You are here

Technology and education

Last Updated: 21-Nov-2014

This is for those interested in the application of technology to education, both research and practice.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Background information

Second edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1028.5 .C283 2014
"This book provides a framework for evaluating and conducting educational technology research, sharing research on educational technology in education content areas, and proposing structures to guide, link, and build new structures with future research."
Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1028.3 .E63 2008 V.1
"The Encyclopedia of Information Technology Curriculum Integration amasses a comprehensive resource of concepts, methodologies, models, architectures, applications, enabling technologies, and best practices for integrating technology into the curriculum at all levels of education."
New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2805 .H2862 2009
3rd ed. New York : Routledge, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC5800 .H36 2013
Provides "a comprehensive compendium of research in all aspects of distance education....While the book deals with education that uses technology, the focus is on teaching and learning and how its management can be facilitated through technology."
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1044.84 .H36 2013
2nd ed. Los Angeles : SAGE, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2395.7 .H23 2010
Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1028.5 .H3165 2011
Hershey : Information Science Reference, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1028.3 .H35555 2010
Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC5803 .C65 H365 2010
"Hybrid learning is the single greatest trend in education today, due to numerous educational advantages when both traditional classroom learning and e-learning are implemented collectively."
Hershey PA : Information Science Reference, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1028.38 .H358 2009 V.1
"The Handbook of Research on Learning Design and Learning Objects: Issues, Applications and Technologies provides an overview of current research and development activity in the area of learning designs in terms of teaching perspective and technological advances. This essential reference brings together over 40 studies that encompass the latest research of leaders in the field to provide an up-to-date and complete picture of the subject."
New York : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1043 .H328 2008
"Situated at the intersection of two of the most important areas in educational research today--literacy and technology--this handbook draws on the potential of each while carving out important new territory. It provides leadership for this newly emerging field, directing scholars to the major issues, theoretical perspectives, and interdisciplinary research pertaining to new literacies."
Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1043 .H329 2009 V.1
Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1044.87 .H345 2010
Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » P53.28 .H368 2009
"The Handbook of Research on Web 2.0 and Second Language Learning investigates how those involved in education -- teachers, students, and administrators -- can respond to the opportunities offered by Web 2.0 technology, within existing institutional and pedagogical frameworks."
Mahwah, N.J. : L. Erlbaum Associates, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.37 .H36 2006 V.2
Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1044.87 .M85 2011
"Instructors will find cutting-edge research ideas in the theoretical discussions, case studies, and experiments presented in this book. These insights are applied to [a] variety of subject areas and pedagogical contests, including learning foreign languages in virtual environments..."
Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1044.87 .W419 2010 V.1
"This comprehensive collection offers a compendium of research on the design, implementation, and evaluation of online learning technologies, addressing the challenges and opportunities associated with the creation and management of Web-based applications and communities, instructional design, personalized learning environments, and effective educational delivery"

New books

Charlotte, N.C. : Information Age Pub., c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1044.87 .S847 2009
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2395.7 .C38 2014
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2822.82 .M64 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA76.9 .C659 K34 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1062 .M385 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1028.5 .P425 2013
Practice-oriented.
Cham ; New York : Springer, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2331.62 .B35 2014
Practice-oriented.

Journals

New York, Pergamon Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB2300 .C6 V.53 N.3-4 2009
[Englewood Cliffs, N.J., etc., Educational Technology Publications, etc.]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Washington, D.C. : Assocation for Educational Communications and Technology, [c1989-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1028.35 .E38 V.55 2007
Hershey, PA : IGI Publishing, c2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Ottawa : Canadian Association for Distance Education = Association canadienne de l'enseignement à distance
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LC5805 .C2 J68 V.22 2007/2008
Palmerston North, N.Z. : International Forum of Educational Technology & Society
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Eugene, OR : International Society for Technology in Education, c2001-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
New York, NY : Plenum Press,
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB1028.3 .J687 V.17 2008
Eugene, OR : International Society for Technology in Education, c1995-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Acton, Mass. : Information Synergy, 1974-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB1028 .T33 V.35 2008

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related Databases

Chesapeake, Va. : AACE.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"The EdITLib Digital Library is your source for peer-reviewed and published articles and papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning."
Hershey, Pennsylvania : IGI Global.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
IGI Global's portal to ebooks in the field of educational technology allows Stanford patrons to download chapters and/or entire books to read on a variety of computers and mobile devices.

Websites