You are here

What Lies Beneath: The Rhetoric of the Underworld

PWR 1GTA - Spring 2013 - Instructor: Tackett, J.
Last Updated: 25-Apr-2013

A guide to resources for PWR 1GTA: What Lies Beneath: The Rhetoric of the Underworld. Topics include: paradigms of good and evil, justice and punishment; narratives of inclusion and exclusion, social separation and hierarchy.

Subject Librarians

Sr. Reference Specialist; Summer Instruction Coordinator
(650) 724-6980
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background/Reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument. Note the Library Location of these materials. Many are in the Information Center collection on the 1st floor of Green East.

Westport, Conn : Greenwood Press, c2000.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HV6446 .K43 2000
1st American ed. London ; New York : DK Pub., 2007.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BL312 .W55 2007
2nd ed. Detroit : Macmillan Reference USA, 2005.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BL31 .E57 2005 V.1
Also a searchable e-reference book.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2000.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » GT3150 .T25 2000
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BL545 .A24 2009
Also available as a searchable e-resource
Oxford : ABC-Clio, 2005.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HV6252 .K45 2005

Some Interesting Titles - take a look!

Here are some books that touch on the topics you are considering.

1st ed. New York : William Morrow, c2011.
Business Library » Stacks » HV6627 .C37 2011
We have 3 copies of this book - in Medical, Law and Business Library
1st ed. New York : St. Martin's Press, c1996.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HV6769 .D67 1996
1st ed. New York : Doubleday, c2009.
Green Library » Stacks » HQ281 .K44 2009
New York : P. Lang, c1999.
Green Library » Stacks » PN56 .G7 S47 1999

Suggested Databases

Besides the selected general and subject-specific databases listed here , try these databases for Articles about the Underworld, Criminality, and "otherness".

Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
EVERYONE SHOULD START HERE. Select Academic Search Premier. And add others (Business Source Complete, Econlit, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, Film and Television literature Index, Anthropology Plus, ATLA Religion, Communication and Mass Media, Womens Studies International, and others, to focus on your areas of particular interest.
Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Evanston, Ill.] : American Theological Association, [Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO Information Services
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[New York] : H.W. Wilson, 1987-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
[Stamford, Conn.] : Softline Information, [2001]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
[Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Bethesda, Md.] : Congressional Information Service ; [Miamisburg, Ohio] : Proquest
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Look at this database for US congressional hearings, reports, laws relating to "Trafficking" (sex trafficking and organ trafficking), "Mafia", "Organized Crime", "Atomic Bomb", "Nuclear Weapons" , "Prisons", "rap music", "censorship", and more

Selected Searchable E-Journals

When you search a particular journal, you don't need to use as many keywords in your search. You already know the focused perspective of the journal by its description.

Guildford, Surrey : Butterworth Scientific ltd., 1983-
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » HT170 .C54 V.11 1994
Electronic resource: Search keyword: underground for over 100 articles on cities' underground planning, space, development, challenges, and more
[Dordrecht] : Kluwer Academic Publishers
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)