Find research articles on Chinese studies

For Chinese language research articles, Stanford University libraries subscribe two major databases that provide full-text journal articles.

China Academic Journals (CAJ) 中国期刊全文数据
CAJ is a full-text database covering approximately 6,600 journal titles from the People's Republic of China, on all disciplines and subjects. Stanford's subscription includes four series: Literature/History/Philosophy, Economics/Politics/Law, Education/Social Science and Medicine/Hygiene. Full-text articles are from 1994-date. 1,692 journals in above four series are retrospectively digitized from their first issues. THE first place to start your search for Chinese research articles. It is available for proxy access.

National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals 全国报刊索引
The National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals (NICNP) is an index database covering information from 1833 to the present. It lists about 18,000 kinds of newspapers and periodicals published in China and contains over 30 million entries.
Note: Although it appears you can request documents directly from Shanghai Library, requests must go through Stanford Libraries Interlibrary Loan Unit citing the NICNP as the source for the document.

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Service (TEPS)臺灣電子期刊服務網
TEPS covers 81,000 articles published in leading Taiwanese academic journals. Spanning subject areas including medicine and life sciences, humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and applied sciences, TEPS is updated daily with new academic journal content and includes archived issues dating to 1991. Currently it is not proxy accessible.

Duxiu 读秀知识库
Duxiu provides full-text access to over 2 million core Chinese monographs and journals, as well as over 500 yearbooks published in mainland China. Duxiu can also be accessed via Stanford’s Chinamaxx interface (search form is located at the lower portion of the Chinamaxx homepage).

For the western language full text articles on Chinese studies, check Stanford libraries' main database list for relevant databases to your topics. Three databases are most useful for full text research articles:

JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

Project Muse
Features a collection of online scholarly journals that focuses on the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications. A great place to start your research.

Bibliography of Asian Studies
It is not a full-text database, but is the most important database that specifically focuses on Asian studies. Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia. Covers 1971 to the present, including full data from the print editions from 1971-1991. Please note, monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as Socrates or Worldcat.

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking