You are here

Topic guides

Topic guides list print, media, and digital materials selected by subject librarians to focus your research in a specific area. The guides also provide tips on conducting effective research, and links to subject specialists, notable collections, and related Stanford resources.

Guide Created by Last Updated Subject tag
Find printed music Ray Heigemeir 2012-10-22 Music
Research is like cooking (video) Ray Heigemeir 2012-08-13 General reference, Basic research
Find books Ray Heigemeir 2012-10-05 Basic research, General reference
Automotive engineering Sarah E Lester 2012-12-18 Automotive engineering
Organ Ray Heigemeir 2012-09-26 Music, Instrumental music, Musical instruments
Opera Ray Heigemeir 2013-04-11 Music, Opera, Voice
Find Statistics Chris Bourg 2012-12-12 General reference, Basic research, Data
Find dissertations and theses Sarah E Lester 2013-05-06 Basic research, General reference
Energy information Hannah Winkler 2013-04-05 Earth sciences, Energy resource engineering
Find images Anna M. Fishaut 2013-04-09 Art, Basic research, Digital collections, General reference, Images
Find technical reports (Earth and Environmental Sciences) Hannah Winkler 2013-04-08 Earth sciences, Environmental studies
Film studies: basic literature Anna M. Fishaut 2013-05-06 Art, Film and media studies
Find journal abbreviations Sarah E Lester 2012-08-09 General reference, Basic research
Artists' books Anna M. Fishaut 2013-04-22 Art, Art history, Rare books
Energy resources geospatial data Hannah Winkler 2013-04-05 Energy resource engineering, Geographic Information Systems
Chinese art: traditional Anna M. Fishaut 2013-05-03 Art, Art history, Asian studies, Chinese studies
Photography Peter P Blank 2013-05-03 Art, Art history, Photography
Songs and singing Ray Heigemeir 2013-05-07 Music, Voice
Stanford University Athletics Aimee L. Morgan 2012-08-31 Manuscripts and archives, Stanford history
Airfoil Data Helen B Josephine 2012-08-20 Aeronautics and astronautics
Dance Christopher Matson 2013-03-01 Dance, Theater and drama
Tel Aviv History Anna M Levia 2013-02-26 Jewish studies, Hebraica, Judaica
Oil and gas maps Hannah Winkler 2013-04-05 Energy resource engineering, Maps
Aircraft Materials and Avionics Helen B Josephine 2012-10-04 Aeronautics and astronautics
Aeronautics and Astronautics (AA) Helen B Josephine 2012-10-04 Aeronautics and astronautics
AIAA Papers Helen B Josephine 2013-02-20 Aeronautics and astronautics
Electrical Engineering (EE) Helen B Josephine 2012-09-11 Electrical engineering
Holocaust Studies Anna M Levia 2013-05-09 History, Jewish studies, Hebraica, Judaica
Japanese E-Resources Dr Regan Murphy Kao 2013-05-16 Japanese studies
Psychology - General Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Psychology
Concrete and Cement Kathleen Gust 2012-11-13 Civil engineering
United States History Ian Singleton 2012-10-30 History, American history
Earthquake Resources for Civil Engineers Kathleen Gust 2012-11-13 Civil engineering
Civil Engineering Resources Kathleen Gust 2013-02-28 Civil engineering
Environmental Engineering Resources Kathleen Gust 2013-01-09 Environmental engineering, Environmental studies
Materials Science and Engineering Resources Kathleen Gust 2012-11-27 Materials science and engineering
Geothermal Engineering Resources Kathleen Gust 2012-11-27 Energy resource engineering, Environmental engineering
Russia and Eurasia Karen A Rondestvedt 2012-10-08 Central Asian history, Russian history, Ukrainian history, Russian literature, Central Asian studies, Slavic and Eastern European studies, Russian studies, Ukrainian studies
Management Science and Engineering (MS&E) Helen B Josephine 2012-10-19 Management science and engineering
Green Building Resources Kathleen Gust 2013-05-08 Civil engineering, Environmental engineering
Nanotechnology Resources Kathleen Gust 2012-10-08 Nanoscience and nanotechnology, Materials science and engineering
Asian-American History Ian Singleton 2012-10-25 American history, Asian American studies
Working Papers, Technical Reports, Case Studies Helen B Josephine 2012-08-23 Management science and engineering
Animation Tim Edward Noakes 2012-08-30 Film and media studies
Patent Resources Kathleen Gust 2012-09-07 Engineering
Physical Properties of Materials Kathleen Gust 2012-10-08 Materials science and engineering
Affective Science (Psychology) Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Psychology, Affective sciences
Agriculture and Landuse Hannah Winkler 2013-04-05 Agriculture, forestry, and wildlife
Bioengineering Sarah E Lester 2013-02-12 Bioengineering
French History Sarah B Sussman 2012-11-21 French history, Caribbean studies, French studies
Water Resources Rachael M Davis 2013-05-08 Earth systems, Environmental engineering
Cognitive Psychology Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Psychology, Cognition
Developmental Psychology Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Psychology, Developmental psychology
Neuroscience (Psychology) Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Psychology, Neuroscience (psychology)
Social Psychology Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Psychology, Social psychology
Medical device design and regulations Sarah E Lester 2013-02-25 Bioengineering, Materials science and engineering, Mechanical design, Medicine and health
Science and Engineering Technical Reports Kathleen Gust 2012-11-27 Engineering
Commercial Product Information Kathleen Gust 2012-10-08 Industrial engineering, Management science and engineering
Computer science Sarah E Lester 2013-02-14 Computer science
African-American History Ian Singleton 2012-10-25 American history, African American studies
Stanford University Architecture Daniel Hartwig 2012-09-04 Manuscripts and archives, Stanford history
Amateur (HAM) Radio Michael P Nack 2013-02-20 Engineering
American Literary Studies Christopher Matson 2013-03-01 American literary studies
British and Commonwealth Literary Studies Christopher Matson 2013-03-01 British and Commonwealth literary studies
American art: before 1900 Anna M. Fishaut 2013-05-03 Art, Art history, American history
Theater and Performance Studies Christopher Matson 2013-03-01 Theater and drama
History of Science and Technology Henry E Lowood 2012-08-30 History of science and technology
Jewish Studies Resources Anna M Levia 2013-05-08 Images, Manuscripts and archives, Rare books, History, Language and linguistics, Religious studies, Jewish studies, Hebraica, Judaica
Film and Media Studies Henry E Lowood 2012-08-30 Film and media studies
Avant-garde Films Tim Edward Noakes 2012-08-30 Film and media studies
Game Studies Henry E Lowood 2012-08-30 Digital collections, Computer science
Feature Films Tim Edward Noakes 2012-08-30 Film and media studies
Film Studies Tim Edward Noakes 2012-08-30 Film and media studies
Documentary Films Tim Edward Noakes 2012-08-30 Film and media studies
Educational Films Tim Edward Noakes 2012-08-30 Film and media studies
Television Studies, Television News Tim Edward Noakes 2012-08-30 Film and media studies
Sociology Regina Lee Roberts 2013-05-13 Sociology
Chinese Biographies Zhaohui Xue 2012-09-04 Chinese studies
Anthropology Regina Lee Roberts 2013-04-05 Anthropology
Career Resources for Chemists and Chemical Engineers Grace Baysinger 2013-05-24 Chemistry, Chemical engineering
Chemical Engineering Grace Baysinger 2012-09-02 Chemical engineering
Chemical Engineering Resources for Students Grace Baysinger 2013-05-24 Chemical engineering
Inorganic Chemistry Grace Baysinger 2013-04-11 Chemistry, Inorganic chemistry
Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Grace Baysinger 2012-09-02 Chemistry, Nanoscience and nanotechnology, Chemical engineering
Organic Chemistry Grace Baysinger 2013-04-11 Chemistry, Organic chemistry
Physical Chemistry Grace Baysinger 2013-04-17 Chemistry, Physical chemistry
Physical Properties for Chemists and Chemical Engineers Grace Baysinger 2012-09-02 Chemistry, Chemical engineering
Polymer Science and Engineering Grace Baysinger 2012-09-02 Chemistry, Polymer science and engineering, Chemical engineering
Scientific and Technical Communication Grace Baysinger 2012-10-06 Chemistry, Engineering, Chemical engineering
Science and Technology News Grace Baysinger 2012-09-02 Chemistry, Chemical engineering
Energy Resources for Chemists and Chemical Engineers Grace Baysinger 2012-10-03 Chemistry, Chemical engineering
Geologic maps Hannah Winkler 2013-04-05 Geology, Maps
Topographic maps Hannah Winkler 2013-04-05 Earth sciences, Maps, Environmental studies
Feminism and contemporary art Anna M. Fishaut 2013-05-03 Art, Art history, Art philosophy, Feminist studies
Analytical Chemistry Grace Baysinger 2013-05-05 Chemistry, Analytical chemistry
Mathematics and Statistics Linda Y Yamamoto 2013-02-13 Mathematics and statistics
History of the arts at Stanford Aimee L. Morgan 2012-11-15 Manuscripts and archives, Stanford history
Grants and Funding for Science & Engineering Kathleen Gust 2013-03-25 Aquatic studies, Biology, Chemistry, Earth sciences, Engineering, Environmental studies, Mathematics and statistics, Physics and astronomy
American art: 1900 to present Anna M. Fishaut 2013-03-01 Art, Art history, American history
Yiddish Zachary M Baker 2013-04-01 Jewish studies, Hebraica, Judaica
Soviet military topographic map sets Jane Ingalls 2013-04-05 Maps
Israeli Art Anna M Levia 2012-10-03 Art, Art history, Jewish studies, Hebraica, Judaica
Religious Studies Wojciech Zalewski 2013-05-22 Religious studies
Colonial/Revolutionary History Ian Singleton 2012-09-13
Geophysics Hannah Winkler 2013-04-17 Geophysics
Native American History Ian Singleton 2012-09-13 American history, Native American studies
Design Anna M. Fishaut 2013-05-03 Art, Advertising and media, Art history, Design, Mechanical design, Mechanical engineering, Communication and journalism
African Politics Karen Fung 2012-09-18 African studies
African Statistics Karen Fung 2012-09-18 African studies
African Journal Articles Karen Fung 2012-09-17 African studies
Geochemistry Hannah Winkler 2013-05-24 Geochemistry
Urban Studies Regina Lee Roberts 2012-10-22 Human Geography, Government information, Population studies, Public opinion, Public policy, Sociology
Earth Science Data Repositories Hannah Winkler 2013-04-08
African Music Karen Fung 2012-09-17 African studies
African Film Karen Fung 2012-10-24 African studies
Mechanical Engineering Sarah E Lester 2013-03-12 Mechanical design, Mechanical engineering
Standards Sarah E Lester 2013-04-24 Engineering
African History Karen Fung 2012-09-18 African studies, African documents
Musicals Mimi Tashiro 2012-12-11 Music, Musical theater
Russia and Eurasia: Transliteration & Computer Setup Karen A Rondestvedt 2012-10-26 Central Asian history, Russian history, Ukrainian history, Russian literature, Central Asian studies, Slavic and Eastern European studies, Russian studies, Ukrainian studies
African Photographs Karen Fung 2012-09-24 Photography, African studies
African Health Karen Fung 2012-09-24 African studies
Government Information (Jonsson) Kris Kasianovitz 2013-05-08 Foreign government information, International government organizations, Local government information, State government information, US federal government information
Working with citations Kathryn M Kerns 2012-09-26 General reference
Conceptual art Anna M. Fishaut 2013-05-03 Art, Art history, Art philosophy
Chinese art: Modern and contemporary Anna M. Fishaut 2013-05-03 Art, Art history, Asian studies, Chinese studies
Art history: beginning research Anna M. Fishaut 2013-04-02 Art, Art history
East Central Europe Karen A Rondestvedt 2012-10-08 Baltic history, East European history, Slavic and Eastern European studies, Polish studies
African Law Karen Fung 2012-10-03 African studies
Feminist Studies Regina Lee Roberts 2013-03-08 Feminist studies
Jazz Ray Heigemeir 2013-04-05 Music, Jazz
Find articles Sarah E Lester 2012-10-06 Basic research, General reference
South Asia Collection John Rawlings 2013-03-11 South Asian studies
Travel & Exploration John Rawlings 2012-10-31
Italian History Sarah B Sussman 2013-01-22 Classics, Ancient Greek and Roman culture, Medieval studies, Italian literary studies
Stanford University Oral History Daniel Hartwig 2013-04-15 Manuscripts and archives, Stanford history
Music business and industry Ray Heigemeir 2013-04-03 Music, Economics and business
Language & Linguistics John Rawlings 2013-05-16 Language and linguistics
Philosophy John Rawlings 2013-03-27 Philosophy
Piano Ray Heigemeir 2013-01-24 Music, Instrumental music, Musical instruments
Medieval Studies John Rawlings 2013-05-06 Medieval studies
Critical Theory John Rawlings 2012-10-31 Language and linguistics, Philosophy
French Literature Sarah B Sussman 2012-11-01 Language and linguistics, French literary studies, Caribbean studies, French studies
Latin Dictionaries John Rawlings 2013-04-24 Classics, Medieval studies
Gustave Gimon Collection on French Political Economy Sarah B Sussman 2012-11-19 French history, French studies, Economics and business
Visual History Archive: Testimonies of Holocaust survivors and other witnesses Anna M Levia 2013-03-15 Manuscripts and archives, History, Jewish studies
Find Chinese materials with Pinyin romanization Zhaohui Xue 2012-11-12 Chinese studies
Italian Literature Sarah B Sussman 2012-12-11 Classics, Ancient Greek and Roman culture, Italian history, Italian literary studies, Italian studies
Italian Politics and Political History/Government Documents Sarah B Sussman 2013-03-26 Italian history, International government organizations, Political science, International organizations, International relations and politics, Public opinion, Public policy
German history 2012-12-07 German history, Germanic studies
Research in libraries and archives 2012-12-07 German history, German literary studies, Germanic studies
Children's Books by Guided Reading Level Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-23 Children's literature, Education
Adult Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-08 Education
Elementary Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education
Children's & Young Adult Books -- Awards Kathryn M Kerns 2013-02-26 Children's literature, Education
Children's Books -- Special Collections Kathryn M Kerns 2013-02-26 Children's literature, Education
African Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-08 African studies, Education
Alternative Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-08 Education
Asian Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-08 Asian studies, Education
Science Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education
Assessment in Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education, Developmental psychology
Find online reference Phyllis J Kayten 2013-01-09 General reference
Art Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-08 Art, Education
Anthropology of Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-08 Anthropology, Education
History and Social Science Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 History, Education
Character Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-08 Education
Child Development Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-08 Education, Developmental psychology
Children's Literature Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Children's literature, Education
School Violence Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education, Psychology
Classroom Management Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education, Psychology
Creativity and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education
Curriculum Studies Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education
Discrimination and Equal Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education
Early Childhood Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education
Economics of Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Economics and business, Education
Education Policy Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education, Political science
Education Research Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education
Education and Psychology Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education, Psychology
General biology Michael L Newman 2013-04-22 Biology
Environmental Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Environmental education, Education
African Americans and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-08 Education, Race and ethnicity studies
Catholic Education and Students Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-08 Religious studies, Education
European Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education
Gender and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education, Feminist studies
Guidance and Counseling (Education) Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education, Psychology
Higher Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education
History of Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 History, Education
Indigenous Peoples and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Native American studies, Education, Race and ethnicity studies
International Comparative Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Education
Education Law Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education, Law
Giftedness and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education
Islamic Education and Muslims Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Islam and Islamic Middle East studies, Education
Jewish Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Jewish studies, Education
Religion and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Religious studies, Education
English and Language Arts Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Education
Music Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Music, Education
Mathematics Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Mathematics and statistics, Education
Latin American Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Latin American studies, Education
Latinos and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Chicana/o studies, Education
Leadership in Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Education
LGBT and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Education, LGBT studies
Biodiversity Michael L Newman 2013-02-26 Biology, Earth sciences, Climate and weather, Global ecology
Literacy Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Education
Motivation and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Education, Psychology
Multicultural Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Education, Race and ethnicity studies
Neurosciences and Learning Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Education, Neuroscience (psychology)
Qualitative Research in Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Education
Quantitative Research in Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Education
Gazetteers Jane Ingalls 2013-01-29 Maps
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Jane Ingalls 2013-04-05 Maps
School and Community Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education
Asian Americans and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-08 Education, Race and ethnicity studies
School and Education Reform Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education
Children's Books at Cubberley Library Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-09 Children's literature, Education
Second Language Learning Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education
Cell biology Michael L Newman 2013-04-22 Biology, Genetics, Molecular and cellular biology, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Medicine and health
Social Justice and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education
Sociology of Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education, Sociology
Special Needs Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education
Music research Ray Heigemeir 2013-04-09 Music, Music history
Teaching and Teacher Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education
Technology and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education
Developmental biology Michael L Newman 2013-02-27 Biology, Developmental biology, Medicine and health
Urban Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education
Vocational Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education
World Languages Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-13 Education
Ecology Michael L Newman 2013-04-22 Agriculture, forestry, and wildlife, Biology, Toxicology and chemical safety, Earth sciences, Environmental studies
Philosophy of Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-17 Philosophy, Education
India and Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 South Asian studies, Education
Wetlands and aquatic environments Michael L Newman 2013-02-26 Aquatic studies, Marine biology, Biology, Environmental studies
Immigrant and Migrant Education Kathryn M Kerns 2013-05-10 Education
Decennial Census Manuscript Resources Kris Kasianovitz 2013-03-21 American history, Local government information, State government information, US federal government information
Sleep Science Michael L Newman 2013-02-26 Biology, Neuroscience
Population Biology Michael L Newman 2013-02-26 Biology, Population studies (Biology)
Nucleic acid analysis Michael L Newman 2013-02-28 Biology, Genetics, Molecular and cellular biology
Neurobiology Michael L Newman 2013-02-26 Biology, Neuroscience, Medicine and health, Neuroscience (psychology)
Microbiology Michael L Newman 2013-02-26 Biology, Molecular and cellular biology, Medicine and health
Muybridge (Eadweard) Aimee L. Morgan 2013-02-19 Photography, Images, Manuscripts and archives, American history, Stanford history
Evolutionary biology Michael L Newman 2013-02-26 Biology, Genetics, Population studies (Biology)
Insect biology Michael L Newman 2013-02-26 Agriculture, forestry, and wildlife, Biology, Global ecology
Genetics and genomics Michael L Newman 2013-04-23 Biology, Developmental biology, Genetics, Molecular and cellular biology, Population studies (Biology)
SUL Pre-1600 manuscripts in the Dept. of Special Collections John Rawlings 2013-05-16 Medieval studies, French literary studies, Italian literary studies, Philosophy, Religious studies
SUL holdings of pre-1600 manuscripts in microform, etc. John Rawlings 2013-02-25 French history, German history, History of science and technology, Italian history, Medieval studies, French literary studies, German literary studies, Italian literary studies, Philosophy, Religious studies, British studies, French studies, Germanic studies, Spanish studies, Italian studies
Aerial photographs Jane Ingalls 2013-02-28 Maps
Architectural Construction and Design Kathleen Gust 2013-03-04 Architecture, Civil engineering
Find Special Collections materials Mattie Taormina 2013-05-07 General reference, Manuscripts and archives, Rare books
Stanford family genealogy Daniel Hartwig 2013-03-08 Manuscripts and archives, Stanford history
Lathrop family genealogy Daniel Hartwig 2013-05-09 Manuscripts and archives, Stanford history
Classics John Rawlings 2013-05-03 Classics
Pop music Ray Heigemeir 2013-04-01 Music, Popular music
Early Printing John Rawlings 2013-04-17 Rare books, Classics, History, Literary studies
Monumenta Germaniae Historica John Rawlings 2013-05-06 French history, German history, Italian history, Medieval studies
Catalogue général des manuscrits des bibliothèques publiques des départements John Rawlings 2013-04-01 French history, Medieval studies
Latin Bibles John Rawlings 2013-04-24 Medieval studies, Religious studies
Music of the 20th century Ray Heigemeir 2013-04-15 Music, Music history
Beethoven Ray Heigemeir 2013-04-05 Music, Composers
Anglo-Saxon and Old English John Rawlings 2013-04-17 British and Commonwealth literary studies
Medieval Latin John Rawlings 2013-04-24 Medieval studies
Environmental Policy; Environment & Natural History (Green Library Collection) John Rawlings 2013-05-03 Human Geography, Environmental studies