You are here

Stanford University Oral History

Last Updated: 30-May-2013

The University Archives actively works with the Stanford Historical Society and other University groups to conduct and preserve oral histories documenting Stanford.

Subject Librarians

Daniel Hartwig
University Archivist
(650) 725-1161
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Photo of Jenny Johnson
Collections Management & Processing Archivist
(650) 721-1529
Oral Historian, Stanford Historical Society
(650) 387-7437
Administrative Officer, Stanford Historical Society
(650) 725-3332

Stanford Historical Society oral history program interviews, 2006-2012 (SC0932)

The Stanford Historical Society's Oral History Program explores the institutional history of the University, with an emphasis on the tranformative post-WWII period, through interviews with leading faculty, staff, alumni, trustees, and others.

Stanford Oral History Project interviews, 1971-1995 (SC1017)

The Stanford Oral History Project (SOHP), a joint effort of the Stanford University Archives and the Stanford Historical Society, began in 1978 as an extension of their efforts to collect, preserve and make available to researchers the historical record of the Stanford University community. These taped interviews and their transcriptions supplement the already strong collection of written and photographic materials in the University Archives, and provide a unique resource containing experiences and viewpoints not often found in traditional documents.
The oral history interviews in the SOHP collection are carefully planned historical documents which we hope will serve a wide range of scholarly interests. Five additional sets of oral history interviews are listed separately: a set of interviews with members of the early Aurora newspaper collection; a set of interviews with participants in Stanford's Community Committee for International Students (CCIS); a set of interviews conducted by Joan Bromberg of the American Institute of Physics for the Laser History Project; a set of interviews with graduates of the Stanford School of Nursing; a set of interviews with Stanford-associated "Silicon Valley" scientists (a component of the Stanford and the Silicon Valley Project); and a set of interviews with family and friends of Dr. Robert Reid Newell, professor in the School of Medicine.
For most of the interviews, a typed transcript, edited for accuracy by both interviewer and narrator but otherwise unchanged, is available.
The interviews are arranged in seven series: 1. Stanford Oral History Project Inteviews; 2. Aurora Interviews; 3. Community Committee on International Studies Interviews; 4. Laser History Project Interviews; 5. Stanford Nurse Alumnae Interviews; 6. Silicon Valley Project Interviews; and 7. Dr. Robert Reid Newell Interviews.

Charles Babbage Institute oral history collection, 1979-1991 (SC0618)

This collection contains transcripts of oral history interviews selected for their relevance to the history of computer science at Stanford, including the development of the computer science department and Stanford's Artificial Intelligence Laboratory. Persons interviewed are Saul Amarel, Bruce G. Buchanan, Vinton Cerf, Edward A. Feigenbaum, Louis Fein, Alexandra I. Forsythe, Gene H. Golub, John McCarthy, William F. Miller, Allen Newell, Nils J. Nilsson, Bernard M. Oliver, Dabbala R. Reddy, Joseph F. Traub, and Terry Winograd. There is also a transcript of the Burroughs B 5000 Conference held on September 6, 1985.

Bauman (Frank A.) oral history (SCM0426)

Bound volume of oral history transcripts and manuscript of Frank A. Bauman.

Diversity in U. S. medical schools oral history collection, 2005-2006 (SC0886)

The interviews in this collection are case studies of policies pursued by UCSF and Stanford University medical schools to increase racial and ethnic diversity, from the 1960s to the 2000s. Nancy M. Rockafellar was the interviewer and editor of the finished transcripts. Professors and administrators interviewed from Stanford Medical School are Roy Maffly, Bernard Nelson, Leon Rosenberg, and Fernando Mendoza. Professors and administrators from UCSF include Julius R. Krevans, Philip R. Lee, John A. Watson, and John S. Wellington.

Goodwin (George) Oral history interviews with Stanford people, 1993 (SC0527)

Audio cassettes, with brief typed summaries, of interviews with Vartan Gregorian, E. Fay Jones, Emily Hanna Johnson, and John Paul Hanna, 1993. Gregorian discusses his childhood and Armenian roots, student days at Stanford, his teaching career, and his administrative career at Brown University. Jones primarily discusses his career as an architect, including his work with Frank Lloyd Wright. The interviews with Emily Hanna Johnson and John Paul Hanna concern the Hanna family and the family home on the Stanford campus that was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright.

Leslie (Stuart W.) oral histories on the cold war and American science, 1982-1991 (SC0999)

Collection contains 51 audiocassettes from interviews with Stanford faculty in physics, electrical engineering, aeronautics and material science, along with scientists and engineers at Bay Area companies, for his book: THE COLD WAR AND AMERICAN SCIENCE: THE MILITARY-INDUSTRIAL-ACADEMIC COMPLEX AT MIT AND STANFORD. Those interviewed include Marvin Chodorow, Edward Ginzton, Nicholas Hoff, Stanley F. Kaisel, Erwin Nalos, Martin Packard, William E. Perry, William Rambo, Ronald Smelt, Oswald Villard, and Walter Vincenti.

Murphy (Bob) oral history and background material, 1997-2007 (SC1007)

The materials consist of an oral history, background material, news clippings, a short biography, and an article on baseball on the radio.

Oliver (Bernard M.) Oral history, 1985-1986 (SCM0111)

Transcript of an interview conducted by Arthur L. Norberg covering Oliver's early life, his education, and work experiences at Bell Laboratories and Hewlett-Packard. Subjects include television research, radar, information theory, organizational climate and objectives at both companies, Hewlett-Packard's associations with Stanford University, and Oliver's association with William Hewlett and David Packard.

Sheinbaum (Stanley K.) Oral history interview, 1984 (SC0432)

Collection consists of four audio cassettes and transcribed notes from an oral history interview conducted by George M. Goodwin. Subjects include his childhood and family life in New York; student and intellectual life at Stanford including his experiences with antisemitism; his interest in Vietnam and ultimate anti-war position; Robert Maynard Hutchins and the Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions; his involvement in Democratic politics, including Eugene McCarthy's presidential campaign in 1968; his involvement with the Daniel Ellsberg case; Jewish politics and organizations; and his work as a University of California Regent.

Shuchat (Julius ) oral history, 1991 (SCM0135)

Interview covers Shuchat's teaching career and the Stanford bands from 1948 to 1962.

Santa Clara Valley interurbans, an oral history by one who remembers it well (SCM0138)

Photocopies of photographs, illustrations, and articles with additional text by Snyder, concerning the Peninsular Railway, the electric trolley that ran between San Jose and Palo Alto, California, passing through Stanford University.

Stanford Alpine Club oral history interviews, 1997-2001 (SC1018)

The collection contains transcripts of interviews done by John Rawlings with David Boore and Judy (Lovelace) Boore, Herbert C. DeStaebler, Nicholas B. Clinch, Henry Kendall, Alfred W. Baxter, Bea Vogel, Betsy (Swann) Crowder, Gilbert Roberts, Irene Beardsley, Mary (Sherril) Baxter, Rowland Tabor, Russell Van Dyke, Theodore (Jack) Weicker III, and Ulf Ramm-Ericson. Also included are source tapes from the interviews. The following taped interviews have been transcribed: R. W. Tabor, Gilbert J. Roberts, Betsy Crowder, Alfred Baxter, Herbert C. DeStaebler, David Boore, Mary Sherrill Baxter, Russell Van Dyke, Irene Beardsley Ortenburger, and Nicholas Clinch. The following taped interviews have not been transcribed: Gloria McConnel, Scott Davis, Mike Roberts, Nancy Bickford Miller, Steven D'Hondt, Ned MacKay, Roger Gocking, Jim Moore, and Meredith Ellis Little.

Stanford Emeriti Council Collection (SC0973)

Collection pertains to talks sponsored by the Council and includes DVDs, digital videocassettes, and miscellaneous printed materials. Speakers represented in the collection include Luigi Cavalli-Sforza, Herant Katchadourian, Herbert Lindenberger, Albert Macovski, and Eleanor Maccoby.

Stanford University, Graduate School of Business, oral history collection, 1999 (SC0659)

Interviews on the history of Stanford's business school conducted with professors Arjay Miller, Harold J. Leavitt, James T. S. Porterfield, Gerald M. Meier, Ezra Solomon, Robert K. Jaedicke, Charles T. Horngren, James E. Howell, Charles P.Bonini, and Thomas W. Harrell. Specific topics covered include its various deans, particularly Ernest Arbuckle; financial history; curriculum; ICAME (International Center for the Advancement of Management Education); Public Management Program; and women students and faculty.

Stanford University, News and Publication Service, audiovisual recordings, 1936-2011 (SC1125)

The materials consist of audio and video recordings of University events and activities captured by the Stanford News Service.

Stanford University, News and Publication Service, Notable Teachers Series audiorecordings, 1979-1984 (SC1124)

Audiorecordings of faculty interviews captured by the Stanford News Service for its Notable Teachers series.

Stanford University, School of Earth Sciences, oral history interviews, 1983-1999 (SC1105)

Transcripts and audio tapes of interviews with Stanford faculty and former students.

Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom Oral History Project transcripts, 1981 (SC0263)

This oral history project to interview members of WILPF in the Stanford area was part of a SWOPSI course taught by Judith Porter Adams and Linda Shaw in 1981. Collection includes transcripts/synopses of interviews with Helen Hildreth, Doris Jones, Elsie Renne, and Margaret Stein.