Southeast Asian studies

This topic guide provides an introduction to find English language resources focusing on Southeast Asia. These include holdings housed at Green and other Stanford libraries or available electronically.

Books

SearchWorks
SearchWorks is the main interface for searching Stanford Libraries' collections. Search the catalog by title, author, or keyword, or perform full-text searches with articles+.

WorldCat

The world's largest network of library content and services, this database allows you to 

search the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and regions

HathiTrust
This is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from over 60 partner research libraries including content digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries. As of January 2012, HathiTrust comprises over 10 million volumes, over 2.7 million of which are public domain. HathiTrust provides a number of discovery and access services, notably, full-text search across the entire repository.

Journals & articles

Bibliography of Asian Studies
This is a major source for engaging in research on Asian studies. It provides citations to Western-language articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. The database covers from 1971 to the present, including full data from the print editions from 1971-1991.

Many databases in such disciplines as history, political science, and sociology have articles with Asian studies perspective, including:

xSearch
A search engine that enables you to search many databases at a time. This specific search includes most databases that have resources on Asian studies. 

A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications. A great place to start your research.

Sociological abstracts
This database provides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Historical abstracts with full text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.

JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.

Project Muse
Features a collection of online scholarly journals that focuses on the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

LexisNexis
Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.

ERIC
A database that provides users with ready access to an extensive body of education-related literature.

MLA International Bibliography
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

ProQuest
Provides online access to an extensive collection of full-text articles from journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology. User interface available in Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish, and Turkish. 

Newspapers 

LexisNexisAccess World News NewsBankProQuest Newsstand, and Factiva are major sources that allow users to search and access full-text stories published by English language newspapers/newswire in Southeast Asia dating back to 1980s or 1990s. 
 
NewspaperSG is a database maintained by the National Library Board of Singapore, which contains a searchable archive of historical Singaporean and other Southeast Asian newspapers, including the Straits Times and Malaya Tribune.
 
Additionally, Stanford has a significant collection of historical Southeast Asian newspapers housed at Newark and SAL3.  To find a specific newspaper title, go to SearchWorks, enter the title and click the option for "Newspaper" in the left column.
 
Following are links to major English language newspapers published in Southeast Asian countries: 

Dissertations & Theses@Stanford
This database provides full-text access to most Stanford dissertations written between 1989-2009. Stanford dissertations (including those written after 2009) are also available from a link in the Searchworks record for individual dissertations.

Dissertation Abstracts
For dissertations and theses from other universities, this database provides indexed doctoral dissertations accepted by U.S. and Canadian institutions since 1861.

NDLTD
NDLTD is an international organization that, through leadership and innovation, promotes the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations. The NDLTD encourages and supports the efforts of institutes of higher education and their communities to develop electronic publishing and digital libraries (including repositories), thus enabling them to share knowledge more effectively in order to unlock the potential benefits worldwide.

Statistics

UN Data
Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included. Includes Indicator databases (Key Global Indicators, Millennium Development Goals, Gender Info, Indicators on Women and Men, The State of the World’s Children 2008, ECE Database), UNESCO UIS Data, ILO Data, Energy Statistics, Greenhouse Gas Inventory, FAO Data, WHO Data, Human Development Report, Industrial Commodity Statistics, ITU Data, Official Country Data, Estimates of Main Aggregates, Demographic Statistics, World Population Prospects, UNHCR Statistical Yearbook, Commodity Trade Statistics, UNWTO Data, with more databases to be added.

OECD iLibrary, Statistics
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.

World Bank Databases
Collection of data and statistics from official statistical systems organized and financed by national governments.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.

Statistica
Provides access to statistics ans studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Statistical Indonesia

Department of Statistics Singapore

National Statistical Office of Thailand

Department of Statistical Malaysia

National Statistical Office of Philippines

General Statistics of Vietnam

Useful Websites

South/Southeast Asia Library, University of California, Berkeley

Southeast Asia Digital Library

Digital Atlas of Indonesian History

Southeast Asia Forum, Stanford University

Department of South & Southeast Asian Studies, University of California, Berkeley

Center for Southeast Asia Studies, University of California, Berkeley

Southeast Asia Program, Cornell University

Southeast Asian Studies/Asia Center, Harvard University

Council on Southeast Asia Studies, Yale University

Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, Singapore

ASEASUK, Association of South-East Asian Studies in the United Kingdom

KITLV/Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies at Leiden

The International Institute for Asian Studies, Leiden University

Nordic Institute of Asian Studies, Denmark

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking