You are here

Songs and singing

Last Updated: 10-Mar-2014

The topic guide includes resources on songs and singing, including how to find printed music and song texts. 

Subject Librarians

Ray Heigemeir
Public Services Librarian for Music
(650) 384-9985

Subjects

Printed music

Find printed scores and sheet music in the Searchworks library catalog.

Indexes to songs in collections:

Popular Song Index (Havlice)
Literature for Voice
The Song Index of the Enoch Pratt Free Library
Song Finder
Where's That Tune? an Index to Songs in Fakebooks
Find That Tune: and Index to Rock, Folk-Rock, Disco & Soul in Collections
Songs in Collections: an Index
Index to Song Books
Song Index (Sears)
Song Index (U of Tennessee, online)

View digital score collections here.

 

Browse the stacks:

Secular  
   
M 1500 Operas and musicals, full score (by composer)
M 1503 Operas and musicals, piano accompaniment (by composer)
M 1507 Opera aria collections, voice and piano
M 1528-9 Duets, trios, quartets, etc.
M 1611-12 Song collections with orchestra
M 1613-14 Single songs with orchestra
M 1619 Song collections, multiple composers
M 1620 Song collections, single composers
M 1621 Single songs
M 1621.4 Song cycles
M 1627-29 American national and folk music
M 1630.18 Popular song collections, including fakebooks
   
Sacred  
   
M 2000 Oratorios
M 2010-16 Masses and other services
M 2018-19 Duets, trios, quartets, etc.
M 2102-13 Arias, cantatas, songs
   
Texts only  
   
ML 48 Libretto collections
ML 49 Libretto collections, by composer
ML 50 Librettos for individual stage works
ML 54.6 Song texts, including popular music

Books and articles

Reference works:

Read the article on Singing in Grove Music Online

See also:

Dictionary of vocal terminology: an analysis
Researching the song: a lexicon
Recent American art song: a guide
Art Song in the United States, 1759-2011: an annotated bibliography
Encyclopedia of Great Popular Song Recordings

 

See books on diction here.

See books on pronunciation here.

See periodicals related to singing here.

 

Browse the stacks:

ML 1400 General histories, and by century and country
ML 1460 History of vocal technique
ML 1700 Histories of opera and other stage musicals
ML 2500 Song genres and forms
ML 2900 Sacred songs
ML 3201 Oratorios
   
MT 820 Singing technique
MT 821 Physiology and care of the voice
MT 825 Teaching systems and methods
MT 855 Special techniques (sight-singing; diction; acting)

 

 

Song resources on the web