You are here

Superfans and Scholars: Writing Fan Culture

PWR 2SSB - Winter 2016 - Instructor: Schuyler-Olmsted, S.
Last Updated: 6-Mar-2017

A guide for PWR 2SSB: Superfans and Scholars: Writing Fan Culture.

Suggested titles in our libraries

These books are about the general subject of fandom and celebrity. Find more like these by using the subject links in the Searchworks records, and by browsing books nearby (call numbers).

Newcastle upon Tyne, UK : Cambridge Scholars, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » HM646 .Z83 2012
Available online only.
Oxford : Polity, 2005.
Green Library » Stacks » HM646 .S24 2005
Available online only

Suggested journals

Search these alone, or search the databases that index them.

[Bowling Green, Ohio, Bowling Green State University]
Green Library » Current periodicals
Indexed and fulltext provided by EBSCO Host Academic Search Premier.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full text provided by PsycArticles.
[Silver Spring, MD] : Organization for Transformative Works
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
From the journal's website:  TWC publishes articles about transformative works, broadly conceived; articles about media studies, articles about the fan community. We invite papers in all areas, including fan fiction, fam vids, film, TV, anime, comic books, fan community, video games, and machinima. We encourage a variety of critical approaches, including feminism, gender studies, queer theory, post-colonial theory, audience theory, reader-response theory, literary criticism, film studies, and posthumanism.
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Stamford, Conn.] : Softline Information, [2001]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[S.l.] : National Library of Medicine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Pubmed, or Medline. There are several providers of this database. The first link on the Searchworks record is for National Library of Medicine site. But  EBSCO and Proquest provide access to this database too.  I recommend choosing Medline/pubmed from the "Choose" or "Change" databases option within either Proquest or EBSCO. Then you can search PubMed along with the general (Academic Search Premier or Proquest Research Library) databases. You will be able to select results from either, or both, databases.