You are here

Urban education

Last Updated: 15-Sep-2014

This guide is for those interested in urban education, both research and practice.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Background information

Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC1099 .E38 2012 V.1
"The major aim of this encyclopedia is to describe the most important concepts, theories, research, policies, case studies, and programs at the pre-school through the postsecondary levels and their implications for educational reform. Diversity is defined broadly in this encyclopedia and includes race, ethnicity, social class, gender, sexual orientation (LGBT), religion, language, and exceptionality, which encompasses giftedness and disability." p. xlviii
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC5131 .H355 2014
Dordrecht, Netherlands : Springer, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC5115 .I57 2007 PT.1
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC5131 .P7 2006 V.1
Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LA210 .A15 2008 V.1

New books

Chicago : Haymarket Books, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC196.5 .U6 V55 2014
Cambridge, MA : Harvard Education Press, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC34.4 .I58 2014
2nd edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC5131 .A56 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1397 .G73 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC5101 .R35 2014
Practice-oriented.

Journals

[Beverly Hills, Calif., Sage Publications]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .U72 V.42 2007
"This ground-breaking publication provides thought-provoking commentary on key issues from gender-balanced and racially diverse perspectives."
New York, APS Publications.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .U723 V.41:NO.1 2009
"A publication of the Center for Urban Education."

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related Databases

[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Websites