You are here

Staying Cool on a Hot Planet: Environmental Rhetoric for a Changing World

PWR 1KMC - Fall 2013 - Instructor: Moekle, K
Last Updated: 23-Sep-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 1KMC Staying Cool on a Hot Planet. Topics include the rhetoric and ethics of environmental problems -- from the installment of a specific sustainable energy project, or a public policy issue concerning carbon emissions regulation through a "cap and trade" system, for example.  

Subject Librarians

Earth Sciences Librarian
(650) 724-6242
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Getting Started

Class textbook (available online!)

San Antonio, Tex. : Trinity University Press, c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » GE42 .M65 2010

Selected Searchworks Subject Terms

Find Books, Journal Titles and Media in Stanford's Online Catalog, SearchWorksHere are some "controlled vocabulary" subject terms for climate change and environmental philosophy-related topics. There are many others. Don't find what you are looking for? Ask your librarian for help.

The following are some reference sources that you can use to find background information on your topic as well as other references.

[New York] : McGraw-Hill, 2000.
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » (no call number)
An online collection of articles, bibliographies, study guides, dictionaries, etc. serving as a searchable encyclopedia of science and technology.
Farmington Hills, MI : Thomson Gale, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online eBook reference collection on many topics including the Environment. You can direct link to environmental topics.
San Diego : Greenhaven Press, c2003.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HD75.6 .G555 2003

Databases, Encyclopedias, Newspapers and More

Key Databases

Note: Stanford subscribes to over 1000 databases that index articles and books on various topics. Since there are so many databases we recommend a select subset of databases which will give you access to articles in a wide variety of subject areas. The following are some databases that focus on environmental topics.

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications. A great place to start your research.
[S.l.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, [199-]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers environmental sciences topics, including ecology, energy resources, and pollution issues. Coverage: 1967 - present
Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics. Coverage: 1785 - present
[Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Major Reference Works and Encyclopedias

Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2002.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » GE149 .E47 2002 V.1
This encyclopedia captures the current knowledge of natural and anthropogenic changes in the physical, chemical, and biological systems and resources, and explores the effects of those on changes on human society.
New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1966-
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Reference (non-circulating) » QE501 .E56
The Springer Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences Series provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all the main areas in the Earth Sciences.
Washington, D.C. : NCSE
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Encyclopedia of Earth is a reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.

Opinion Sources & Blogs

Find Both Sides of an Issue (Opposing Viewpoints)

There are several solid resources that can help you find both sides of an issue. Here are some places to go to find background data and references for more information used in debating many topics:

Writing Help

A list of resources to assist with writing and publishing for Earth Sciences.

2nd, comp. rev. ed. Weinheim ; Cambridge : Wiley-VCH, 2004.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QD9.15 .E23 2004

PRINT ONLY. Coming to the aid of all those wishing to improve the quality of their scientific writing -- established researchers and aspiring students alike -- three experienced authors/scientists from differing backgrounds and cultures have compiled this classic guide.

Boston : Pearson, c2012.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Request at circulation desk » QE48.85 .C67 2012

PRINT ONLY. Instruction concerning the rules and styles of writing and speaking are addressed in relation to technical concerns specific to the Earth sciences, illustrating the importance of effective communication in geologic investigations. The book includes guidance on how to write an effective research paper, and the creation of PowerPoints, posters, a thesis, funding proposals, and more is covered in detail.

5th ed. Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute, c1995.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QE48.85 .G46 1995

PRINT ONLY. This introduction to writing, editing, and printing will help students and scientists cope with a process that many dread - the process that starts with a decision to write something for publication.

New York : Springer, c2011.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » T11 .B543 2011

ONLINE. This guide provides a framework, starting from simple statements, for writing papers for submission to peer-reviewed journals.