You are here

Unintended Consequences

ESF 10/10A - Fall 2016 - Instructor: Yamboliev, I
Last Updated: 19-Sep-2016

A guide to resources for Education Self Fashioning ESF10/10A: Unintended Consequences.

Subject Librarians

Reference and Instruction Librarian
(650) 736-8341
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background / Reference sources

Use background sources for getting up-to-date with historical backgrounds or previous controversies on your topic of interest.

New York, NY : Oxford University Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The online versions of the Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy, Political Science, Classical studies, Religion, Archaeology, Business & Management, Economics & Finance, and Literature. Contains 2,000+ in-depth essays by the world's leading scholars
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full text  of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press including dictionaries, quotation collections, and subject references.

Research databases

To locate additional databases by name or topic, use the SearchWorks online catalog database list, or consult with the IC desk at Green Library or a librarian.

Global ed. [Ann Arbor, Mich. : UMI]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains article citations and some full text articles from business and management publications worldwide, covering advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.  Includes the Wall Street journal.
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides pdf articles from core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs.
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study

Books and Film

Books can offer a more in-depth exploration of a topic than is possible in an article.  Film explores topics in a different, but equally valid method. these are only a sample of potential titles you might explore.  For additional films you can also explore the streaming videos at Kanopy.

Does Regulation Kill Jobs? reveals the complex reality of regulation. Leading legal scholars, economists, political scientists, and policy analysts show that individual regulations can at times induce employment shifts across firms, sectors, and regions-but regulation overall is neither a prime job killer nor a key job creator.
New York : Norton, 1994.
Law Library (Crown) » Basement » KF9685.Z9 F67 1994
Like many people involved in the criminal justice system, former Philadelphia judge Lois G. Forer believes the recent rush to mandatory sentencing eliminates judicial discretion and claims it disserves society. Prisons, she argues, should be used not to punish criminals but to protect the public from dangerous people; alternative sentences like reparations and restitution must be pursued for others.
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2011.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » TP1120 .F74 2011
This probing book looks at how plastic built the modern world-- and the price the world has paid for plastic
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A short ifilm focusing on the impact of the Rockefeller Mandatory Minimum Drug Laws on families and communities in New York City.  Follows the "The Mothers' of the New York Disappeared", who protest to change these laws.
London : Reaktion Books, 2007.
Green Library » Stacks » JZ6300 .H34 2007
After a war ends military, political, and economic involvement in the 'defeated' country continued long afterwards, producing profound and unexpected consequences for both parties.  Uses the example of ten major wars fought by the United States.
Lanham, MD : University Press of America, c2011.
Green Library » Stacks » BF199 .E76 2011
Using a mixed-method approach, Unintended Consequences of Human Actions documents a wide range of unintended and unanticipated consequences of human actions.
London : Springer, 2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This book provides insight into unintended, negative impacts of renewable energy and how they can be avoided. In order to steer away from the pitfalls and unintended effects, it is essential that the necessary knowledge is available to the developers and decision makers engaged in renewable energy.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This film explores how the role of ethics in management practices, global marketing, and corporate ethics and social responsibility differs from culture to culture.
This book uncovers the hidden rules that shape the balance between the weak and the mighty and the powerful and the dispossessed. In it the author challenges how we think about obstacles and disadvantages, offering a new interpretation of what it means to be discriminated against, or suffer from any number of other apparent setbacks.
1st Scribner hardcover ed. New York : Scribner, 2010.
Green Library » Stacks » HC79 .E5 R6312 2010
Green Gone Wrong takes the reader into forests, fields, factories, and boardrooms around the world to draw out the unintended consequences, inherent obstacles, and successes of eco-friendly consumption.