You are here

Writing 'Science': Fact, Fiction, and Everything Between

PWR 2SB - Winter 2014 - Instructor: Brawn, S.
Last Updated: 16-Jan-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 2SB: Writing 'Science': Fact, Fiction, and Everything Between.

Subject Librarians

Sarah Lester
Engineering Librarian for Outreach, Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 725-1018

Background information/reference

Following are some reference sources that you can use to find background information on your topic as well as other references.

Santa Barbara, Calif. : Libraries Unlimited, c2010.
Green Library » Information Center » PS374 .S35 H43 2010
[United States] : McGraw-Hill, [2000?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2007.
Green Library » Information Center » PN3433.4 .B73 2007
New York : Facts on File, c2001.
Green Library » Information Center » PN1995.9 .S26 H38 2001
London ; New York : Routledge, 2010.
Green Library » Stacks » PN3433.4 .F54 2010
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2005.
Green Library » Lane Reading Room: Reference » PN3435 .S82 2005
2nd ed. Westport, Conn. : Libraries Unlimited, 2002.
Green Library » Information Center » Z5917 .S36 B87 2002
New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, c2007.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » Q125 .T574 2007
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
Green Library » Information Center » HM846 .S43 2005
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2005.
Green Library » Lane Reading Room: Reference » PN56 .S8 S86 2005 V.1
This encyclopedia additionally provides entries on numerous special topics, including: alien abduction; curses; dreams and nightmares; fantasy tales; feminism; the supernatural in different religious traditions; Munsey Magazine; occultism; Southern Gothic; urban legends; voodoo; and werewolves. This is the most exhaustive work of its kind which provides information about major and minor authors and critics of supernatural literature and discusses important works. It covers key topics, including folklore, myths, and literary themes and draws on current scholarship. 

Searchworks subject search: "Science fiction Authorship"

This search of the subject term "Science fiction Authorship" returns more than 75 results. Click on the link to see all the results. 

  1. Frank Herbert ; edited and with introductions by Tim O'Reilly. 1987

  2. Barry B. Longyear. 1983

  3. Ben Bova. 1981

  4. by Reginald Bretnor ... [et al.] ; edited by Reginald Bretnor. 1976

  5. Margaret Wander Bonanno. 1996

Suggested databases

In addition to the Selected Databases try these for more information on the medical narrative. Remember to use the find it at SFX Stanford links to find full text of articles.

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Palo Alto, Calif. : Research Libraries Information Network, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Norwood, MA : SilverPlatter Information,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » NONEAQD4378

Science and technology databases

[New York?] : Thomson Reuters.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, patents, and books. Covers 5,000+ journals.
New York [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z5851 .E62 V.95:PT.10 1996
References over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Covers all areas of engineering including environmental, electrical, and industrial.
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes published literature in physics, electrical/electronics engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production, manufacturing and mechanical engineering as well as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics.
[S.l.] : National Library of Medicine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes medical information and the database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). Contains over 16 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, nursing, dentistry, human health.
Oak Ridge, TN : U.S. Dept. of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Searches over 36 databases and 1,850 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes authors who have been cited in current literature across 100 scientific disciplines. Key feature is the ability to search by who is citing various papers by other authors