You are here

The Virtue of Vice and the Vice of Virtue: The Rhetoric of Criminality

PWR 1DH - Winter 2015 - Instructor: Hunter, D.
Last Updated: 18-Nov-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 1DH: The Virtue of Vice and the Vice of Virtue: The Rhetoric of Criminality. Course topics include: how criminals are imagined and presented by popular media; what lawbreakers have to say about themselves and their actions; costs and benefits of retributive, restorative, and transformative justice systems.

Background/Reference Sources

Reference materials can be good resources for subject overviews and a means to collect useful keywords. The bibliographies frequently include key texts and thinkers that are associated with a specific subject. To discover more reference materials held in the Stanford Libraries, search Reference Universe, Searchworks, consult with a librarian, or browse the libraries' reference collections.

Tips for using reference sources:

1. Look at the cross-references that many entries provide. These can be helpful in pointing you toward a related or more accurate idea/term.

2. One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.

[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles."
New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF531 .R445 2010 V.1
Los Angeles : Sage, c2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HQ1115 .E54 2009 V.1
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » JC571 .E673 2009 V.1
Los Angeles : Sage, c2008.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » HM1121 .E57 2008 V.1
Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Los Angeles : Sage Publications, c2008.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » HC110 .P6 H36 2008
New York : Oxford University Press, 2003.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » HC15 .O94 2003 V.1
Oxford [U.K.] ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Law Library (Crown) » Reference (non-circulating) » K50 .O94 2009 V.1
Princeton, NJ : Princeton University Press, c2007.
Green Library » Stacks » HC110 .P6 L36 2007
2nd ed. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » JZ1242 .W67 2010

Selected Subject Search Terms using the Searchworks Catalog

click on these links to see catalog listings for these subjects.)

Databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

"Provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present."

Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

"Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs."

[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

"Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date."

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

"Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. "

[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

"Access to more than 4,000 periodicals. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines."

[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004

"Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers."

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

"Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy."

Proquest Social Sciences Database--Searches across multiple social science subject databases. Among those included: Alternative Presses; Psycinfo; Sociological Abstracts; Social Services Abstracts; International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS); ERIC (Education); PAIS (Public Policy)."