from gender inequality to globalization, minorities to meritocracy."
Encyclopedia of education and human development / Stephen J. Farenga and Daniel Ness, editors ; foreword by James H. Borland.
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB15 .E473 2005 V.1
Rotterdam, The Netherlands ; Boston : Sense Publishers, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC71 .H362 2010
"The Handbook is part of the appraisal of an opening created by interdisciplinary writings on such themes as representation, civil society, cultural struggle, subjectivity, and media within the context of education. Indeed cultural politics troubles traditional frameworks in search of critical explanations concerning education's place within society."
Handbook of research in the social foundations of education / edited by Steven E. Tozer, Bernardo P. Gallegos and Annette M. Henry ; with section editors Mary Bushnell Greiner and Paula Groves Price.
New York : Routledge, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC191.4 .H36 2011
"This Handbook represents a collective representation of where important elements of our professional knowledge in Social Foundations stand today."
New York : Springer, 2006.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences / editors-in-chief Neil J. Smelser, Paul B. Baltes.
1st ed. Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » H41 .I58 2001 V.1
The international handbook on the sociology of education : an international assessment of new research and theory / edited by Carlos Alberto Torres and Ari Antikainen.
Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC189 .I53 2003
"The first part discusses new developments in social theory and methodology in the sociology of education. The second part offers a sequence of snapshots of the practice of sociology of education in different countries and regions of the world, as well as a focus on how the educational process is being analyzed by diverse audiences. The third part offers an appraisal of critical issues in sociology of education, including some of the thorniest debates in the field."
The RoutledgeFalmer reader in gender and education / edited by Madeleine Arnot and Mairtin Mac an Ghaill.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC212.9 .R69 2006
The Praeger handbook of Latino education in the U.S. / edited by Lourdes Diaz Soto ; foreword by Antonia Darder.
Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC2669 .P73 2007 V.1
"A-Z thematic entries written by contemporary scholars" "including major educational perspectives, policies and concerns, significant events, historical figures in the field, and major organizations--provides a comprehensive educational resource..."
The Routledge international handbook of the sociology of education / edited by Michael W. Apple, Stephen J. Ball and Luis Armando Gandin.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC191 .R684 2010
Part 1: Perspectives and theories; Part 2: Social processes and practices; Part 3: Inequalities and resistances
The Sage handbook of gender and education / edited by Christine Skelton, Becky Francis, and Lisa Smulyan.
Thousand Oaks, CA : Sage Publications, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC212.9 .S24 2006
"It is a comprehensive overview of different theoretical positions on gender issues in schools. The contributions cover all sectors of education from early years to higher education; curriculum subjects; methodological and theoretical perspectives; and gender identities in education. Each chapter reviews, synthesises and provides a critical interrogation of key contemporary themes in education."
Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LA210 .A15 2008 V.1
Education, justice and the human good : fairness and equality in the education system / edited by Kirsten Meyer.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC213.2 .E393 2014
Inequality in the promised land : race, resources, and suburban schooling / R. L'Heureux Lewis-McCoy.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC213.2 .L48 2014
Dynamics of social class, race, and place in rural education / edited by Craig B. Howley (Ohio University), Aimee Howley (Ohio University), Jerry D Johnson (University of North Florida).
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC5146 .D96 2014
Reading between the lines : activities for developing social awareness literacy / edited by Joanne Kilgour Dowdy and Kenneth Cushner.
Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC192 .R43 2014
Agency and participation in childhood and youth : international applications of the capability approach in schools and beyond / edited by Caroline Sarojini Hart, Mario Biggeri and Bernhard Babic.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC213 .A34 2014
The unacknowledged disaster : youth poverty and educational failure in America / Bruce J. Biddle (The University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri, USA).
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC4091 .B53 2014
Colonized schooling exposed : progressive voices for transformative educational and social change / edited by Pierre Wilbert Orelus, Curry S. Malott, and Romina Pacheco.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1100 .C65 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC191 .E2785 2014
Forgotten connections : on culture and upbringing / Klaus Mollenhauer ; edited and translated by Norm Friesen.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB14.7 .M625 2014
Knowledge, democracy and action : community-university research partnerships in global perspectives / edited by Budd L. Hall, Edward T. Jackson, Rajesh Tandon, Jean-Marc Fontan, Nirmala Lall.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC237 .K54 2013
Children as citizens : engaging with the child's voice in educational settings / Pauline Harris and Harry Manatakis.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » HQ784 .P5 H346 2013
Higher education in the world 5 : knowledge, engagement and higher education : contributing to social change.
Basingstoke, Hampshire : Palgrave Macmillan, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2324 .H5435 2014
Education under siege : frauds, fads, fantasies, and fictions in educational reform / Arthur Shapiro.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA217.2 .S52 2013
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA13 .W65 2014
Citizenship, education and violence : on disrupted potentialities and becoming / Yusef Waghid, Nuraan Davids.
Rotterdam : Sense Publishers, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1091 .W33 2013
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC71 .G77 2014
Teaching and learning in multilingual contexts : sociolinguistic and educational perspectives / edited by Agnieszka Otwinowska and Gessica De Angelis.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC3715 .T45 2014
Youth, education, and the role of society : rethinking learning in the high school years / Robert Halpern.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1135 .H26 2013
The future of the urban community college : shaping the pathways to a multiracial democracy / Gunder Myran, Curtis L. Ivery, Michael H. Parsons, Charles Kinsley, editors.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2328 .N4 NO.162
The poverty and education reader : a call for equity in many voices / edited by Paul C. Gorski and Julie Landsman.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC4091 .P64 2014
Contemporary debates in the sociology of education / edited by Rachel Brooks, Mark McCormack and Kalwant Bhopal.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC191 .C5773 2013
Beverly Hills, Sage Publications.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .E105 V.40 NO.1 2007
Albany, N.Y., American Sociological Association [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .J836 V.82 2009
[Beverly Hills, Calif.] Sage Publications.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Use restricted to Green Library » HM1 .T43 V.33 2005
[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Baltimore, Md. : National Information Services Corp.,
Green Library » InfoCenter: desk (non-circulating) » HQ1 .F367
Indexes and abstracts over 1,000 journals, books, conference papers, government reports, etc. in the area of family studies.
Norwood, MA : SilverPlatter Information,
Contains bibliographic information from an international selection of publications (including over 2600 journals and books, book reviews, and book chapters) in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.
Bethesda, MD : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
"CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews."
Beachwood, OH : Responsive Database Services,
Contains full text of reports, articles, and newsletters on issues affecting women.
[Stamford, CT] : Softline Information, Inc., [1998 or 1999]-
Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental NGO and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's.
Baltimore, MD: National Information Services Corp. (NISC), c1991,1996-
Indexes the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Over 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.