At a glance

Swain Chemistry & Chemical Engineering Library

Science of Synthesis at Stanford

Science of Synthesis banner
We have licensed the online version of the Science of Synthesis (SoS) and also get a print "archive" copy.  Because new content may be available in print volumes before it is added to the database, catalog records for SoS volumes are listed at the bottom of this page.

About

The need to provide a dependable source of information on evaluated synthetic methods in organic chemistry embracing these characteristics was first acknowledged over 100 years ago, when the highly regarded reference source Houben–Weyl Methoden der Organischen Chemie was first introduced.  Recognizing the necessity to provide a modernized, comprehensive, and critical assessment of synthetic organic chemistry, in 2000 Thieme launched Science of Synthesis, Houben–Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations.

Science of Synthesis provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. As of November 2013, Science of Synthesis includes 30,000 synthetic methods with 275,000 reactions for 2,700 different types of compounds.  Features include:

  • Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations. 
  • Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab
  • Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods
  • Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group
  • Provides text, structure, substructure, and reaction searching capabilities in a powerful, yet easy-to-use, intuitive interface in order to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization

Houben-Weyl archive: Science of Synthesis includes a backfile with the complete Houben-Weyl series, published between 1909 and 2003 and stretching back to methods of the 1800s. The backfile documents are available in PDF format and their tables of content are text searchable.  The backfile includes access to 146,000 product specific experimental procedures, 580,000 structures, and 700,000 references.

Science of Synthesis Knowledge Updates: From 2010 onward, Science of Synthesis is being updated quarterly with high-quality content via Science of Synthesis Knowledge Updates. The goal of the Science of Synthesis Knowledge Updates is to provide a continuous review of the field of synthetic organic chemistry, with an eye toward evaluating and analyzing significant new developments in synthetic methods. A list of stringent criteria for inclusion of each synthetic transformation ensures that only the best and most reliable synthetic methods are incorporated.

Science of Synthesis Reference Library: The Reference Library comprises volumes covering special topics of organic chemistry in a modular fashion, with six main classifications: 1) classical, 2) advances, 3) transformations, 4) applications, 5) structures, and 6) techniques.  As of November 2013, titles published in the Reference Library include: Stereoselective Synthesis (Vols. 1-3), Asymmetric Organocatalysis (Vols. 1-2), Water in Organic Synthesis, and Cross Coupling and Heck-Type Reactions (Vols. 1-3).  Forthcoming titles include: Multicomponent Reactions, and C-1 Building Blocks in Organic Synthesis.   To view Reference Library content in the Science of Synthesis database, click on the "Explore Contents" tab.

Catalog records for Science of Synthesis

Please note that print volumes may be available before the content is added to the Science of Synthesis database.  Below are catalog records for all of the items published as part of Science of Synthesis.

SoS_Asymmetric_Organocatalysis
Stuttgart : Georg Thieme Verlag KG, -2012.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .S354 2011/5
"Asymmetric Organocatalysis is the first reference work giving an overview of this dynamic, young field that is rapidly gaining significance for economical and environmentally friendly organic synthesis. It comprehensively covers all the catalysts and reactions within the four distinct activation modes: Brønsted base catalysis, Brønsted acid catalysis, Lewis base catalysis and Lewis acid catalysis. Typical or general experimental procedures as well as mechanistic, technical and theoretical aspects are included, allowing the reader to clearly see how simple, clean and efficient this chemistry is." (Publisher's description)
SoS_Cross_Coupling_Heck_Type_Reactions
Stuttgart ; New York Georg Thieme, 2013.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .S354 2012/5
"Cross Coupling and Heck-Type Reactions critically reviews the state of the art of C--C, C--O and C--N Cross-Coupling Reactions, and Heck-Type Reactions. In spite of the numerous reviews appearing around the turn of the century, there has been enormous progress in this field in recent years. Furthermore, the goals of high efficiency, low cost, and environmental friendliness are still a major challenge. In the tradition of Science of Synthesis, this 3-volume set on Cross Coupling and Heck-Type Reactions presents the status of the field with expert reviews of the best methods, including typical and general experimental procedures. This reference work serves as the basis for the practical application of these methods and paves the way for future research." (Publisher's description)
SoS_Multicomponent_Reactions
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .S354 2013/5
"The two volumes "Science of Synthesis: Multicomponent Reactions" critically review the state of the art of domino, sequential, and consecutive multicomponent reactions in what is a highly dynamic field. They serve as the basis for practical application to reach the goals of diversity-oriented synthesis, reaction design, and novel synthetic concepts. As is typical for the Science of Synthesis series, the reference work on multicomponent reactions presents the best synthetic methods as judged by experts in the field and includes typical and general experimental procedures." (Publisher's description)
SoS_Reagents
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .S354 2012/8
"An authoritative compilation of key reagents used for organic synthesis.  It contains a selection of essential reagents which are of practical use to the organic chemist, exemplary transformations illustrating the usefulness of each reagent and highlighting its potential for application in organic synthesis, important experimental procedures provided in full giving the chemist a head start in the laboratory, and a list of known applications for each reagent illustrating the scope and breadth of its reactivity.  Reagents are hand picked and edited by experts.  Each reagent entry gives property and use information relating to the reagent itself and also includes exemplary transformations and detailed experimental procedures as well as key citations. The organic chemist therefore has quick, easy and convenient access to relevant information on reagents in organic synthesis." (Publisher's description)
SoS_Reagents
Stuttgart ; New York : Georg Thieme, 2010.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .S354 2010/5
"An authoritative compilation of key reagents used for organic synthesis.  It contains a selection of essential reagents which are of practical use to the organic chemist, exemplary transformations illustrating the usefulness of each reagent and highlighting its potential for application in organic synthesis, important experimental procedures provided in full giving the chemist a head start in the laboratory, and a list of known applications for each reagent illustrating the scope and breadth of its reactivity.  Reagents are hand picked and edited by experts.  Each reagent entry gives property and use information relating to the reagent itself and also includes exemplary transformations and detailed experimental procedures as well as key citations. The organic chemist therefore has quick, easy and convenient access to relevant information on reagents in organic synthesis." (Publisher's description)
SoS_Reagents
Stuttgart ; New York : Georg Thieme, 2010, c2011.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .S354 2010/6
"An authoritative compilation of key reagents used for organic synthesis.  It contains a selection of essential reagents which are of practical use to the organic chemist, exemplary transformations illustrating the usefulness of each reagent and highlighting its potential for application in organic synthesis, important experimental procedures provided in full giving the chemist a head start in the laboratory, and a list of known applications for each reagent illustrating the scope and breadth of its reactivity.  Reagents are hand picked and edited by experts.  Each reagent entry gives property and use information relating to the reagent itself and also includes exemplary transformations and detailed experimental procedures as well as key citations. The organic chemist therefore has quick, easy and convenient access to relevant information on reagents in organic synthesis." (Publisher's description)
Science of Synthesis Online
Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Science of Synthesis provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. As of November 2013, Science of Synthesis includes 30,000 synthetic methods with 275,000 reactions for 2,700 different types of compounds. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations. Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab. Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods. Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group. Provides text, structure, substructure, and reaction searching capabilities in a powerful, yet easy-to-use, intuitive interface in order to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization." (Publisher's description)
Science of Synthesis (print archive copy)
[5th ed.]. Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme, 2000-2010.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .S35 2000 SUPPL
"Science of Synthesis provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. As of November 2013, Science of Synthesis includes 30,000 synthetic methods with 275,000 reactions for 2,700 different types of compounds. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations. Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab. Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods. Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group." (Publisher's description)
Science_of_Synthesis_Knowledge_Updates
Paper archive copy. Stuttgart : Georg Thieme ; London : Momenta [distributor], 2010-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .S352 2014:NO.3
"From 2010 onward, Science of Synthesis is being updated quarterly with high-quality content via Science of Synthesis Knowledge Updates. The goal of the Science of Synthesis Knowledge Updates is to provide a continuous review of the field of synthetic organic chemistry, with an eye toward evaluating and analyzing significant new developments in synthetic methods. A list of stringent criteria for inclusion of each synthetic transformation ensures that only the best and most reliable synthetic methods are incorporated." (Publisher's description)
SoS_Stereoselective_Synthesis
Stuttgart : New York , George Thieme, 2011.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .S354 2010/7
" In Stereoselective Synthesis 120 expert authors present the best and most reliable methods currently available for the preparation of nonracemic compounds, including typical experimental procedures for broad utility and application. These methods may be stoichiometric or catalytic, and the latter may include metal, organic, or enzyme catalysis." (Publisher's description)
SoS_Stereoselective_Synthesis
Stuttgart ; New York : Georg Thieme, 2010, c2011.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .S354 2010/8
" In Stereoselective Synthesis 120 expert authors present the best and most reliable methods currently available for the preparation of nonracemic compounds, including typical experimental procedures for broad utility and application. These methods may be stoichiometric or catalytic, and the latter may include metal, organic, or enzyme catalysis." (Publisher's description)
SoS_Stereoselective_Synthesis
Stuttgart ; New York : George Thieme, 2011.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .S354 2010/9
" In Stereoselective Synthesis 120 expert authors present the best and most reliable methods currently available for the preparation of nonracemic compounds, including typical experimental procedures for broad utility and application. These methods may be stoichiometric or catalytic, and the latter may include metal, organic, or enzyme catalysis." (Publisher's description)
SoS_Water_in_Organic_Synthesis
Print archive copy. Stuttgart ; New York : Georg Thieme Verlag, 2012.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .S354 2011/7
"Water in Organic Synthesis is essential for the organic chemist in helping gain a thorough appreciation of the latest and most reliable available methods for using water in organic synthesis. It illustrates how water can often be a viable and green solvent in the laboratory and provides a detailed introduction to the subject: background information, evaluated methods, practical applications, industrial applications, special techniques, and an overview of the latest trends. This reference work also helps in inspiring chemists worldwide to find new approaches and techniques for the application of water in organic synthesis." (Publisher's description)