You are here

Tel Aviv history

Last Updated: 7-May-2014

Highlights of the extensive resources on the history of Tel Aviv at Stanford University Libraries and beyond. 

Subject Librarians

Zachary Baker, in the outdoor passageway between Green Library and the School of Education.
Assistant University Librarian for Collection Development - Humanities and Social Sciences, Reinhard Family Curator of Judaica and Hebraica Collections
(650) 724-2736 (650) 725-1054
Assistant Curator, Judaica & Hebraica Collections , Interim Bibliographer, Linguistics
(650) 736-1306

Selected Special Collections resources on Tel Aviv

Special collections materials are stored off campus and must be requested at least two business days ahead of use.  For complete information please visit the Special Collections website: http://library.stanford.edu/depts/spc/spc.html

Special Collections » Manuscript Collection » M1522

Over a period of close to 40 years Eliasaf Robinson, one of the most prominent antiquarian booksellers in Israel, collected books, pamphlets, journals, documents, photographs, posters, maps, architectural plans, and ephemera relating to the early history of the "First Hebrew City," Tel Aviv. The collection includes several Ottoman land deeds (kushans) for lots purchased in 1909 by the first Jewish settlers, who built Tel Aviv as a new Jewish suburb outside of the Arab city of Jaffa.
Taken as a whole, these materials provide invaluable documentation on the political, economic, and cultural development of the Israeli metropolis during its formative decades.

Special Collections » Manuscript Collection » MSS PHOTO 0464

Photographs of pipeline placing, canal digging, construction on the beach, workers and engineers. One album documents the sewage system through Trumpeldor street.

Special Collections » Manuscript Collection » M1001

This collection includes printed programs and other ephemera relating to cultural events in Tel Aviv.

Books on Tel Aviv

Waltham, Mass. : Brandeis University Press ; Hanover, NH : University Press of New England, c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » DS110 .T34 H46 2010
1st ed. Syracuse, N.Y. : Syracuse University Press, 2007.
Green Library » Stacks » DS110 .T34 A935 2007
London : Batsford, 2003.
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » NA1478 .T45 C64 2003
Mahad. sheniyah u-muteḳenet. Tel Aviv : Tsalmaniyah 'Peri or', c2002.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Currently available by paging only » TR113 .I75 W452 2002

Catalog of an exhibition held at the historic Turbine Hall at the Reading power station, Tel Aviv, April 17, 2002.

[Tel Aviv] : Tel Aviv Regional Sewerage Committee, 1950.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TD613 .I75 R57 1950 F

This report, commissioned by the Tel Aviv municipality in 1949, outlines a plan for a regional sewage treatment facility whereby treated
sludge would be used as fertilizer and the reclaimed water piped from the Yarkon river and used to irrigate the Negev desert.

Bauhaus architecture

  1. Green Library » Stacks » NA1478 .T45 B28 2007

  2. ‏[אוצרות ועריכת הקטלוג, שמואל יבין].. 2006

    Green Library » Stacks » NA1478 .J3 B38 2006

  3. Nahoum Cohen. 2003

    Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » NA1478 .T45 C64 2003

  4. von Johannes Peter. 2011

    Green Library » Stacks » NA1478 .T45 P48 2011

  5. Ines Sonder, Werner Möller, Ruwen Egri ; Herausgeber: Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau. 2013

    Green Library » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » NX573.7 .Z8 S653 2013 T

Tel Aviv online