Table of Contents
= internet resource requiring Stanford IP address | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy
postcolonial & cultural studies
- The year's work in critical and cultural theory, e.g., "Colonial Discourse, Postcolonial Theory"
- The Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory & criticism, e.g., "Postcolonial Cultural Studies: Origins to the 1980s," "Postcolonial Cultural Studies: 1990 and After," "Indian Theory & Criticism"
- Annual review of anthropology, e.g., "History and Anthropology in South Asia"
- Wikipedia "Subaltern Studies" etc
search for articles and books
- Bibliography of Asian studies
- Academic Search Premier
- Historical Abstracts
- SearchWorks (books in Stanford libraries)
- Google Scholar
Encyclopedia of India | AsiaSource | Library of Congress Country Studies | World Bank India home | U.S. State Dept. Background Notes, etc. | C.I.A. World Factbook | Economist: EIU Country Data | country profiles via ELDIS | Historical Atlas of South Asia | South Asia Europa | Territories and States of India 2nd ed. 2010 (on order) | Districts of India: gateway
statistics & gis
IndiaStat (select IP login) | India infrastructure report (annual) | India Development Report (annual) | Statistics Abstract, India | C.I.A. World Factbook | Sources of comparative International Statistics | Statistical Universe | World Bank Data & Statistics | IndiaMap | India State Basemap GIS data | South Asia. London: Europa Publications, Annual
IPUMS (Integrated Public-use Microdata Samples), long known for its archiving of US census microdata, has recently begun a program to do the same for international microdata. unfortunately, India has not yet agreed to participate. However, the Indian Census does sell 2001 microdata samples. Indiastat, World development indicators, SourceOECD, and United Nations common database provide country-level estimates on different statistics. Indiastat provides sub-regional estimates. See census products of Maps of India
explore the literature of human rights, development, and ethnic groups
Times of India online (1836-2001) | Times of India (current 3 months paper edition retained) and India today international in Current Periodicals | Economic and Political Weekly (Bombay) | news coverage and wire services: Lexis/Nexis (Fulltext newspapers, including current NYT, and journals) | Access World News: India (The Hindu, Times of India) | World News Connection , a foreign news service from the US Government | The Hindu | Dawn, the Internet edition (Pakistan) | The Daily Mail (Islamabad) and other news from Pakistan | South Asian Newspapers, 1864-1922
Fulltext in Lexis/Nexis
- Business Today
- Hindustan Times
- India Today
- The Statesman
World biographical information system It's subsection Indian Biographical Archive indexes a number of biographical sources, some of which we own. The database can be searched by occupation.
DVDs: search Socrates Combined Search mode for "Everything" Hindi and Green Location "Media-Microtext;" N.B. Search does not work in SearchWorks. About 160 records should be retrieved. Bollywood in Wikipedia; Film Studies (Quckstart guide); SUL Film & Media Studies; Bioscope: South Asian Screen Studies ; Encyclopaedia of Bollywood (2009)
- Subject (LC): Motion pictures--India
- Subject (LC): Motion picture industry--India
other internet links
- e-Diaspora Atlas
- Digital South Asia Library
- GOI Web Directory -- access to all Indian Government Websites at all levels and from all sectors.
- http://districtsofindia.com requires personal account; not licensed by SULAIR
- Districts of India: gateway . . . http://districts.nic.in/
- Maps of India
- Columbia University Library. sarai South Asia Resource Access on the Internet
- Center for research Libraries. Digital South Asia Library
- Joseph Regenstein Library Southern Asia Collections
- UC Berkeley Library. South Asia Resources
- Stanford's Center for South Asia : people, courses
census of India
= internet resource requiring Stanford IP address | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy
GOI Web Directory -- access to all Indian Government Websites at all levels and from all sectors.
The library licenses IndiaStat http://www.indiastat.com/default.aspx , which includes census data from 1991 to the present. IndiaStat home page links to related sites:
If you are not finding what you want in IndiaStat, “Contact us” from their website and choose “Data Query--Members”
Print India national censuses in the Stanford library (some sources have been digitized by Google Books; links from Socrates and SearchWorks for Stanford-owned volumes): http://searchworks.stanford.edu/?q=census+of+india
UC Berkeley library has many State-level censuses in print. Search their catalog <http://oskicat.berkeley.edu/>
JSTOR is a good search for articles that may have analyzed Census of India data for different historical questions. For example a time-trend analysis in the age of marriage is found in S. N. Agarwala, "The Age at Marriage in India," Population Index, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr., 1957), pp. 96-107, Stable URL: http://www.jstor.org/stable/2731762
Other Government Publications List of the Serial Publications of Foreign Governments, 1815-1931. (Gregory)
GOI Web Directory -- A one-point source to access all Indian Government Websites at all levels and from all sectors.
Records of the India Office, created in 1859, and its predecessors, also include the records of the Burma Office, from its creation in 1937 to 1948.
India Office Records introduction: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/India_Office Records . "The records come from four main sources: the East India Company (1600–1858), the Board of Control (1784–1858), the India Office (1858–1947), and the Burma Office (1937–1948)".
East India Company (253 catalog records) including
Original Papers, Elucidatory of the Claims Preferred by the Officers of the Honourable Company's Army In India. [London]: Published by their authority, 1794.
- India Office Records hub
- India Office Family History Search -- limited search of ecclesiastical and biographical records
- India Office Private Papers: Scope and Catalogues
- Search the India Office Records at Access 2 Archives
- Farrington, Anthony. Guide to the Records of the India Office Military Department : 10r L/mil & L/ws. London: The Office, 1982.
- India. Census Commissioner. Moir, Martin. A general guide to the India Office Records. London: British Library, 1988.
- Papers Relating to East India Affairs: Viz. Hindoo Widows and Voluntary Immolations. [London?], 1821.
- Sadan, Mandy. A Guide to Colonial Sources On Burma : Ethnic & Minority Histories of Burma In the India Office Records, British Library. Bangkok, Thailand: Orchid Press, 2008.
- Seton, Rosemary E. The Indian 'mutiny' 1857-58 : a Guide to Source Material In the India Office Library and Records. London: British Library, 1986.
- Sutton, S. C. A Guide to the India Office Library: with a Note On the India Office Records. London: H.M.S.O., 1967.
- Sever, Adrian. British Parliamentary Papers Relating to India, 1662-1947. Delhi: B.R. Pub. Corp. , 1992.
- Sims, J. M.A List and Index of Parliamentary Papers Relating to India, 1908-1947. London: India Office Library and Records, 1981.
South Asia Archives
Low, D. A, J. C Iltis, and Mary Doreen Wainwright. Government Archives In South Asia: a Guide to National and State Archives In Ceylon, India and Pakistan. London: Cambridge U.P., 1969. [CD2081 .L6 Lane Rm.]
Pearson, J. D, and Mary Doreen Wainwright. A Guide to Manuscripts and Documents In the British Isles Relating to South and South-east Asia. London: Mansell Pub. Ltd., 1989. Supplement to:
Wainwright, Mary Doreen, and Noel Matthews. A Guide to Western Manuscripts and Documents In the British Isles Relating to South and South East Asia. London: Oxford University Press, 1965.
India gazetteers; imperial series, provincial series, district series, a check list and index. Green > Social Sciences Resource Center (Non-circulating) > Z3205 .I58. UCB owns the accompanying microfiche collection Gazetteers of India in the British period [MICROFICHE 35908 guide Newspapers & Microforms]. UCB also has much more extensive holdings than Stanford of print gazetteers; search their web catalog.
Search individual titles or try a keyword search in SearchWorks, e.g., < india district gazetteers > or < Madras gazetteer > http://searchworks.stanford.edu/?q=%22Madras+gazetteer%22&search_field=search_series
Chaudhuri, Sashi Bhusan. History of the Gazetteers of India. New Delhi: Ministry of Education, Govt. of India, 1964.
Wikipedia contributors, "The Imperial Gazetteer of India," Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=The_Imperial_Gazetteer_of_India&oldid=450708770
Stanford library holdings also include:
The East Indian gazetteer; containing particular descriptions of the empires, kingdoms, principalities, provinces, cities, towns, districts, fortresses, harbours, rivers, lakes, &c. of Hindostan, and the adjacent countries, India beyond the Ganges, and the Eastern archipelago; together with sketches of the manners, customs, institutions, agriculture, commerce, manufactures, revenues, population, castes, religion, history, &c. of their various inhabitants . . . 1828.
The Imperial Gazetteer. Hunter, William Wilson, Sir. 14 v. London, Trübner & co., 1885-87.
Imperial gazetteer of India ... published under the authoriy of His Majesty's secretary of state for India in council. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1907-1909. 26 v. [First edition, 9 vols., 1881, and 2d edition, 14 vols., 1885-1887, edited by Sir William Wilson Hunter. The present may be considered as a new work, rather than a new edition. cf. General pref. Editor for India, 1902-04, William Stevenson Meyer; 1905-09, Richard Burn; editor in England, James Sutherland Cotton.] Bibliographies at end of chapters.
Imperial gazetteer of India [South Asia Digital Library, University of Chicagi] New edition, published under the authority of His Majesty's secretary of state for India in council. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1908-1931 [v. 1, 1909]
Encyclopedias & bibliographies
- Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism. Leiden: Brill, 2009.
- India Subject bliographies and web guides (from Berkeley's South/Southeast Asia Library)
- Int. Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences "Historiography and Historical Thought: South Asia"; "South Asia: Sociocultural Aspects", etc.
- Encyclopaedia of Bollywood. 2009.
- Encyclopedia of India
- Encyclopaedia of Indian cinema. 1994.
- The encyclopedia of the Indian diaspora. 2006.
- Encyclopaedia of Indian iconography: Hinduism - Buddhism - Jainism. 2nd ed. 2003.
- Encyclopaedia of fairs and festivals in India: with select rituals, vows, holy cities, temples and pilgrim centers. 2001.
- Encyclopaedia of Indian literature. 2 v. 2007.
- International encyclopaedia of Indian literature. Rev. and enlarged ed. 1987-.
- The Encyclopedia of Indian philosophies. 2000-. 10 v.
- Encyclopaedia of Indian philosophy. 2007. 2 v.
- Encyclopaedia of Indian tribes. 1994. 12 v.
- Encyclopaedia of status and empowerment of women in India. 4 v. 1999.
- Encyclopaedia of Indian women. 3 v. 1998.
- Handbook of Oriental Studies Section two, India. 1971-.
humanities & social science journals
Most Indian official publications are not included in this list; SUL owns partial runs and isolated volumes of a number of Indian government publications, which should all include India in the author field when searching the catalog. Science, technology, legal, and medical journals are generally not included in this list.
a list in progress
African and Asian Studies. Brill Academic Publishers, 2002 http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/4804809
Anthropologist : International Journal of Contemporary and Applied Studies of Man. Delhi: Kamla-Raj Enterprises, 1999. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8199912
Asian Biotechnology and Development Review. New Delhi: Research and Information System for the Non-aligned and Other Developing Countries http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8197769
Asian Affairs. Royal Society for Asian Affairs http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/381117
Asian Journal of Management Cases. New Delhi [India]: Sage Publications [for] Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS) http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8613870
Asian Survey. University of California Press http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/352557
Biblio : a Review of Books. New Delhi: Asia-Pacific Communication Associates, 1995. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/4731540
Bioscope: South Asian Screen Studies. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8559485
Business Today. New Delhi: Living Media India Ltd., 1992. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8559796
Conservation and Society. New Delhi: Sage Publications http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8195583
Contemporary South Asia. Abingdon, Oxfordshire: Carfax Pub. Co., 1992. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5084279
Contributions to South Asian Studies. Delhi: Oxford University Press http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/355700
Country Finance. New York, NY: Economist Intelligence Unit, 1999. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8244046
Country Profile. London, U.K.: The Unit, 2001. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8212344
Country Report. London: Economist Intelligence Unit, 2001. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8212341
Doing Business In India : Critical Legal Issues for U.s. Companies. New York, NY: Practising Law Institute, 2007. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/6787940
Eastern Anthropologist. Lucknow: Ethnographic and Folk Culture Society. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/486528
Economic and Political Weekly. Bombay. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/486534
Gender, Technology and Development. New Delhi: Sage http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8203456
Global Business Review. New Delhi: Sage Publications http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8202841
Guide to Indian Periodical Literature. Gurgaon: Indian Documentation Service [etc.] http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/361927
Himalayan Journal. Delhi: Oxford University Press [etc.] http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/4445020
Himalayan Linguistics. Milwaukee, WI: University of Wisconsin--Milwaukee, 2004. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8205413
Indian Defence Year Book. New Delhi: Natraj Publishers, 1997. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/4787337
India: a Reference Annual. [Delhi]. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/431658
India Development Report. New Delhi: Oxford University Press, 1997. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5166491
Indian Historical Quarterly. Delhi, India: Ramanand Vidya Bhawan, 1985 http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5686554
India Infrastructure Report. New Delhi: Oxford University Press, 2001. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5425644
Indian historical Review (Sage) http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8543186
Indian Journal of Biotechnology. New Delhi: National Institute of Science Communication & Information Resources http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8508662
India ... Performance Report. [Washington, D.C.: U.S. Agency for International Development] http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/7870479
India Perspectives. New Delhi: Produced by PTI for the Ministry of External Affairs, 1988. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/494986
India Review. London, England: F. Cass http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8205029
India Today. North American ed. Nanaimo, B.C., Canada: Universal Media Ltd http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8229446
India Today International. North American special ed. New York: Living Media International Ltd., 2001. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/4719236
Indian Folklore Research Journal. Chennai: National Folklore Support Centre, 2001. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8533595
Indian Journal of Economics & Business : Ijeb. Delhi: Serials Publications, 2002. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8244073
Indian Journal of Gender Studies. New Delhi: Sage Publications, 1994 http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/4462911
Indian Journal of Science and Technology. Chennai, India: Indian Society for Education and Environment http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8190316
Indian Journal of Sexually Transmitted Diseases and Aids. Mumbai: Published for IASSTD & AIDS by Medknow Publications & Media Pvt. Ltd., 2009. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8190511
Indian Journal of Traditional Knowledge. New Delhi: National Institute of Science Communication, 2002. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8508663
Indian linguistics http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/497358
Indian Social and Economic Development. New Delhi: Sage, 1988 http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/3423009
International Journal of Asian Studies. Cambridge University Press, 2004. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5496065
International Journal of Rural Management. New Delhi, India: Sage Publications, 2005. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8195816
Intersections: Gender, History & the Asian Context. Perth, W.A.: Murdoch University, Asian Studies, 1998. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8202767
Journal of Asian and African Studies. Brill http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/365890
Journal of Asian Studies. Association for Asian Studies http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/487039
Journal of Bhutan Studies =: ʼbrug. Thimphu: Centre for Bhutan Studies http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5516815
Journal of Creative Communications. New Dehli [India]: Sage Publications India, 2006. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8195702
Journal of Entrepreneurship. New Delhi: Sage Publications http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8201689
Journal of Health Management. New Delhi: Sage Publications http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8202617
Journal of Health Population and Nutrition. Dhaka, Bangladesh: ICDDR, B: Centre for Health and Population Research, 2000. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/7798010
Journal of Hindu Studies. [Oxford]: Oxford University Press, 2008. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8380083
Journal of Human Values. New Delhi: Sage Publications http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8210801
Journal of Indian Association for Child and Adolescent Mental Health. [Varanasi, India]: Indian Association for Child and Adolescent Mental Health, 2005. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8195251
Journal of Indian Council of Philosophical Research. New Delhi: ICPR, 1983. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/493979
Journal of Indian Philosophy. Dordrecht: D. Reidel http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/487086
Journal of Indian Philosophy and Religion. Calcutta, India: Society for Indian Philosophy and Religion, 1996. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/7684550
Journal of Marketing & Communication : the Journal for Thought Leaders and Change Drivers. New Delhi: NIILM Center for Management Studies, 2005. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8197456
Journal of Punjab Studies. Santa Barbara, CA http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8210784
Journal of South Asian Development. [New Delhi, India]: Sage Publications India, 2006. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8195706
Journal of the Indian Anthropological Society. Calcutta, India: The Society, 1966. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/363811
Journal of the Indian Society of Agricultural Statistics. New Delhi http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/363933
Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain & Ireland.Cambridge University Press for the Royal Asiatic Society http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/376387
Language In India. Bloomington, MN: M.S. Thirumalai, 2001. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8196806
Margin : the Journal of Applied Economic Research. New Delhi: Sage Publications India Pvt. Ltd., 2007. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8196909
Medieval History Journal: Journal of the Association for the Study of Medieval History. New Delhi: Thousand Oaks http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8202616
Modern Asian Studies. Cambridge University Press http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/487388
Online journal of health and allied sciences http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8728189
Oxford University Papers On India. Delhi: Oxford University Press, 1986. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/474215
Our Nature. Biratnegar, Nepal: Nature Conservation and Health Care Council http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8170405
Outlook. New Delhi: Hathway Investments Pvt Ltd http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/4714311
Pacific Affairs. University of British Columbia http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/348795
Pakistan Journal of History and Culture. Islamabad, Pakistan: National Institute of Historical and Cultural Research, 1980. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/475278
Pakistan Perspectives. Karachi: Pakistan Study Centre, University of Karachi, 1996. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5529384
Psychology and Developing Societies. New Delhi: Sage Publications India http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8210828
Quarterly Review of Historical Studies. Calcutta: Institute of Historical Studies http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/487908
Raganet: Electronic Journal of Indian Music & Arts http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8185680
Sassi Research Report. South Asian Strategic Stability Institute (SASSI) http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8613870
Science, Technology & Society: an International Journal Devoted to the Developing World. New Delhi: Sage Publications http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8210842
Social Development In Pakistan. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8184457
Social Development In Pakistan : Annual Review. Karachi: The Centre, 1998. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5536150
South Asia Defence and Strategic Year Book. New Delhi: Panchsheel, 2007. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/6735610
South Asia Economic Journal. Colombo: Institute of Policy Studies http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8203006
South Asia Multidisciplinary Academic Journal. Paris: Association pour la recherche sur l'Asie du Sud http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8170109
South Asia Politics. New Delhi: Rashtriya Jagriti Sansthan http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5584556
South Asia Research. Sage. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/473151
South Asian Studies: Journal of the Society for South Asian Studies. The Society http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8200840
South Asian Survey : a Journal of the Indian Council for South Asian Cooperation. New Delhi: Sage Publications, 1994. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8200373
Studies In History. New Delhi: Sage [etc.] http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8586615
Subaltern Studies. Delhi: Oxford University Press, 1982. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/474493
The Times of India. New Delhi, India: Times of India. Current issues. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/6207458
Yearbook of South Asian Languages and Linguistics. New Delhi: Sage Publications, 1998 http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/4251594
Yearbook On India's Foreign Policy. New Delhi: Sage Publications, 1985. http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/470269
Other databases available to Stanford users include:
- ABI Global Business Online (offshoring, outsourcing, call centers, etc.)
- Access World News: India – includes The Hindu, Times of India
- ATLA Religion Index
- CAB Direct (Commonwealth Agricultural Board)
- Dissertation Abstracts
- Government Information databases
- Historical Abstracts
- Lexis/Nexis (Fulltext newspapers, including current NYT, and journals)
- MLA Bibliography (1963-) indexes literature, languages, and folklore
- New York Times Historical (1851-2001) fulltext
- PAIS (public policy)
- Sociological Abstracts
- World agricultural economics and rural sociology abstracts
- World News Connection Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government
- World Political Science Abstracts
some important publishers and series
search these publishers and series in SearchWorks
- Longman New Delhi
- Orient Blackswan
- Oxford University Press New Delhi
- Permanent Black
- Routledge contemporary South Asia series
- Routledge Hindu studies series
- Routledge: India in the modern world
- Sage India
Indian publishers on standing order 2012-
Profile: All English-language books beginning with 2012 imprints of the following publishers (with exclusions detailed herein)
- Three Essays Collective http://www.threeessays.com/
- Manohar (books on India only) http://www.manoharbooks.com/
- Orient Blackswan http://www.orientblackswan.com/permanentblack.asp
- Orient Longman (New Delhi)
- Oxford University Press India http://www.oup.co.in/contactus.php#
- Penguin Books India
- Permanent Black http://permanent-black.blogspot.com/]
- Sage India http://www.sagepub.in/index.asp
- Social Sciences Press, Delhi
Exclusions: Reprints, Textbooks, Study or training manuals, Children’s books, Professional publications (Business, Law, Medicine)
2/25/2013 Add publications by Leftword and Navayana to future BO-Borderline Cases
cooperation with UC
While UC Berkeley and Stanford have very different South Asia collections in terms of size and scope, nevertheless, coordinated collection development can be mutually beneficial. Based on consultations between Adnan Malik, the South Asia librarian at UC Berkeley, John Rawlings, the South Asia librarian at Stanford and John Eilts, the Middle East librarian at Stanford, the main areas that can be a source of cooperative collecting between the two libraries are:
- Non-English European and American publications on South Asia (Estimated LMB* savings in FY09 dollars for both libraries: $1,000 for UCB)
- Publications from Afghanistan. (LMB savings for UCB in F09 dollars: $8,000)
- Publications from Pakistan (LMB savings for Stanford in F09 dollars: $4,000)
Historically, UC Berkeley has collected extensively on South Asia, especially from the region itself, which has allowed it to build the largest South Asia collection on the West Coast. UC Berkeley collects not only in English and other European languages, but importantly, also in all the main South Asian languages that include Hindi, Urdu, Tamil, Bengali, Telugu, Nepali, Sanskrit, Pali, and Persian among others. Stanford, on the other hand, collects only in English and other European languages and relies on UC Berkeley for its needs in other South Asian languages.
Therefore, it is proposed that UC Berkeley and Stanford extend cooperation in acquiring publications from Europe and the US While UC Berkeley will continue to collect vernacular publications from South Asia, as well as the bulk of English publications from that region, Stanford will take charge of collecting most of the South Asia related publications produced in Europe and the US in English, French, German and Italian. Stanford will also help UC Berkeley acquire those English publications from the U.K. and U.S. that it cannot afford to get due to budget constraints.
This area (European and US prints) of cooperation is rather small compared to the scope and cost of vernacular material, and sharing funds to acquire vernacular publications from South Asia deserves further discussion, especially if Stanford’s South Asian academic program grows.
Be that as it may, there are two segments of South Asian vernacular publications where cooperation is already possible, namely, publications from Afghanistan and Pakistan. Since collection responsibilities are arranged differently on the two campuses, at Stanford responsibility for Afghanistan falls with the Middle East librarian, Mr. John Eilts. Mr. Eilts and Mr. Malik agreed to share the collection effort of acquiring publications from Afghanistan and Pakistan, especially religious publications, by letting UC Berkeley take charge of Pakistan and Stanford handle Afghanistan’s Persian and Pushto publications. As a result, Stanford will cease getting publications from Pakistan and UC Berkeley will reduce its collecting from Afghanistan to a bare minimum, concentrating mostly on serials.
Finally, it makes sense for both libraries to coordinate their purchase of big ticket items, like microfilm sets of South Asian newpapers, colonial documents, private papers and other rare materials. Funds saved from avoiding duplication can be used more efficiently to expand the holdings of these materials at both libraries.
These cooperative efforts will help both libraries to ease the current budget crisis. If successful, they can lead to new areas for coordinated collection development.
Feb 24, 2009
*LMB = library material budget
scope of the Stanford collection
The SUL collection, excepting Buddhist Studies, is comprised primarily of English language books supporting study and teaching: SUL Collection Development Policy for South Asia. Send purchase requests to John Rawlings, Green Library, email@example.com, 3-3101. The UC Berkeley South/Southeast Asia Library houses an important research collection; Adnan Malik (firstname.lastname@example.org) is the librarian for the UCB South Asia Collection. Faculty and graduate students should register with the Research Library Cooperative Program (RLCP) to borrow Berkeley Library material through the RLCP's document delivery service. Additionally, the University of California / Stanford University Reciprocal Services Program (RSP) provides eligible Stanford users with the same on-site access and borrowing privileges as are accorded their counterparts at each of the U.C. campus general libraries.
Stanford's Center for South Asia including people & courses
- 10.27.09 Univ. plans to upgrade Asian area studies.
- 2.21.08 Richard Saller, Dean of Humanities and Sciences: "We are now looking at adding about five to seven…appointments in South Asian [program] that would span social sciences and humanities. It might not be literature, it might be film, for example. And we have to think about what we can do based on the library and research resources that we have." Faculty Senate minutes for February 21st.
- 5.02.07 President Hennessey stresses importance of building bridges to India.
- 5.02.07 South Asia classes focus on themes ancient, modern.
- 10.10 "South Asian Scholars at Stanford." Anthropology Department Newsletter 3 (2010):3 https://www.stanford.edu/dept/anthropology/cgi-bin/web/?q=node/177
- 10.10 Thomas Hansen, Reliance-Dhirubhai Ambani Professor in South Asian Studies and Professor in Anthropology, appointed Director of Stanford’s Center for South Asian Studies. Anthropology Department Newsletter 3 (2010): 2- https://www.stanford.edu/dept/anthropology/cgi-bin/web/?q=node/177