 |
The AMICO library
Note : Also known as: AMICA. Also available through Stanford's Luna Insight browser
|
Art, Architecture and Design |
|
| Description : | The AMICO (Art Museum Image Consortium) Library is an online collection of digital documentation of works of art from around the world. Images, text and multimedia represent a broad range of works of art in AMICO highlighting the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms. Cultures and time periods represented range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. Each slide has an accompanying catalog record in the database |
| Subjects (LC) : | Art-Databases |
| Other Titles : | AMICA AMICO Insight images from the AMICO library, Title bar title: |
|
 |
AnthropologyPlus
|
Anthropology and Archaeology; Art, Architecture and Design; General and Reference Works |
|
| Description : | Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present |
| Subjects (LC) : | Anthropology-Bibliography-Indexes; Anthropology-Bibliography-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | Anthropological index Anthropological literature Anthropology plus |
|
 |
Art full text
Note : Includes: Art Index and Art Abstracts. Coverage: 1984-
|
Art, Architecture and Design |
|
| Description : | Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on art and related disciplines from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published throughout the world. There is full-text coverage for selected periodicals. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with 1994; full-text coverage begins with 1997. It is an online counterpart to: Art Index, published in print from 1929. For indexing of articles covering the period 1929-1984, there is a related database, Art Retrospective |
| Subjects (LC) : | Architecture-Abstracts-Periodicals; Architecture-Indexes-Periodicals; Art-Abstracts-Periodicals; Art-Indexes-Periodicals; City planning-Abstracts-Periodicals; City planning-Indexes-Periodicals; Design-Abstracts-Periodicals; Design-Indexes-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | Wilson art full text, Also known as: |
|
 |
Art retrospective
Note : Coverage: 1929-1984
|
Art, Architecture and Design; General and Reference Works |
|
| Description : | Index of 420 art publications, including important yearbooks and select museum bulletins, from around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. It is an online counterpart to the print publication Art Index. For indexing, abstracting, and selected full-text coverage for the years 1984 to present, there is a related database, Art Full Text |
| Subjects (LC) : | Architecture-Indexes-Periodicals; Art-Indexes-Periodicals; City planning-Indexes-Periodicals; Design-Indexes-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | Art index retrospective |
|
 |
Artbibliographies modern
Note : Also known as: ABM
|
Art, Architecture and Design; General and Reference Works |
|
| Description : | Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries are added each year. Published with title LOMA from 1969-1971 |
| Subjects (LC) : | Art, Modern-Abstracts-20th century; Art, Modern-Bibliography-20th century |
| Other Titles : | ABM Art bibliographies modern Artbibliogr. mod Artbibliographies modern |
|
 |
Artnet
|
Art, Architecture and Design |
|
| Description : | Features a collection of resources for art dealers and art buyers, presented by the Artnet Worldwide Corporation. Includes categories such as artists, galleries and museums. Includes database of auction prices, available to subscribers, and a monthly electronic publication: Artnet newsletter. Contains a site search engine |
| Subjects (LC) : | Art galleries, Commercial-Directories; Art museums-Directories; Art-Databases-Prices; Art-Directories; Art-Economic aspects; Art-Marketing; Artists-Directories |
| Other Titles : | Artnet newsletter Artnet.com, [:Nov. 18, 1998:] |
|
 |
Arts & humanities citation index
|
Art, Architecture and Design; Communication and Journalism; General and Reference Works |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Arts-Indexes; Arts-Periodicals; Humanities-Indexes; Humanities-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | Arts & humanities citation index (Compact disc ed.) Arts & humanities citation index, (Compact disc ed.) Arts and humanities citation index Arts humanit. cit. index, (Compact disc ed.) |
|
 |
ARTSTOR
|
Art, Architecture and Design |
|
| Description : | Searchable database of more than 300,000 images applicable different times, cultures, and disciplines. Combination of images, data, and texts provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning, and researching capabilities. Can view and analyze images through features such as zooming and panning |
| Subjects (LC) : | Art-Databases-History |
|
 |
AskART.com
|
Art, Architecture and Design |
|
| Description : | A database of information about North American artists, including names, birth and death dates, state or local affiliation, fields in which artist worked, book and periodical references to artist, dealers and museums where works may be viewed, auction prices of works, some biographical details, etc. Aims at being an unbiased source of information about the commercial value of each artist's work through a comprehensive system of comparables. Database began construction in 1983 |
| Subjects (LC) : | Art, American; Art, American-Valuation; Art, Canadian; Art, Mexican; Artists-Databases; Artists-United States; North America; Painting, American-Valuation; Sculptors-Databases |
| Other Titles : | Artists bluebook |
|
 |
Avery index to architectural periodicals
|
Art, Architecture and Design |
|
| Description : | Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from 1934 to the present |
| Subjects (LC) : | Architecture-Indexes-Periodicals |
|
 |
Bibliography of the history of art
Note : Also known as: BHA
|
Art, Architecture and Design |
|
| Description : | A database search engine covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. BHA indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Includes coverage of: Repertoire international de la litterature de l'art (RILA) (published from 1975 to 1989); and: Repertoire d'art et archeologie (RAA) for the years 1973 to 1989 |
| Subjects (LC) : | Art-Abstracts; Art-Abstracts-Periodicals; Art-Bibliography; Art-Bibliography-Periodicals; Art-Indexes; Art-Indexes-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | BHA Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art Bibliography of the history of art (Online) |
|
 |
British cartoon prints
|
Art, Architecture and Design; British and Commonwealth History |
|
| Description : | "The approximately ten thousand cartoons in the British Cartoon Collection at the Library of Congress were published primarily between 1780 to 1830, an era dominated by the prodigious talents and prolific efforts of such famous caricaturists as James Gillray and George Cruikshank. The cartoons highlight aspects of British political life, including tensions with its colonies and other nations, as well as society, fashion, manners, and theater. Currently descriptions for about twenty-five per cent of the British Cartoon Collection are available online. A portion of the online records are accompanied by digital images--generally those for which reproductions have been requested." |
| Subjects (LC) : | Caricatures and cartoons-Catalogs-Great Britain; Drawing-Catalogs-England; Engraving-Catalogs-Great Britain; Great Britain-Catalogs-History |
| Other Titles : | About the British cartoon prints, Title appears on web page as: Title on HTML header:, Cartoon prints, British, about |
|
 |
Chicana art
|
Art, Architecture and Design; Race and Ethnicity; Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Mexican American art; Women artists |
| Other Titles : | Insight images from Chicana art, HTML source title: |
|
 |
Chicano database
|
American History; American Literary Studies; Art, Architecture and Design; Language; Race and Ethnicity; Sociology; Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies |
|
| Description : | Portions of the database were published and sold separately as the Chicano periodical index; the Chicano index; Arte Chicano; the Chicano anthology index; and the Chicana studies indexBeginning with Version 3.5, the coverage of the Chicano database on CD-ROM expanded to includes bibliographic information on Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American refugees as well as persons of Mexican heritage. Citations begin in mid-1960s and index terms are from the Chicano thesarus and are built into the system |
| Subjects (LC) : | American literature-Indexes-Mexican American authors; Central Americans-Indexes; Cuban Americans-Indexes; Hispanic Americans-Indexes-Periodicals; Mexican American art-Indexes; Mexican American literature (Spanish)-Indexes; Mexican American periodicals-Indexes; Mexican Americans-Indexes; Mexican Americans-Indexes-Periodicals; Puerto Ricans-Indexes |
| Other Titles : | Chicana studies index Chicano database Chicano index Chicano periodical index |
|
 |
Design and applied arts index
Note : Also known as: DAAI
|
Art, Architecture and Design; Engineering |
|
| Description : | International index to over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops and firms. DAAI also includes two supplementary databases: Education Directory, an international directory of universities and colleges that offer courses in design and craft subjects and the Periodical Directory, an international directory of design and craft journals. Research articles are covered, along with topical news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviewsMajor areas of coverage include: Product design, Interior design, Graphic design, Ceramics, Glass, Jewellery, Textiles, Furniture, Fashion and clothing, Illustration, Typography and type design, Metalsmithing, Retail design, Architecture, Industrial design, Sustainability, Advertising, Packaging, Theatre, Vehicles, Exhibitions, Book design, Web design, Computer aided design, Computer graphics, Animation, Garden design, Landscape architecture, Urban design, Education, Design management, Inclusive design, Universal design, Design history |
| Subjects (LC) : | Decorative arts-Directories; Decorative arts-Indexes; Design, Industrial-Directories; Design, Industrial-Indexes; Design-Indexes; Graphic arts-Directories; Graphic arts-Indexes |
| Other Titles : | DAAI Design & applied arts index Design and applied arts index (Online) |
|
 |
Film & television literature index
|
Art, Architecture and Design; Film and Media Studies; Language |
|
| Description : | "Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews"--Database description screen |
| Subjects (LC) : | Motion pictures-Databases; Motion pictures-Periodicals; Television-Databases; Television-Indexes-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | CASC |
|
 |
Film literature index
|
Art, Architecture and Design; Film and Media Studies; General and Reference Works; Language |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Motion pictures-Periodicals; Television-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | FLI Film literature index |
|
 |
Index of Christian art database
|
Art, Architecture and Design; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | Based on The index of Christian art, a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects to 1400 begun at Princeton University in 1917. The database contains works indexed by the archive since 1991. No images are presently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Art, Byzantine-Databases; Art, Medieval-Databases; Christian art and symbolism-Databases-Medieval, 500-1500; Christian art and symbolism-Databases-To 500 |
| Other Titles : | ICA database Index of Christian art Welcome to the Index of Christian art database, Title on database opening screen: Welcome to the Index of Christian art, Title on home page: |
|
 |
Index to nineteenth century American art periodicals /
|
Art, Architecture and Design; General and Reference Works |
|
| Description : | v. 1. Citations -- v. 2. Author/subject index |
| Subjects (LC) : | American periodicals-Indexes; Art-Indexes-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | Index to 19th century American art periodicals |
|
 |
ISI web of knowledge
Note : Includes: Web of Science, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, BIOSIS, Journal Citation Reports, Derwent Innovations Index, and Zoological Record
|
Art, Architecture and Design; Science (General); Social Sciences (General) |
|
| Description : | Web of Knowledge is an integrated search interface with access to scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, as well as to search and analysis tools. Cross-database searching is enabled for the citation databases (Arts & Humanities 1975+, Social Sciences 1956+, and Science 1900+), Derwent Innovations Index (1963+), BIOSIS (1926+), Medline (1950+), and Zoological Record (1864+). This combined resource has bibliographic records from journals, conferences, patents, and other publication types, as well as cited references, and is updated weekly. Functionality includes browsing of cited authors, cited reference searching, personal preferences, search history, alerts, and the ability to display, e-mail or download references.) |
| Subjects (LC) : | Artes-Indices; Artes-Indices-Revistas; Arts-Indexes; Arts-Indexes-Periodicals; Chemistry-Indexes; Chemistry-Indexes-Periodicals; Ciencia-Indices; Ciencia-Indices-Revistas; Ciencias sociales-Indices; Ciencias sociales-Indices-Revistas; Humanidades-Indices; Humanidades-Indices-Revistas; Humanities-Indexes; Humanities-Indexes-Periodicals; Science-Indexes; Science-Indexes-Periodicals; Social sciences-Indexes; Social sciences-Indexes-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | Arts & humanities citation index Current contents connect Derwent innovations index ISI essential science indicators ISI journal citation reports ISI web of knowledge (Online) ISI web of science Institute for Scientific information citation databases Institute for Scientific information web of knowledge Science citation index Social sciences citation index Web of knowledge, Also known as: |
|
 |
Letopis izoizdani
|
Art, Architecture and Design; General and Reference Works; Slavic and Eastern European Studies |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Art, Russian-Bibliography; Art-Bibliography |
|
 |
Oxford art online
Note : Grove Art Online -- The Oxford Companion to Western Art -- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics -- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
|
Art, Architecture and Design |
|
| Description : | Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists |
| Subjects (LC) : | Aesthetics-Encyclopedias; Art-Dictionaries; Art-Dictionnaires anglais; Art-Encyclopdies; Art-Encyclopedias; Artistes-Bases de donnes; Artistes-Biobibliographie; Artistes-Dictionnaires anglais; Artists-Dictionaries |
| Other Titles : | Encyclopedia of aesthetics Grove art online Oxford companion to Western art |
|
 |
Oxford reference online
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Art, Architecture and Design; Biology; General and Reference Works; Medieval Studies; Music |
|
| Description : | Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University PressEnglish dictionaries & reference -- Quotations -- Bilingual dictionaries -- Subject reference |
| Subjects (LC) : | Electronic reference sources; Encyclopedias and dictionaries-Databases |
|
 |
Rhizome.org
|
Art, Architecture and Design; Engineering |
|
| Description : | Provides an online platform for the global new media art community to support the creation, presentation, discussion and preservation of contemporary art that uses new technologies in significant ways. The ArtBase archive includes net art, software art, computer games, and documentation of new media performance and installation. All of the art and documentation is available online in the form of Web pages or downloadable files |
| Subjects (LC) : | Art, Modern-21st century; Computer animation; Computer graphics; Computer-aided design; Graphic arts |
|
 |
SCIPIO
Note : Also known as: Art and rare book sales catalogs
|
Art, Architecture and Design; General and Reference Works |
|
| Description : | Descriptive records of art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to scheduled auctions not yet held. Records include the dates and places of sales, the auction houses, sellers, institutional holdings, and titles of works. Updated daily |
| Subjects (LC) : | Art auctions-Indexes-Catalogs; Rare books-Indexes-Catalogs; SCIPIO (Information retrieval system) |
| Other Titles : | Art and rare book sales catalogs |
|
 |
Visual Resources Center's Imagebase
|
Art, Architecture and Design |
|
| Description : | Searchable collection of approximately 38,000 digital images |
| Subjects (LC) : | Art-Databases-History |
| Other Titles : | Stanford VRC Image Base Stanford VRC Imagebase, Also known as: Stanford VRC, HTML header title: Visual Resources Center's Image base |
|
 |
Web of science
|
Art, Architecture and Design; Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; General and Reference Works; Physics and Astronomy; Social Sciences (General) |
|
| Description : | Provides access to the Science citation index expanded from 1900 to the present , Social sciences citation index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & humanities citation index from 1975 to the present |
| Subjects (LC) : | Arts-Indexes; Humanities-Indexes; Science-Indexes; Social sciences-Indexes |
| Other Titles : | Arts & humanities citation index ISI web of knowledge, At head of title: ISI web of science, [:Sept. 27, 2001:] Institute for Scientific Information web of science, Previously known as: Science citation index expanded Social sciences citation index Web of science citation databases, [:Nov. 13, 1998:] |
|
 |
Wilson Web
|
Art, Architecture and Design; Education; General and Reference Works; History; Language; Law; Social Sciences (General) |
|
| Description : | Search interface to abstracting, indexing, and full text access to H.W. Wilson databases. Indexing coverage generally begins in 1982, abstracting in 1984, and full text in 1994
Search options include:
Art full text --
OmniFile full text mega subset includes indexing, abstracting, and complete full text access to:
Education full text -- |
| Subjects (LC) : | Periodicals-Abstracts; Periodicals-Indexes |
| Other Titles : | H.W. Wilson Information Retrieval System for the World Wide Web WilsonWeb |
|
| Note: Click on the column heading to sort by that column |
|
Licensed resources are for the non-profit educational use of Stanford University. Use of these resources (marked with a ) is governed by copyright law and individual license agreements. Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information is prohibited.
Systems Status and Known Issues
|
|