Truth, Lies, and Contestation: Rhetorics of Sexual Victimization and Survival

PWR 1LC - Spring 2018 - Instructor: Pittock, S.

A guide for PWR 1LC: Truth, Lies, and Contestation: Rhetorics of Sexual Victimization and Survival

Primary and Secondary Sources: Good places to start

Primary Sources

 

Secondary Sources

 

Background/Reference Sources

You can find most of the information in these resources somewhere online but the advantage of looking in a volumen is that you get the context of the topic in perspective of the larger concept.

New Haven : Yale University Press, ©2004.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Online resource - great section by Carol Sanger on "Consensual Sex and the Limits of Harrassment Law"; Louise Fitzgerald on "Legal and Psychology Constructions of Women's Resistance to Sexual Harrassment"; Katherine Abrams on "Subordination and Agency in Sexual Harrassment Law"; Jane Larson on "Sexual Labor" (How Unwelcomeness works in the Workplace); Robin West on "Unwelcome Sex"All with great references in cluding cases and case law.
Thousand Oaks, CA : SAGE Publications, 2008.
Green Library » Information Center » K346 .E53 2008 V.1
See sections on Sexual Violence; stalking
New York ; Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The debate between feminist and evolutionary scholars about sexual violence has resulted in polarized ideas about whether sex offenders’ motives are sexual, nonsexual, or both. Spivak examines the history of this controversy, and then evaluates national victim survey and police data to test hypotheses about victim-targeting in rape incidents. The primary question is whether offenders preferentially select victims based on youth, or more indiscriminately based on convenience and proximity, examining the age distribution of victims and offenders across relationships and other measures of routine activity. Results reveal that offenders may be more sexually motivated than implied by some feminist assertions, since they appear to specifically target younger victims, but these facts are explainable within a criminological framework that does not require a direct evolutionary adaptation. This secondary source is valuable for it's use of primary statistical data. You can access this data yourself to make different conclusions.
Cullompton, UK ; Portland, Or. : Willan, c2009.
Law Library (Crown) » Basement » HV6558 .R34 2009
 This book aims to take stock of current thinking and research about rape and the way it is handled in practice within the criminal justice system, and to challenge some of the widely held but inaccurate beliefs about rape. It brings together leading researchers in the field from psychology, sociology and law, considering new research and presenting new data from a strong theoretical and contextual base. The main focus of the book is on adult victims of rape, with chapters exploring such issues as rape and the media, the use of alcohol and drugs in rape, police decision making on rape cases, conviction patterns in rape trials, and interviewing victims of rape and sexual assault. 

Recommended Databases

The databases near the end of this list are databases of government information -- congressional, law, reports and articles.

[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Use this database for research on a wide variety of subjects. Results include scholarly journal articles; magazine articles; book reviews; newspaper articles.
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A database of articles from newspapers. This includes general databases, such as Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, US Hispanic Newsstand, as well as individual titles, both Historical Newspapers, and the current (and historical) . Use the CHANGE DATABASES link to limit your search to particular newspapers, time ranges, or news collections (Ethnic, Hispanic, Gender, Historical Newspapers; Women's Magazine Archive‎  (1846 - 2005); American Periodicals  1740 and 1940; 
[Bronx, NY] : H.W. Wilson ; [Dublin, Ohio] : OCLC [distributor], [199-?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Citations to articles (including book reviews) from 620 legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. Coverage: 1981-present.
[Bethesda, Md.] : Congressional Information Service
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Kanopy is a leading distributor of tertiary educational videos (streaming videos and DVDs) within Australia and this database is a portal to videos which they make available for individual purchase. Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos. Includes also some feature films, including the Criterion collection.
Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey, [199-]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides online access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
International Public Affairs Information Service
[Stamford, CT] : Softline Information, Inc., [1998 or 1999]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Buffalo, NY : William S. Hein & Co., [2000]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Everything you need for legal research - includes nationa and international law, supreme court library, case law, and much more
[Bethesda, Md.] : Congressional Information Service ; [Miamisburg, Ohio] : Proquest
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Government Printing Office.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Washington, D.C.] : [CQ Press]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Washington, D.C.] : CQ Press, 2002-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Monterey, CA : Center for Homeland Defense & Security, Naval Postgraduate School, [2005-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Bibliographic Management

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking