At a glance

Branner Earth Sciences Library & Map Collections


AAPG data systems Full text database of publications of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG).   
AGRICOLA Published by the National Agricultural Library, covers the world's agricultural literature, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, soil and water resources, and earth and environmental sciences. Coverage: 1970 - present.  
Alloy phase diagrams center  Provides access to more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 2,400 systems.  
Alternative Energy eTrack Provides statistical and business intelligence reports snd industry analysis on alternative power sources including wind, hydro, solar, geothermal, bio, ocean, transportation biofuels, and fuel cells.  
Arctic & Antarctic Regions The world's largest collection of international polar databases. Coverage is multidisciplinary.   
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Covers literature in the field of aquatic resources, including aquaculture, aquatic pollution, brackish water environments, fisheries, marine biology, and oceanography.  
BioOne BioOne is a full-text aggregation of bioscience research journals. Subjects include ecology, evolution, environmental science, natural history, taxonomy, and systematics.  
BIOSIS Covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. Coverage: 1926 - present.  
British Geological Survey lexicon of named rock units A relational database designed to hold definitive and readily accessible information about all allostratigraphical, lithostratigraphical and lithodemic units of member (or equivalent) and higher rank that are used, or have been used, on BGS maps and in BGS publications.  
CAB Abstracts The most comprehensive database for agricultural science references in journals, conference papers and technical reports. Subject coverage includes agriculture, animal production, genetics, forestry, biotechnology, and entomology. Coverage: 1973 - present.  
Earthquake engineering abstracts Covers topics in structural dynamics, seismology, geology, architecture, political science, economics, planning, public policy, and hazards mitigation as they relate to earthquake studies. Coverage: 1971 - present.  
Earthquake search Data on earthquakes worldwide from 2000B.C. through the current week of the Preliminary Determination of Epicenters (PDE) program  
EM-DAT International Disaster Database OFDA/CRED International Disaster Database with coverage starting in 1900.  
Energy citations database Over 2.6 million citations including reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents. Regular updates from Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information. Coverage: 1943 - present.  
Engineering Village (Compendex) (Full-text 1884-present) Comprehensive core engineering database. Containing over nine million references and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.  
Environment Index Coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.  
Environmental engineering abstracts Covers literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.   
Environmental Fate database Contains data on human or environmental exposure to chemicals from occupational and consumer use, environmental contamination, and food consumption.  
Environmental Impact Statements Digests Environmental Impact Statements issued by the federal government, from 1985 - present.  
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM) Covers environmental sciences topics, including ecology, energy resources, and pollution issues. Coverage: 1967 - present  
FAOSTAT statistical database Contains over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in: production, trade, food-balance sheets, food aid shipments, fertilizer and pesticides, land use and irrigation, forest and fishery products, agricultural machinery, and population among others.  
GEO Data Portal The authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global environment outlook report. Its online database holds more than 400 different variables, on themes like population, water, forest, emission, temperature, biodiversity, land, soil, energy etc. - as national (i.e. country-level), subregional, regional (i.e. Africa, Asia, America, Europe) and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps).  
Geobase GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for development studies, the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography  
Geologic guidebooks of North America The premier index to published geologic guidebooks, particularly those published by societies. Note: this index publishes titles only; it is not full-text.  
GeoRef Covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics. Coverage: 1785 - present  
Geothermal technologies subject portal Includes government and international technical reports, conference proceedings, journal citations and patents on geothermal products and technologies  
Global Volcanism Program Holocene volcanoes (those with known activity during the last 10,000 years) are organized both alphabetically and geographically. The geographic organization generally follows the Catalog of Active Volcanoes of the World (CAVW).  
GreenFILE GreenFILE offers multidisciplinary information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.  
GTK FINGEO FINGEO is a comprehensive bibliographic database on Finnish geological literature, covering geoscience literature dealing with Finland, published in Finland, or written by Finnish geologists. Coverage: 1971 - present  
IAGA global paleomagnetic database Database of all published paleomagnetic data from 1920- . ASCII files of data may be downloaded into the user's computer for manipulation, and the palaeogeographic reconstruction program GMAP of Torsvik and Smethurst has been modified to read the ASCII files directly.   
IEEE Xplore Provides full-text access to the publications of both the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE); includes all journals, magazines, standards and conference proceedings.   
Index to Online Geologic Field Trip Guides of California Compiled by the California Geological Survey, this index is searchable by California Geomorphic Province regions. Note: many links are broken.  
International Seismological Centre (Bulletin Search) Provides earthquake data complied from the international seismological centre in the United Kingdom. Coverage: 1904 - present  
Lux Research Market research reports, company information, etc., for following industries: nanomaterials, solar, alternative power & energy storage, water, bIofuels & biomaterials, targeted delivery, green building.  
National geologic map database This USGS database provides access to maps and other spatially referenced data for geology, geophysics, marine geology, earth resources, hazards, geochemistry, geochronology, and paleontology.  
National Technical Reports Library Containing over 2.0 million bibliographic records, the NTRL Database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments.  
National Wetlands Research Center publications Alphabetical and subject list and searchable database containing citations for all reports and articles published by the National Wetlands Research Center.  
NEPIS (National Environmental Publications Internet Site) Coverage from the US EPA.  
NOAA & MMS marine minerals bibliography & geochemical data base The Marine minerals bibliography is a comprehensive, computerized bibliography and geochemical database on offshore marine mineral deposits compiled by the National Geophysical Data Center from 1983-1992.  
OnePetro OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently. provides access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.  
PETDB Petrological information about ocean floor sites searchable by geographic location, sample characteristics, published citation, or chemistry.  
Pollution abstracts Covers scientific research and government policies and material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents in the field of global pollution.   
Quakeline Covers Earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazards mitigation, and related topics. An attempt is made to exclude the items already listed in NTRL, Engineering Index/Compendex, and GeoRef.  
Scopus Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database which searches 14,200 titles from 4,000 different publishers.  
Society of Exploration Geophysicists Digital cumulative index Searchable index to the publications of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG), the European Association of Exploration Geophysicists (EAEG, the Australian Society of Exploration Geophysicists (ASEG) and the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists (CSEG). Coverage: 1936 - present   
Stanford Geological Survey Collection The Stanford Geological Survey (SGS) existed for 100 years, from 1895 until 1995. During this time, students and faculty went into the field to survey and map parts of California, Nevada and Utah. This is a collection of images of hand-drawn and -colored maps from the Survey, with catalog data about the maps.  
Stanford University energy resources engineering (and petroleum engineering) graduate research reports Contains full text for most MS, Engineer and PhD reports from 1970 to the present for which permissions by the authors have been obtained. Some older reports are also available  
Sustainability science abstracts Coverage includes relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals on the management of human use and conservation of the natural resource base.  
United Nations Environment Programme Publications Supported by the United Nations Environment Programme, UNEP.Net delivers authoritative environmental information from a broad range of information and data providers committed to making their information freely available to the whole spectrum of users of environmental information.  
USGS Publications warehouse Contains more than 67,000 USGS bibliographic citations, including numbered series begun as early as 1882. Availability of content ranges from full text to bibliographic citation only.  
Water Intelligence Online Books, research reports, research papers and conference proceedings covering water, wastewater and related environmental topics from Water Environment Research Federation, International Water Association, STOWA Foundation and KIWA. Coverage: 2002 - present  
Water Resources Abstracts Technical and scientific literature covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Use the check box to narrow to peer reviews sources only. Coverage: 1967 - present  
Web of Science A general database covering all science disciplines, includes cited reference and author searching. Coverage: 1970 - present