You are here

Think 22: Who Owns the Past? Archaeology, Heritage and Global Conflicts

Think 22 - Winter 2014 - Instructor: Carter, Tara and Hodder, Ian
Last Updated: 14-Feb-2014

This is a brief library resource guide for the students in Think 22: Who Owns the Past? Archaeology, Heritage and Global Conflicts.

Subject Librarians

Bibliographer for Anthropology & Archaeology, Communication & Journalism, Feminist Studies, Lusophone Africa Collections, and Sociology
(650) 724-0848
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Notes from library workshop on Feb. 13, 2014 - Who owns the past?

Thinking Matters 22 Feb. 13, 2014

Library Research Workshop Notes Thinking Matters 22 Feb. 13, 2014

Journal Article Databases:

AATA online.  http://www.aata.getty.edu/Home

AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 132,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. AATA now includes selected subject-specific bibliographies produced as part of the Getty Conservation Institute's own conservation and scientific research projects or as part of specific collaborative projects in which the Institute is involved.

ABI/INFORM - business database, but has articles on archaeology.   http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/3755847

AnthropologyPlus.  http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/7522289 

Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.

AnthroSource - through Wiley Online.  http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5817481

Current issues of Association journals and bulletins, plus archived issues of all the Association's journals, newsletters and bulletins.

Arts & humanities citation index - part of Web of Science Core Collection.   http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/3023273

Avery index to architectural periodicals.  http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/6556511

Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.

Cab Abstracts.  http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/4806475 

CAB Abstracts indexes journal articles in the applied life sciences. It covers the fields of agriculture, forestry, animal and veterinary sciences, human health and communicable diseases, human nutrition, food science, animal health and welfare, microbiology and parasitology, leisure and tourism, plant science and crop science, and the management and conservation of natural resources.

JSTOR.   http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/6745620 

Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.

Project Muse.  http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/3307756

Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.

 Suggested Journal Titles:

International journal of culutral property.  http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/1995372

International journal of heritage studies.  http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/9558896

 Bibliographic / Citation Management tools: 

We talked about Refworks and Zotero, but there are others. Here is a link to information about several options of bibliographic management tools.  http://library.stanford.edu/research/bibliography-management