 |
American FactFinder
Note : Also known as: American Factfinder (Census Bureau)
|
Geography; Government Information: United States; Statistics and Numeric Data |
|
| Description : | American FactFinder is a new data access and dissemination system that provides useful facts and information about your community, your economy, and your society. The system will find and retrieve the information you need from some of the Census Bureau's largest data sets |
| Subjects (LC) : | United States-Census |
| Other Titles : | American Fact Finder |
|
 |
American memory
|
American History; General and Reference Works; Geography; Government Information: United States |
|
| Description : | Introduces the American Memory Collection of archival and primary source materials pertinent to American culture and history. Notes that this historical collection is the Library of Congress' key contribution to the National Digital Library. Outlines various aspects of the collection, including digital reproductions, a finding aid in the form of a catalog or register, and other accompaniments. Notes that there are three photographic collections, one recorded sound collection, three early motion picture collections, one manuscript collection (which is now being completed), and three early motion picture collections available on the Internet, with more materials becoming available over time. Notes that some materials are protected by copyright. Also offers technical information about American Memory and on future collections |
| Subjects (LC) : | Libraries-Special collections-Washington (D.C.); United States-Civilization; United States-History; United States-Sources-Civilization |
| Other Titles : | American memory from the Library of Congress, Title in HTML header: Historical collections for the National Digital Library, Former subtitle: |
|
 |
Arctic & antarctic regions
|
General and Reference Works; Geography |
|
| Description : | "Arctic & Antarctic Regions (AAR) is the world's largest collection of international polar databases. Coverage is multidisciplinary. A wide variety of sources are indexed including: scientific periodicals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, theses, dissertations, and books. Many are indexed only in AAR -- the best resource for research on cold regions anywhere, from temperate regions with cold winters to the Himalayas of Tibet."--NISC product factsheet |
| Subjects (LC) : | Polar regions-Bibliography |
| Other Titles : | Arct. antarct. reg Arctic & antarctic regions Arctic and antarctic regions |
|
 |
Census 2000 at ICPSR
|
Geography; Statistics and Numeric Data |
|
| Description : | Data and documentation files on the 2000 census, plus links to other census websites. Registration required for access to some data |
| Subjects (LC) : | United States-Census, 22nd, 2000; United States-Statistics-Economic conditions-1981-2001; United States-Statistics-Population; United States-Statistics-Social conditions-1980- |
| Other Titles : | Census 2000 at Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research |
|
 |
The Columbia gazetteer of the world
|
Geography |
|
| Description : | "A database of names, descriptions and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world. Users can search all the information, not just place-names, and segment it." |
| Subjects (LC) : | Gazetteers; Geography-Databases; Geography-Dictionaries |
| Other Titles : | Columbia Lippincott gazetteer of the world Columbia gazetteer of the world online, Top of printout: |
|
 |
Counting California
|
Economics and Business; Geography; Government Information: United States; Statistics and Numeric Data |
|
| Description : | Counting California is a research tool from the California Digital Library that provides users with "one-stop-shopping" for government data and statistics about California. The purpose of Counting California is to enhance California citizens' access to the growing range of social science and economic data that government agencies produce. In a departure from more static formats, this database's interface will allow users to access the actual raw data compiled by federal, state, and local government agencies. Counting California allows users to simultaneously search or browse data from several different government produced datasets. Users can collate and integrate data by topic, geography, title, and provider |
| Subjects (LC) : | California-Census; California-Statistics; California-Statistics-Population |
| Other Titles : | Information, facts, and data about the Golden State, Subtitle: |
|
 |
CountryWatch
|
Economics and Business; Geography; Government Information: International and Foreign; History; Language; Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies; Statistics and Numeric Data |
|
| Description : | Provides up-to-date information and news on 192 countries of the world. Includes political, economic, and business information for its clients in the form of Country Reviews and the Country Wire. Country Reviews provides a political and economic survey for each of the 192 countries. Country Wire provides online information updates from ten international news organizations; CountryWatch staff provides periodic data updates on the latest political, economic, corporate and environmental topics for individual countries. Country Bazaar provides sales information for a selection of country-specific books and music from around the world |
| Subjects (LC) : | Economic geography; Foreign news; Geography; World politics |
| Other Titles : | Country watch CountryWatch.com : Web site to the world, Title in HTML header: |
|
 |
Current geographical publications /
|
General and Reference Works; Geography |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Geography-Bibliography |
| Other Titles : | Curr. geogr. publ Current geographical publications |
|
 |
Data.gov
|
American History; Economics and Business; Geography; Government Information: United States; Political Science; Statistics and Numeric Data |
|
| Description : | The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the United States federal government. Data.gov includes a searchable data catalog that includes access to data in two ways: through the "raw" data catalog and using tools. Please note that by accessing datasets or tools offered on Data.gov, you agree to the Data Policy, which you should read before accessing any dataset or tool |
| Subjects (LC) : | Executive departments-Databases-United States; Executive departments-Statistics-United States; United States-Databases-Politics and government; United States-Statistics-Politics and government |
|
 |
Digital Sanborn maps, 1867-1970 California
|
American History; Geography |
|
| Description : | Includes most of the fire insurance maps of California produced by the Sanborn Map Company from the mid-1880s to around 1950. The black and white digital images were produced from microform of the Sanborn atlases in the Library of Congress collection. Digital collection is searchable by city and date |
| Subjects (LC) : | California-Maps; Cities and towns-Maps-United States; Fire insurance-Maps-California |
| Other Titles : | California Sanborn maps, Also known as: California digital Sanborn maps, Also known as: |
|
 |
Early encounters in North America
|
American History; Geography; Race and Ethnicity |
|
| Description : | This first release of Early Encounters in North America (EENA) contains approximately 10,250 pages of material. When complete the product will include more than 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters |
| Subjects (LC) : | Explorers-North America; Indians of North America; North America-Description and travel |
| Other Titles : | EENA |
|
 |
Kartograficheskaia letopis
|
General and Reference Works; Geography; Slavic and Eastern European Studies |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Maps-Bibliography; Russia-Maps |
|
 |
Maps of Africa
Note : Pop-up blocking software must be disabled before using this site
|
African Studies; Geography |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Africa-Discovery and exploration; Africa-Maps; Cartography-History-Africa |
| Other Titles : | Insight images from maps of Africa, HTML source title: |
|
 |
Medieval travel writing
|
Geography; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing. The core is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliothque nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universittsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, sterreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 15 other Libraries and Archives |
| Subjects (LC) : | Literature, Medieval-Sources; Travel writing-Sources-History-Europe |
|
 |
Regional business news
|
Economics and Business; General and Reference Works; Geography; History; Political Science |
|
| Description : | Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc |
| Subjects (LC) : | Business literature-Databases-States-United States; Economics-Databases-United States; Emblems, National-Databases; Flags-Databases; Maps-Databases; Pictures-Databases; United States-Databases-Commerce |
| Other Titles : | Arizona business Business, North Carolina Crain's New York business Des Moines business record EBSCOhost Enterprise Salt Lake City Fort Worth business press Orange County business journal (Newport Beach, Calif.) Westchester County business journal |
|
 |
United States Census 2000
Note : Also known as: Census 2000
|
Economics and Business; Geography; Government Information: United States; Law; Political Science; Statistics and Numeric Data |
|
| Description : | The U.S. Census Bureau offers information on products and data related to the U.S. Census 2000. The bureau discusses resident population and apportionment, final response rates, the Census 2000 questionnaire, maps, 1990 Census information, and a FAQ section |
| Subjects (LC) : | Census; Demographic surveys; Government information; United States; United States-Census, 22nd, 2000; United States-Statistics-Economic conditions-1981-2001; United States-Statistics-Population; United States-Statistics-Social conditions-1980- |
| Other Titles : | Census 2000 gateway, HTML source title: U.S. Census 2000 |
|
 |
The world factbook
|
Geography |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Geography-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | CIA world fact book The World factbook World fact book World factbook World factbook (Washington, D.C.) |
|
| Note: Click on the column heading to sort by that column |
|
Licensed resources are for the non-profit educational use of Stanford University. Use of these resources (marked with a ) is governed by copyright law and individual license agreements. Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information is prohibited.
Systems Status and Known Issues
|