You are here

Affective Science (Psychology)

Last Updated: 3-Jul-2014

"Affective science at Stanford emphasizes basic research on emotion, culture, and psychopathology using a broad range of experimental, psychophysiological, neural, and genetic methods to test theory about psychological mechanisms underlying human behavior. Topics include longevity, culture and emotion, reward processing, depression, social anxiety, risk for psychopathology, and emotion expression, suppression, and (dys)regulation."

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Overviews

Recently received

Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2013.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » QP360 .C337 2013
Second Edition.
Green Library » Stacks » BF531 .H324 2014
New York : Guilford Press, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF311 .H3336 2013

Other books

Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Green Library » Information Center » B105 .E46 O94 2010
"The volume addresses all the central philosophical issues in current emotion research, including: the nature of emotion and of emotional life; the history of emotion from Plato to Sartre; emotion and practical reason; emotion and the self; emotion, value, and morality; and emotion, art and aesthetics."
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Green Library » Stacks » BF531 .O94 2009
"an indispensable resource for all who wish to find out about theories, concepts, methods, and research findings in this rapidly growing interdisciplinary field"
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2010.
Green Library » Information Center » BF531 .R445 2010 V.1
Mahwah, N.J. : L. Erlbaum Associates, c2001.
Green Library » Stacks » BF511 .H34 2001
"surveys what we now know about the multifaceted role of affect in social thinking and behavior....The chapters featured in this handbook seek to contribute to our understanding of exactly how, when, and why affect will influence people's thinking and behaviors."
New York : Oxford University Press, 2003.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » BF511 .H35 2003
The various phenomena addressed in this Handbook are: emotion, feelings, mood, attitudes, affective style, and temperament.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
Green Library » Stacks » BF511 .H355 2007
3rd ed. New York : Guilford Press, c2008.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » BF561 .H35 2008
"For those who are just beginning to take an interest in the field of emotion research, this volume should propel their interest further, with new areas to investigate and old questions to be viewed in new ways."
Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2005.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » BF327 .H36 2005
"We have organized the book in order to guide the reader through the complex relations involving attitudes, beliefs, behavior, and affect."
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Green Library » Stacks » ML3830 .H36 2010
Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC4801 .R68 2013
"This topical and exhaustively researched Companion examines the difficulties of defining EBD, and the dangers of allocating this imprecise label to children. Bringing together the work of contirutors from fifteen countries and across four continents, this book features the research of leading experts in the global field of EBD, who discuss and debate educators' key concerns..."

Databases

Psychology databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Websites

Journals

Key Journals

Hove [East Sussex]; Hillsdale, USA : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Publishers, 1987-
Green Library » Current periodicals
Austin, TX : Psychonomic Society, c2001-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QP351 .P542 V.10 2010
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2001-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF531 .E4814 V.5 2005
[Washington] American Psychological Association.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF311 .J63 V.31 2005:OCT.-DEC
[Washington] American Psychological Association.
Green Library » Stacks » HM251 .J56 V.53 1987:AUG.-SEPT
New York, Academic Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .J9 V.13:1-4,6 1974
New York, Plenum Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » See related record(s) to request item » BF683 .M64 BASE
[Austin, Tex., etc., Psychonomic Society, etc.]
Green Library » Stacks
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF724.55 .A35 P73 V.20 2005
Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishers
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

More Journals

[Oxford] : Blackwell Pub., <1995->
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Washington] : [International Federation on Ageing, Publications Division, etc.]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Thousand Oaks, CA : Sage Publications
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Hanover, N. H., etc.] American Psychiatric Association.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » RC321 .A52 V.119 1962
New York, Academic Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .B419 V.40 2009
Washington : American Psychological Association, inc., 1983-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF1 .J57 V.119 2005:FEB.-JUN
Oxford, New York, Pergamon Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » RC321 .B4 V.39 2001:JAN.-MAR
[New York] : Society of Biological Psychiatry
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Amsterdam, North-Holland Pub. Co.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QP351 .B54 V.54-55 2000/2001
[New York, NY] : Wiley-Liss, Inc., ©1996- Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Liss
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Los Angeles] ; [London] : Sage on behalf of International Society for Research on Emotion, ©2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Los Angeles, Spanish Speaking Mental Health Research Center.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF1 .H576 V.29 2007
Farmingdale, N.Y. [etc.] Baywood Pub. Co. [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HQ1060 .A33 V.67 2008
[New York, N.Y.] : John Wiley & Sons
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Lancaster, Pa., American Psychological Association.
Green Library » Stacks » BF1 .J575 1993:JUL.-AUG
New York, Human Sciences Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF353 .E55 V.32:NO.4 2008
London, New York, Pergamon Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 132.105 .J88 V.9 1971/1972
[New York, NY] : Elsevier, 1980-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Oxford, UK : Oxford Journals, Oxford University Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource