You are here

Special needs education

Last Updated: 20-Nov-2014

This guide is for those interested in the education of those with special needs, both research and practice.  This includes those with learning differences and social differences.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Background information

Recently received

Other books

Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC1099 .E38 2012 V.1
"The major aim of this encyclopedia is to describe the most important concepts, theories, research, policies, case studies, and programs at the pre-school through the postsecondary levels and their implications for educational reform. Diversity is defined broadly in this encyclopedia and includes race, ethnicity, social class, gender, sexual orientation (LGBT), religion, language, and exceptionality, which encompasses giftedness and disability." p. xlviii
Baltimore, Md. : Paul H. Brookes, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » HV1570 .C66 2007
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB15 .E473 2005 V.1
New York : Routledge, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC4031 .H358 2012
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1027.55 .H357 2007
Provides "a description of the specialty of psychology devoted to the provision of services to children and youth, their teachers, and parents." Section I contains chapters on individual countries, while Section II has synthesis chapters.
New York, N.Y. : Guilford Press, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC4704 .H364 2003
"review major theoretical, methodological, and instructional advances that have occurred in the field of learning disabilities (LD) over the last 20 years."
New York : Guilford Press, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.5 .H267 2011
"The volume addresses the major components of literacy, including word recognition, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, spelling, and writing. Chapters also cover the specific needs of preschoolers and older readers, as well as English language learners and students with learning disabilities."
"Until now, practitioners have had access to very few detailed descriptions of response to intervention (RTI) methods and the effective role they can play in special education. The Handbook of Response to Intervention fills this critical information gap. In a single, comprehensive volume, more than 90 expert scholars and practitioners join together to provide a highly usable guide to the essentials of RTI assessment and identification as well as research-based interventions for improving students' reading, writing, oral, and math skills. Each chapter explores crucial issues, defines key concepts, and answers real-world questions regarding implementation..."
Los Angeles : SAGE, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.5 .S24 2008
"The SAGE Handbook of Dyslexia is a comprehensive overview of a complex field....The editors have brought together key figures from the international academic world - both researchers and practitioners - to examine the relationships between theoretical paradigms, research and practice, and to map new areas of research."
London ; New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.5 .R68 2009

New books

Practice-oriented.
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3430 .D53 2014
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC146.6 .G67 2014
Practice-oriented.
Cambridge, MA : Harvard Education Press, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC34.4 .I58 2014

Journals

New York, Academic Press, 1963-
Green Library » Stacks » BF721 .A45 V.1 1963
Each annual volume covers a different theme providing "a unique perspective on a question of major interest and significance to developmental and cognitive psychologists, developmental and cognitive scientists, and developmental cognitive neuroscientists, as well as to clinicians who work with children from the special populations on whom much of the research is focused."
Washington, DC : Hemisphere Pub. Corp.,
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Rockville, Md. : Aspen Systems Corp., c1981-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LC4019.2 .T66 V.27 2007

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Psychology databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Websites