You are here

Super-Storms, Polar Bears, and Droughts: The Rhetoric of Climate Change

PWR 1SI - Fall 2016 - Instructor: Ives, Sarah
Last Updated: 26-Sep-2016

A guide to resources for Writing & Rhetoric 1: Super-Storms, Polar Bears, and Droughts: The Rhetoric of Climate Change. Topics include the rhetoric and ethics of environmental problems -- including the gendered approaches to climate change; climate change in popular culture; the history of catastrophe and extinction; the logic of climate change deniers; debates around fracking and divestment from fossil fuels; environmental justice; and the allegory of the polar bear.

Subject Librarians

Reference and Instruction Librarian
(650) 736-8341
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Getting Started

1. Use Reference Sources to jumpstart your research, to get ideas, search terms, context, and more.

2. Find Books, Journal Titles and Media in Stanford's Online Catalog, SearchWorks.
 
3. Find Articles in Selected Databases. Note: Stanford subscribes to over 1000 Databases that index articles and books on various topics. Since there are so many databases we recommend a select subset of databases which will give you access to articles in a wide variety of subject areas.
 
4. Ask Your Librarian for help!

Selected Searchworks Subject Terms

Find Books, Journal Titles and Media in Stanford's Online Catalog, SearchWorksHere are some "controlled vocabulary" subject terms for climate change and environmental philosophy-related topics. There are many others.

Just a few books to get started

  1. edited by Alan Moran. 2015

  2. David L. Downie, Kate Brash, and Catherine Vaughan. 2009

  3. Katherine Richardson, Will Steffen, Diana Liverman ; and Terry Barker [and ten others] ; with contributions to chapters by Myles R. Allen [and many others].. 2011

  4. Bob Scholes, Mary Scholes and Mike Lucas. 2015

  5. [edited by] Gavin Schmidt and Joshua Wolfe. 2009

  6. Oliver C. Ruppel, Christian Roschmann, Katharina Ruppel-Schlichting (eds). 2013

  7. [UNICEF and Instutute of Environmental Studies, University of Zimbabwe]. 2014

Key databases and other resources

Databases

The following are some databases that focus on environmental topics.

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications. A great place to start your research.
[S.l.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, [199-]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Covers environmental sciences topics, including ecology, energy resources, and pollution issues. Coverage: 1967 - present
Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics. Coverage: 1785 - present
[Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

The following are some reference sources that you can use to find background information on your topic as well as other references.

An online collection of articles, bibliographies, study guides, dictionaries, etc. serving as a searchable encyclopedia of science and technology.
Farmington Hills, MI : Thomson Gale, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online eBook reference collection on many topics including the Environment. You can direct link to environmental topics.
San Diego : Greenhaven Press, c2003.
Green Library » Information Center » HD75.6 .G555 2003

Understanding Rhetoric

Find Both Sides of an Issue (Opposing Viewpoints)

There are several solid resources that can help you find both sides of an issue. Here are some places to go to find background data and references for more information used in debating many topics:

More Help

Searchworks and many other databases you will use allow you to get a simple citation by using a "CiteThis" feature or gather more information by using a Send to/Export feature to send records to bibliographic management tools such as Refworks or EndNote.  You can also use resources such as Zotero or Mendeley to gather information including citations.  For more on these, see the guide to Bibliography Management.