Home»Guides»From Trash Talk to Toxic Discourse: Rhetorics of Waste
From Trash Talk to Toxic Discourse: Rhetorics of Waste
PWR 1GDS - Spring 2014 - Instructor: Stentiford, D.
A guide to resources for PWR 1GDS: From Trash Talk to Toxic Discourse: Rhetorics of Waste
Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument. When searching in the SearchWorks catalog for additional material try these Subject search terms: ecology, "Nature Effect of human beings on.", "Environmental ethics.", "Sustainable development." and other similar ones.
More than 250 entries that place new communication technology, multimedia, entertainment and e-commerce within their social context. Each subject is examined in depth in a single, coherent article and the Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive, A-Z reference on the ongoing revolution in communications.
E-book with practical advice alongside numerous examples to aid learning. Makes the preparation of documentation much easier for all students. The steps to writing abstracts, theses, journal papers, funding bids, literature reviews, and more. Written in modular format, so you only need to access the relevant chapters.
Helps scientists write papers for scientific journals. Using the key parts of typical scientific papers (Title, Abstract, Introduction, Visuals, Structure, and Conclusions), it shows through numerous examples, how to achieve the essential qualities required in scientific writing, namely being clear, concise, convincing, fluid, interesting, and organized. To enable the writer to assess whether these parts are well written from a reader's perspective, the book also offers practical metrics in the form of six checklists.
This book has two main parts, corresponding to the type of scientific communication task at hand: addressing peers and the general public, plus a third briefer section on how to inform decision-makers. This book is geared to engineers and scientists, educators and journalists, science administrators and the medical profession, editors and publishers, whether native or non-native-speakers - in short to anyone having to convert scientific data into an easily intelligible and interesting narrative.
Investigating Science Communication in the Information Age is a collection of newly-commissioned chapters by leading science communication scholars. It addresses current theoretical, practical and policy developments in science communication, including recent calls for greater openness and transparency; and engagement and dialogue on the part of professional scientists with members of the public.
Below are suggested databases for locating articles. Suggested search terms could be either single keywords, such as fracking, or phrases like "global warming".
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
Covers such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.
The Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science works to enhance understanding of science by helping train the next generation of scientists and health professionals to communicate more effectively with the public, public officials, the media, and others outside their own discipline.
Discover, watch and listen to historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. A collaboration between the Library of Congress, WGBH Boston and the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.
These sites are sources of high-quality, well-cataloged science images. The use of digital images is often subject to copyright and/or licensing restrictions. Consult each site's information on rights and reproductions--especially if you plan to use an image in a publication.It is equally important that you cite images properly. See the "Citing images" section of this guide.
"Offering a unique single source of knowledge, the site contains comprehensive articles and videos on how to use the best social media tools, along with original case studies, reviews of the latest industry research and advice direct from the world’s leading experts." - Society for New Communications Research.
Founded in 1974 by Lester Brown as an independent research institute devoted to global environmental concerns, Worldwatch was quickly recognized by opinion leaders around the world for its foresight and accessible, fact-based analysis.