 |
Academic search premier
|
Communication and Journalism; General and Reference Works; News; Philosophy; Science (General) |
|
| Description : | A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present |
| Subjects (LC) : | Education-Indexes-Periodicals; Humanities-Indexes-Periodicals; Periodicals-Indexes; Science-Indexes-Periodicals; Social sciences-Indexes-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | EBSCOhost |
|
 |
ARTFL project, University of Chicago
Note : Also known as: ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) Project
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; French and Italian Studies; Language; Medieval Studies; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | A full-text retrieval database of classical French writings. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises |
| Subjects (LC) : | French drama-Databases; French language-Databases; French literature-Databases; French poetry-Databases; Philosophy, French-Databases |
| Other Titles : | ARTFL ARTFL (Online) |
|
 |
Bibliographie internationale de l'humanisme et de la Renaissance
|
French and Italian Studies; General and Reference Works; History; Music; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | Contains all 33 volumes of the B.I.H.R. published under the patronage of the International Federation of Societies and Institutes for the Study of the Renaissance. These volumes list books and articles on Humanism and the Renaissance written between 1965-1997 by year of publication. Their 240,000 entries and 15,500 names are made easily searchable on this online database |
| Subjects (LC) : | Humanism-Bibliography; Renaissance-Bibliography |
| Other Titles : | BIHR |
|
 |
Britannica online
|
General and Reference Works; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | Consists of fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative articles from the print Encyclopedia Britannica and its yearbooks or Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, plus hundreds not available in those sources |
| Subjects (LC) : | Encyclopedias and dictionaries |
| Other Titles : | Britannica, Title on logo: Encyclopedia Britannica online |
|
 |
Central and Eastern European Online Library
Note : C.E.E.O.L
|
Anthropology and Archaeology; History; Jewish Studies; Language; Philosophy; Political Science; Race and Ethnicity; Slavic and Eastern European Studies; Sociology |
|
| Description : | An Internet library of scholarly and cultural publications from Central and Eastern Europe. Search articles, books, publishers, periodicals, and authors |
| Subjects (LC) : | Europe, Central; Europe, Eastern |
| Other Titles : | C.E.E.O.L CEEOL CEEOL : Central and Eastern European Online Library, Title from HTML source code: |
|
 |
The Continental rationalists
|
Philosophy |
|
| Description : | Selected English translations of Descartes, Spinoza and Leibniz, with Folio VIEWS text management program for PCsThe philosophical writings of Descartes. Early writings ; Rules for the Direction of the Mind ; The World ; Treatise on Man ; Discourse on the Method ; Optics ; Principles of Philosophy ; Comments on a Certain Broadsheet ; Description of the Human Body ; The Passions of the Soul ; Meditations on First Philosophy ; Objections and Replies ; Letter to Father Dinet -- The collected works of Spinoza. Treatise on the Emendation of the Intellect ; Short Treatise on God, Man and His Well-Being ; Letters: August 1661-August 1663 ; Descartes' Principles of Philosophy ; Letters: July 1664-September 1665 ; Ethics ; Glossary-Index -- New Essays on Human Understanding / Gottfried Wilhelm von Leibniz -- Philosophical Essays / Gottfried Wilhelm von Leibniz |
| Subjects (LC) : | Philosophy, Modern-17th century; Philosophy, Modern-18th century; Rationalism |
| Other Titles : | Collected works of Spinoza New essays on human understanding Philosophical essays Philosophical writings of Descartes VIEWS (Computer file) |
|
 |
Le corpus des oeuvres de philosophie en langue franaise
|
French and Italian Studies; Language; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | Le Corpus des oeuvres de philosophie en langue franaise contains the works of philosophers writing in the French language from the Renaissance to 1966. The texts of Le Corpus are based on editions from the monographic series of the same name published by Librairie Arthme Fayard with the Association pour le Corpus des oeuvres de philosophie en langue franaise in under the direction of Michel Serres. Searching available using PhiloLogic or Trevi interfaces |
| Subjects (LC) : | Philosophical literature; Philosophy, French |
| Other Titles : | Corpus des oeuvres de philosophie en langue francaise |
|
 |
Early English books online
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; British and Commonwealth History; British and Commonwealth Literary Studies; General and Reference Works; Language; Medieval Studies; Philosophy; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | Reproduces works listed in: Pollard & Redgrave's Short-title catalogue, Wing's Short title catalogue and Thomason tracts |
| Subjects (LC) : | Early printed books-Databases; English imprints-Databases; English literature-Databases-Early modern, 1500-1700; English newspapers-Databases |
| Other Titles : | EEBO Thomason tracts |
|
 |
EBSCOhost
|
General and Reference Works; News; Philosophy; Science (General) |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Other Titles : | EBSCO host |
|
 |
Eighteenth century collections online
|
American History; British and Commonwealth History; British and Commonwealth Literary Studies; French and Italian Studies; History; History of Science and Technology; Language; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. When completed, the full collection will include nearly 180,000 titles and more than 33,000,000 pages of searchable material |
| Subjects (LC) : | Eighteenth century; English literature-18th century; Great Britain-Civilization-18th century; Great Britain-History-18th century |
| Other Titles : | ECCO, Commonly known as: |
|
 |
Electronic Enlightenment
|
French and Italian Studies; History; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources |
| Subjects (LC) : | Eighteenth century-Databases; Enlightenment-Databases; Europe-Databases-Civilization-18th century; Europe-Databases-Intellectual life-18th century; Philosophy-Databases-History-18th century |
| Other Titles : | EE, Also known as: |
|
 |
The Internet encyclopedia of philosophy
|
Philosophy |
|
| Description : | "The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy was founded in 1995 for the purpose of providing detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy." Articles are currently from three sources: (1) original contributions by specialized philosophers around the Internet; (2) adaptations of material written by the editors for classroom purposes; and (3) adaptations from public domain sources (typically from two or more sources for per article). The IEP offers access to a keyword site search engine and is free of charge to all Internet users. It is continuously revised and updated |
| Subjects (LC) : | Encyclopedias and dictionaries; Philosophers-Biography; Philosophy; Philosophy-Encyclopedias |
| Other Titles : | EIP |
|
 |
Medieval and modern thought text digitization project
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | "The goal is to digitize on an ongoing basis printed reference works, source collections, and primary and secondary books in the broad area of medieval and modern thought. Current local research needs help to determine the material selected for digitization. ... Content is being drawn from the collections of the Stanford libraries and other member libraries of the Research Library Cooperative Program." |
| Subjects (LC) : | Philosophy, Medieval; Philosophy, Modern |
|
 |
The MIT encyclopedia of the cognitive sciences /
|
Linguistics; Philosophy; Psychology |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Cognitive science-Encyclopedias |
|
 |
Oxford classical dictionary
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; General and Reference Works; Medieval Studies; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | The Oxford classical dictionary covers the Greco-Roman world. It includes articles and definitions regarding literature, art, philosophy, law, biography, mythology, science, geography, daily life, and broad cultural and historical trends. Containing over six thousand entries ranging from long articles to brief definitions, the OCD provides authoritative, signed articles with bibliographies and incorporates the insights and interests of a new generation of classical scholars. There is substantial coverage of women in the ancient world, sexuality, Asia and the Far East, Jews, and early Christians. Thematic articles reflect the current emphasis on multidisciplinary approaches to classical studies |
| Subjects (LC) : | Civilization, Classical-Dictionaries; Classical dictionaries-English; Greece-Dictionaries-History; History, Ancient-Dictionaries; Rome-Dictionaries-History |
|
 |
The Oxford companion to philosophy
|
Philosophy |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Philosophy-Encyclopedias |
| Other Titles : | Oxford Companion to Philosophy |
|
 |
Past masters
|
Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; British and Commonwealth Literary Studies; Economics and Business; Medieval Studies; Philosophy; Political Science |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Economics; Philosophy; Political science |
| Other Titles : | InteLex Past masters Past masters (InteLex Corporation) Past masters series |
|
 |
The Philosopher's index
|
General and Reference Works; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | Vols. for 1969- include a section of abstracts |
| Subjects (LC) : | Philosophy-Periodicals |
| Other Titles : | The Philosopher's index |
|
 |
Philosophy online
|
Language; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | Provides full-text online access to a growing number of philosophy journals, including articles, book reviews, footnotes, announcements, and notices. More than 60 journals have been licensed for the project and the database will ultimately contain 100 philosophy journals and UMI's collection of philosophy dissertation abstracts |
| Subjects (LC) : | Electronic journals; Ethics; Logic; Philosophy-Computer network resources |
| Other Titles : | POIESISf[:June 3, 1999:] Philosophy online serials, Former subtitle: |
|
 |
The Richard Rufus of Cornwall project
|
Philosophy; Religious Studies |
|
| Description : | Critical editions of the works of early scholastic philosopher-theologian Richard Rufus of Cornwall |
| Subjects (LC) : | Scholasticism; Theology, Doctrinal-History-Middle Ages, 600-1500 |
| Other Titles : | Richard Rufus Project, Added title on home page: |
|
 |
Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy /
|
Philosophy |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Philosophy-Encyclopedias |
| Other Titles : | Encyclopedia of philosophy |
|
 |
Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy
|
Philosophy |
|
| Description : | No description currently available |
| Subjects (LC) : | Philosophers-Encyclopedias; Philosophy-Encyclopedias |
| Other Titles : | Stanf. encycl. philos Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy |
|
 |
Voltaire lectronique
|
French and Italian Studies; Language; Philosophy |
|
| Description : | A major new resource for scholars of French literature, the eighteenth century and the history of ideas |
| Subjects (LC) : | Enlightenment-France; France-Intellectual life-18th century; French literature-18th century |
| Other Titles : | Voltaire electronique Works, 1998 |
|
| Note: Click on the column heading to sort by that column |
|
Licensed resources are for the non-profit educational use of Stanford University. Use of these resources (marked with a ) is governed by copyright law and individual license agreements. Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information is prohibited.
Systems Status and Known Issues
|