You are here

"Advertising R Us:" The Rhetoric of Advertising

Primary tabs

Guide for PWR 1 "Advertising R Us:" The Rhetoric of Advertising taught by Sohui Lee.

Suggested reference sources

These two general reference tools are great for beginning your research regardless of your topic.

Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishing
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management. It supports browsing and full-text searching.
[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles.

Suggested business reference sources

Reference works help you gather background information on your topic and will often lead to good bibliographies. Several of the works listed below contain case studies.

London ; Philadelphia : Kogan Page, c2011.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
St. Paul, Minn. : Rada Press, c2008.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » P90 .F264 2008
Australia ; Boston, MA : Thomson/Wadsworth, c2005.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » P92 .U5 F45 2005
Detroit, Mich. : Thomson Gale ; London : Thomson Learning [distributor], 2007.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HF5837 .E53 2007
Thousand Oaks, CA : Sage, c2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
New York : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c2008.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » HF5415.32 .H363 2008

Suggested databases

Looking for current news, scholarly articles, case studies, essays? Searching in databases will lead you to such resources. What follows is a list of databases ranging from full- text mulitdisciplinary coverage to subject-specific resources.

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present.
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs.
Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub., c2005-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Business Source Complete provides full text for over 10,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,150 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.
[Miamisburg, OH] : LexisNexis, division of Reed Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, medical and references.
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Market research databases

Market research databases could be the launch pad for your research. Please see the Business Library PWR Advertising Research Guide for additional industry and market research resources.

New York : Mintel International Group Ltd, c[2004]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Offers a series of market research reports covering the US and European marketplace. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis, demographic issues and consumer profiles.

SearchWorks tips

SearchWorks is the name of the Stanford Libraries catalog. It contains records for books, ebooks, DVDs, journals, archival material and more. It does not contain records for articles. SearchWorks uses relevancy ranking in displaying search results, much like Google. You can do an “everything” search or, using the drop-down on the right, specify author, title or subject terms as your search type. You can then refine your search results by the index on the left, including format, location, language, date and more. 

Advanced search: This type of search allows you to search by author, title, topic, etc. by plugging the search terms into their own fields. You can then specify ALL search terms or ANY of your search terms. Think of this as AND and OR, respectively.

SearchWorks records include linked Subject terms which describe a particular item. Below are some Subject terms which relate to this class. Note how a main heading may further subdivide by subheadings like Social aspects, Environmental aspects, Case studies, etc. Linked headings will help you discover more material on your topic.

Advertising--Case studies

Advertising--Pyschological aspects

Consumer behavior

Internet marketing