You are here

Stanford University athletics

Last Updated: 1-May-2014

Stanford University football team, 1894

A guide to resources on the history of athletic programs at Stanford University. Additional resources on specific sports may be found via Searchworks; try a keyword search with the terms "Stanford University" and the particular sport in which you are interested.

Subject Librarians

Daniel Hartwig
University Archivist
(650) 725-1161
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Photo of Jenny Johnson
Collections Management & Processing Archivist
(650) 721-1529

Books

Copies of most of these books are available for reference use in the Special Collecions reading room. Additional copies may be available in other library locations. For details, click the title links to see the Searchworks record for each item.

1st ed. Stanford, Calif. : Stanford Alumni Association, [1982]
Special Collections » University Archives: request at Special Collections service desk » GV691 .S8 C38 1982 F
Palo Alto, Calif., Pacific Books [1952]
Green Library » Stacks » GV691 .S8 G7
Stanford, Calif., Dept of Athletics, Stanford University, c1972.
Green Library » HAS Stanford History (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » GV693 .S8 L5
Champaign, IL : Sports Publishing, c1997.
Special Collections » University Archives reference (non-circulating) » GV691 .S8 M54 1997
[Stanford, Calif.] : Stanford University Department of Athletics, c2001.
Special Collections » University Archives reference (non-circulating) » GV691 .S8 S83 2001 F
West Point, N.Y. : Leisure Press, c1982.
Special Collections » University Archives: request at Special Collections service desk » GV958 .S7 S8 1982
[1st ed.] New York, Exposition Press [1957]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 796.331 .S78CO
Huntsville, Ala. : Strode Publishers, c1975.
Green Library » Stacks » GV958 .S7 M47

Archives and manuscripts

Image collections

University publications and ephemera

University publications and ephemera are identified by four-digit call numbers. You will need to know the call number to request this material in the Special Collections Reading Room.

  • 6750: Physical Education for men (pre-1975)
  • 6770: Physical Education for women (pre-1975)
  • 6780: Dept. of Athletics, Physical Education and Recreation (1975-present)
  • 8500: Intercollegiate athletics
  • 8510: Women's intercollegiate athletics
  • 8980: Intramural athletics