You are here

Writing instruction

Last Updated: 5-Dec-2014

This guide is for those interested in writing instruction--both research and practice.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Background information

"Until now, practitioners have had access to very few detailed descriptions of response to intervention (RTI) methods and the effective role they can play in special education. The Handbook of Response to Intervention fills this critical information gap. In a single, comprehensive volume, more than 90 expert scholars and practitioners join together to provide a highly usable guide to the essentials of RTI assessment and identification as well as research-based interventions for improving students' reading, writing, oral, and math skills. Each chapter explores crucial issues, defines key concepts, and answers real-world questions regarding implementation..."
New York : Guilford Press, c2006.
Green Library » Stacks » PE1404 .H358 2006
"bringing together critical reviews of the major theoretical, methodological, and instructional advances that have occurred over the last 15 years in the field of writing research, providing a 21st-century look at writing and writing research."

New books

Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1576 .L255 2013 T
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2369 .S65 2014
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139 .W7 T74 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1576 .F657 2014 F
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050 .K395 2014
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC4085 .G65 2014
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1631 .R62 2013
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.

Journals

Norwood, N.J. : Ablex Pub. Corp., c1992-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PE1128 .J68 V.18 2009
Washington, DC : Hemisphere Pub. Corp.,
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

La Jolla, Calif. : Sociological Abstracts, Inc., 1985- 2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » P1 .L26 V.27 PT.2 1993

Curriculum resources

Portsmouth, NH : FirstHand, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LB1576 .C35 2006 CD-ROM
Portsmouth, NH : FirstHand, [c2003].
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LB1576 .C35 2003 CD-ROM

Websites