 |
Acta sanctorum database on CD-ROM
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | Database contains the complete Acta sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes ... comprises the works published over a period of three hundred years by the Socit des Bollandistes ... materials on the lives of the saints from the beginning of the Christian era to the end of the sixteenth century |
| Subjects (LC) : | Christian saints-Databases |
|
 |
L'Anne philologique
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; History; Language; Linguistics; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Classical literature-Bibliography; Classical philology-Bibliography |
| Other Titles : | Annee philologique L'Anne philologique |
|
 |
Archive of Celtic-Latin literature
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | Contains the texts processed thus far from the corpus of Celtic-Latin literature from the period 400-1200 as part of the Royal Irish Academy's Dictionary of Medieval Latin from Celtic Sources project |
| Subjects (LC) : | Latin language, Medieval and modern-Databases-France; Latin language, Medieval and modern-Databases-Great Britain; Latin language, Medieval and modern-Databases-Ireland; Latin literature, Medieval and modern-Databases-France; Latin literature, Medieval and modern-Databases-Great Britain; Latin literature, Medieval and modern-Databases-Ireland |
| Other Titles : | ACLL Archive of Celtic-Latin literature (Online) Royal Irish Academy dictionary of medieval Latin from Celtic sources |
|
 |
Aristoteles Latinus database
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | The complete corpus of medieval Greek-Latin translations of the works of Aristotle as published in the printed work, Aristoteles Latinus |
| Subjects (LC) : | Manuscripts, Latin-Databases |
| Other Titles : | ALD Aristoteles Latinus database (Online) |
|
 |
ARTFL project, University of Chicago
Note : Also known as: ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) Project
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; French and Italian Studies; Language; Medieval Studies; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | A full-text retrieval database of classical French writings. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises |
| Subjects (LC) : | French drama-Databases; French language-Databases; French literature-Databases; French poetry-Databases; Philosophy, French-Databases |
| Other Titles : | ARTFL ARTFL (Online) |
|
 |
Bibliographie de civilisation mdivale
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; General and Reference Works; History; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | A companion to the index of articles in the International Medieval Bibliography Online, this database indexes books and book reviews on the same topics. Slated to contain approximately 40,000 book records and 64,000 review records, as of November 2004 the database contains 10,000 records for authors A-I, covering the years 1957-2004 |
| Subjects (LC) : | Civilization, Medieval-Bibliography |
| Other Titles : | BCM, Also known as: Bibliographie de civilisation medievale |
|
 |
Celt
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; British and Commonwealth History; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | "Mission statement: to bring the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture (in Irish, Latin, Anglo-Norman French, and English) to the Internet in a rigorously scholarly project that is, at the same time, user-friendly for the widest possible range of readers and researchers ... texts are presented in immediately usable form and accompanied by introductions, translations (where possible and necessary), and scholarly bibliographies. Images will be an integral part of text presentation"--About us page |
| Subjects (LC) : | English literature-Irish authors; Ireland-Literary collections; Ireland-Politics and government; Ireland-Sources-History; Irish literature; Irish literature-Translations into English |
| Other Titles : | Corpus of electronic texts |
|
 |
Codices electronici Sangallenses
|
General and Reference Works; Medieval Studies; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | Facsimiles of manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gallen |
| Subjects (LC) : | Manuscripts, German-Facsimiles; Manuscripts, Latin-Facsimiles; Manuscripts, Medieval-Facsimiles |
| Other Titles : | CESG Digital Abbey Library of St. Gallen, Added title on English home page: |
|
 |
Database of latin dictionaries
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | The aim of the database is not only to integrate different types of Latin dictionaries, whether modern, medieval or early-modern, but also to build in links between these different tools. Where the dictionaries provide Latin terms and vernacular equivalents or explanations (whether in contemporary or historic forms of English, French or German), searches will be possible on both the Latin lemmata and the English, French or German lemmata. This database will provide an unsurpassed tool since all Latin word-forms that appear concretely in texts will have a link to entries in relevant dictionaries and from there the user can go and read the selected dictionary entryBlaise - Patristic (Dictionnaire latin-franais des auteurs chrtiens, 1954, 1967, 2005) -- Firmini Verris Dictionarius (Dictionnaire mdival latin-franais, 1440) -- Du Cange (Glossarium mediae et infimae latinitatis, ed. 1883-1887) -- Forcellini - Lexicon Totius Latinitatis (1771-1940) -- Blaise - Medieval (Dictionnaire latin-franais des auteurs du moyen-ge, |
| Subjects (LC) : | Latin language, Medieval and modern-Dictionaries-French; Latin language-Church Latin |
|
 |
Dictionary of Old English, Old English corpus
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | This edition includes over 3,000 different texts and was constructed from a version supplied by the Dictionary of Old English Project in 1998 |
| Subjects (LC) : | English language-Databases-Old English, ca. 450-1100; English language-Texts-Old English, ca. 450-1100; English literature-Concordances-Old English, ca. 450-1100; English philology-Old English, ca. 450-1100 |
| Other Titles : | Complete corpus of Old English in machine readable form Corpus of Old English in machine readable form Dictionary of Old English corpus in electronic form Old English corpus |
|
 |
Digital library of classic Protestant texts
Note : Also known as: Classic Protestant texts
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | Volume 1: The Reformed Tradition -- Volume 2: Laying the Foundation: The Opera Omnia of Luther, Calvin, Zwingli, Cranmer, and Menno Simons -- Volume 3: The Lutheran Tradition -- Volume 4: The English and Radical Reformations |
| Subjects (LC) : | Protestant churches-Texts-Liturgy |
| Other Titles : | Classic Protestant texts |
|
 |
Early English books online
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; British and Commonwealth History; British and Commonwealth Literary Studies; General and Reference Works; Language; Medieval Studies; Philosophy; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | Reproduces works listed in: Pollard & Redgrave's Short-title catalogue, Wing's Short title catalogue and Thomason tracts |
| Subjects (LC) : | Early printed books-Databases; English imprints-Databases; English literature-Databases-Early modern, 1500-1700; English newspapers-Databases |
| Other Titles : | EEBO Thomason tracts |
|
 |
Electronic Monumenta Germaniae Historica
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Germanic Studies; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | A selection of texts from all five divisions of Monumenta Germaniae Historica (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates) |
| Subjects (LC) : | Germany-Databases-History-To 1517; Middle Ages-Databases-History |
| Other Titles : | EMGH Electronic Monumenta Germaniae Historica on CD-ROM Elektronischen Monumenta Germaniae Historica auf CD-ROM MGH Monumenta Germaniae Historica auf CD-ROM Monumenta Germaniae Historica on CD-ROM |
|
 |
English prose drama
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; British and Commonwealth Literary Studies; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | Full-text database comprised of 1653 plays written by 356 named authors and 42 anonymous works. Contains works in English acted on or intended for the stage which are either wholly or predominantly in prose. Also covers masques, entertainments, and certain closet dramas. Includes both original works, and adaptations and translations. Generally the first authorized edition of each play has been used, except in cases where authorial revision or enlargement renders a later edition preferable |
| Subjects (LC) : | English drama |
| Other Titles : | English prose drama database, Title on ATS menu: |
|
 |
Europa sacra-- online
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | Offers unrivalled coverage of medieval Church prelates, information on all 1300 medieval bishoprics, archdioceses and patriarchates under obedience to Rome. As of 2003, it provides prosopographical information on 18,507 bishops, archbishops and patriarchs. Gradually more recent prosopographical works on members of religious orders and data on secular clergy supplied by nationally-based prosopographical projects will be added |
| Subjects (LC) : | Church history-Sources-Middle Ages, 600-1500 |
| Other Titles : | Europa sacra |
|
 |
International directory of medievalists
|
Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Medievalists-Directories |
| Other Titles : | Directory of medievalists IDM IDM/RIM, Title from home page HTML header: RIM Repertoire international des medievistes, Title from French database description screen: |
|
 |
ItalNet * OVI database home
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; French and Italian Studies; Language; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | "The production database contains 1849 vernacular texts (21.2 million words, 479,000 unique forms) the majority of which are dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's death. The beta-test installation of the database under PhiloLogic3 contains 1960 documents (see below). The verse and prose works include early masters of Italian literature like Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as lesser-known and obscure texts by poets, merchants, and medieval chroniclers."--Home page |
| Subjects (LC) : | Italian language-Dictionaries; Italian literature-Dictionaries |
| Other Titles : | Collaborative project of the ItalNet consortium, Opening screen title: OVI Database Home Opera del vocabolario italiano, Opening screen title: |
|
 |
Iter
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; French and Italian Studies; History; Language; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | Online bibliography and index to journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Indexes more than 400 scholarly journals published since 1859Select a database -- Journal titles -- Project information -- Subscription information -- Contact us |
| Subjects (LC) : | Middle Ages-Bibliography; Middle Ages-Periodicals; Renaissance-Bibliography; Renaissance-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance |
|
 |
Lectrix
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | "Online resource which integrates selected classic works of Greek and Latin literature with commentaries from the world-renowned Cambridge Greek and Latin Classics series for word-by-word, click-by-click access." |
| Subjects (LC) : | Classical literature |
|
 |
Lexikon des Mittelalters-- online
|
History; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | The standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of medieval studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa |
| Subjects (LC) : | Middle Ages-Dictionaries-History |
| Other Titles : | LexMA-- online Lexikon des Mittelalters |
|
 |
Library of Latin texts
Note : Also known as: CLCLT. Includes: Corpus Christianorum
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | General database of Christian Latin texts; a computerized Patrology covering the period from the late 2nd century to the 15th centuryIncludes vols. published in the Corpus Christianorum, both the Series Latina and the Continuatio mediaeualis, the collected works of major authors such as Augustine, Jerome, and Gregory the Great, as well as several works not yet available in the Corpus Christianorum but included in the Corpus scriptorum ecclesiasticorum Latinorum of Vienna, the Patrologia Latina or other collectionsV. 1. Antiquas, Patres Latini usque ad 500, Biblia -- v. 2. Patres Latini 501-735 -- v. 3. Scriptores Medii Aevi Recentior Latinitas |
| Subjects (LC) : | Christian literature, Early-Databases-Latin authors; Christian literature, Latin (Medieval and modern)-Databases; Church history-Sources-Middle Ages, 600-1500; Church history-Sources-Primitive and early church, ca. 30-600; Fathers of the church-Databases; Latin literature-Databases |
| Other Titles : | Bible, 1994, Latin, Vulgate CETEDOC library of Christian Latin texts CLCLT CLTO :, Centre "Traditio litterarum Occidentalium", At head of title: Clavis patrum Latinorum Corpus Christianorum, Continuatio Mediaevalis Corpus Christianorum, Series Latina Corpus scriptorum ecclesiasticorum Latinorum Library of Christian Latin texts Monumenta Germaniae historica Patrologiae Latinae supplementum Patrologiae cursus completus, Series latina S. Bernardi opera omnia Sources chrtiennes |
|
 |
Medieval and modern thought text digitization project
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | "The goal is to digitize on an ongoing basis printed reference works, source collections, and primary and secondary books in the broad area of medieval and modern thought. Current local research needs help to determine the material selected for digitization. ... Content is being drawn from the collections of the Stanford libraries and other member libraries of the Research Library Cooperative Program." |
| Subjects (LC) : | Philosophy, Medieval; Philosophy, Modern |
|
 |
Medieval travel writing
|
Geography; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing. The core is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliothque nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universittsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, sterreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 15 other Libraries and Archives |
| Subjects (LC) : | Literature, Medieval-Sources; Travel writing-Sources-History-Europe |
|
 |
Middle English compendium
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies |
|
| Description : | "The Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources."
HyperBibliography -- |
| Subjects (LC) : | English language-Databases-Middle English, 1100-1500; English language-Dictionaries-Middle English, 1100-1500; English literature-Bibliography-Middle English, 1100-1500; English literature-Indexes-Middle English, 1100-1500 |
|
 |
Oxford classical dictionary
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; General and Reference Works; Medieval Studies; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | The Oxford classical dictionary covers the Greco-Roman world. It includes articles and definitions regarding literature, art, philosophy, law, biography, mythology, science, geography, daily life, and broad cultural and historical trends. Containing over six thousand entries ranging from long articles to brief definitions, the OCD provides authoritative, signed articles with bibliographies and incorporates the insights and interests of a new generation of classical scholars. There is substantial coverage of women in the ancient world, sexuality, Asia and the Far East, Jews, and early Christians. Thematic articles reflect the current emphasis on multidisciplinary approaches to classical studies |
| Subjects (LC) : | Civilization, Classical-Dictionaries; Classical dictionaries-English; Greece-Dictionaries-History; History, Ancient-Dictionaries; Rome-Dictionaries-History |
|
 |
Oxford reference online
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Art, Architecture and Design; Biology; General and Reference Works; Medieval Studies; Music |
|
| Description : | Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University PressEnglish dictionaries & reference -- Quotations -- Bilingual dictionaries -- Subject reference |
| Subjects (LC) : | Electronic reference sources; Encyclopedias and dictionaries-Databases |
|
 |
Parker Library on the web
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | An interactive, web-based workspace designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. The Parker Library's holdings of Old English texts accounts for nearly a quarter of all extant manuscripts in Anglo-Saxon, including the earliest copy of the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle (c. 890), the Old English Bede and King Alfred's translation of Gregory the Great's Pastoral Care. The Parker Library also contains key Anglo-Norman and Middle English texts ranging from the Ancrene Wisse and the Brut Chronicle to one of the finest copies of Chaucer's Troilus and Criseyde. Other subjects represented in the collection are music, medieval travelogues and maps, bestiaries, royal ceremonies, historical chronicles and Bibles. The Parker Library holds a magnificent collection of English illuminated manuscripts, such as the Bury and Dover Bibles (c. 1135 and c. 1150) and the Chronica maiora by Matthew Paris (c. 1230-50). Scholars in a variety of disciplines - including historians of art, music, science, literature, politics and religion - find invaluable resources in the Library's collection |
| Subjects (LC) : | Manuscripts, Anglo-Norman-Databases; Manuscripts, Anglo-Norman-Facsimiles; Manuscripts, English (Middle)-Databases; Manuscripts, English (Middle)-Facsimiles; Manuscripts, English (Old)-Databases; Manuscripts, English (Old)-Facsimiles; Manuscripts, Latin (Medieval and modern)-Databases; Manuscripts, Latin (Medieval and modern)-Facsimiles; Manuscripts, Medieval-Databases; Manuscripts, Medieval-Facsimiles |
| Other Titles : | Welcome to the Parker Library on the web, Title bar title: |
|
 |
Past masters
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; British and Commonwealth Literary Studies; Economics and Business; Medieval Studies; Philosophy; Political Science |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Economics; Philosophy; Political science |
| Other Titles : | InteLex Past masters Past masters (InteLex Corporation) Past masters series |
|
 |
Patrologia Latina database
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | This final release of the Patrologia Latina database represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865)disc 1. Vols. 1-47 -- disc 2. Vols. 48-89 -- disc 3. Vols. 90-137 -- disc 4. Vols. 138-181 -- disc 5. Vols. 182-221 |
| Subjects (LC) : | Christian literature, Early-Latin authors |
| Other Titles : | Patrologiae cursus completus, Series Latina |
|
 |
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | Full-text database of primary sources covering Greek literature from Homer (eighth century B.C.) until the closing of the Academy (sixth century (A.D.) |
| Subjects (LC) : | Greek language, Biblical-Databases-Texts; Greek language, Medieval and late-Databases-Texts; Greek literature, Hellenistic-Databases; Greek literature, Hellenistic-Databases-Texts |
| Other Titles : | Digital library of Greek literature TLG |
|
 |
Thesaurus Precum Latinarum
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | Presents a collection of Latin prayers grouped by category: Basics, Creeds, the Triune God, God the Father, God the Son, God the Holy Spirit, and Confession. English translations are provided |
|
| Note: Click on the column heading to sort by that column |
|
Licensed resources are for the non-profit educational use of Stanford University. Use of these resources (marked with a ) is governed by copyright law and individual license agreements. Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information is prohibited.
Systems Status and Known Issues
|