The Libraries are resuming limited in-person research activities by appointment only as part of the University's Research Restart Plan.
Learn more about the Libraries' entry requirements and available services.

Graduate School of Education deans

Photo of Earl Barnes
Painting of Ellwood P. Cubberley
Painting of Grayson N. Kefauver
Painting of A. John Bartky
Painting of I. James Quillen
Painting of H. Thomas James
Painting of Arthur Coladarci
Portrait of Myron Atkin
Portrait of Marshall Smith
Portrait of Richard Shavelson
Portrait of Deborah J. Stipek


  • 1891-1897 Earl Barnes headed department of the History and Art of Education. His papers are in the University Archives
  • 1897 Professor Starbuck and Professor Griggs took turns acting as administrative head.
  • 1898-1933 Ellwood P. Cubberley headed department, becoming first dean in 1917.  His papers are in the University Archives
  • 1933-1946 Grayson N. Kefauver (on leave 1943-1946).  His papers are in the Hoover Archives
  • 1943-1946 Lucien Blair Kinney served as acting dean
  • 1946-1953 A. John Bartky
  • 1953-1966 I. James Quillen His papers are in the University Archives
  • 1966-1970 H. Thomas James - Professor of education at Stanford (1958-1970) and dean of School of Education from June 1966 to August 1970 when he resigned to become president of the Spencer Foundation in Chicago. His papers are in the University Archives
  • 1970-1979 Arthur Coladarci
  • 1979-1986 Myron Atkin - His papers are in the Hoover Archives
  • 1986-1993 Marshall S. Smith left Stanford to become Under Secretary of the U.S. Department of Education
  • 1993-1994 Nel Noddings, Acting Dean
  • 1994-2001 Richard Shavelson - His papers are in the University Archives
  • 2001-2014 Deborah J. Stipek
  • 2011-2014 Claude Steele
  • 2014-2015 Deborah J. Stipek
  • 2015-         Daniel Schwartz