You are here

African-American History

Last Updated: 25-Oct-2012

Subject Librarians

Curator for American and British History, Head, Humanities and Social Sciences Resource Group
(650) 485-9851
Bibliographer for Anthropology & Archaeology, Communication & Journalism, Feminist Studies, Lusophone Africa Collections, and Sociology
(650) 724-0848
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Websites

[Alexandria, Va.] : Alexander Street Press, 2003-

Full texts of essays, speeches, letters, and other material.

[Alexandria, Va.] : Alexander Street Press

African American song.

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Publishing Group, c2000-

Full-text slave narratives.

[Alexandria, Va.] : Chadwyck-Healey, Inc., [1996?-

Periodicals and Newspapers

Online

 
African American Review
Afro-Americans in New York life and history
American Visions
Atlanta Daily World
1932-
Black Enterprise
The Black Scholar
Black World
Continues Negro Digest
Callaloo
The Crisis
NAACP
Douglass' Monthly
Ebony
Essence
African-American Women's magazine
Jet
The Journal of Black Psychology
Journal of Black Studies
The Journal of Negro History
Association for the Study of Afro-American Life and History
National Black Law Journal
The Negro Educational Review
Negro World
Universal Negro Improvement Association
Phylon
Atlanta University, Continues Phylon Quarterly
The Review of Black Political Economy
Sage
African-American Women's magazine

On Microfilm

 
The A.M.E. Church Review
A leading publication of the African Methodist Church
Alexander's Magazine
See guide at Analytical Guide and Indexes to Alexander's Magazine, 1905-1909
The Brown American
Color Line
The Colored American
Colored American Magazine
See guide at Analytical Guide and Indexes to the Colored American Magazine, 1900-1909
Competitor
See guide at Indexes to the Competitor
The Freedman
The Freedman's Advocate
The National Freedman's Relief Association
The Freedman's Journal
American Tract Society
The Freeman
The Half-Century Magazine
The National Principia
Continues The New York Principia, The Principia and National Era, The Principia
The Negro Farm and Messenger
Tuskegee Institute
Negro Story
Race Relations
Fisk University Social Science Institute
Service
Tuskegee Institute
The Southern Workman
Hampton Institute
The Tuskegee Messenger
Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute
The Voice
See guide at Analytical guide and indexes to the Voice of the Negro, 1904-1907

In Print

 
The Black Man
The Crusader
Hamitic League of the World and the African Blood Brotherhood
Debate & Understanding
Freedomways
Harlem Quarterly
The Howard Review
Howard University
Imhotep
Liberator
(1961-1971)
Messenger
The Movement
SNCC
The National Negro Voice
Continued by New Negro Voice
The Negro Churchman
African Orthodox Church
Negro College Quarterly
New Challenge
Founder, Dorothy West
New Journal & Guide
Continues Journal and Guide
New South
Continues Southern Frontier
Opportunity
National Urban League, Continues Bulletin of the National Urban League
Race
Conference on Social and Economic Aspects of the Race Problem
Reconstruction
La Revue du Monde Noir
The Student Voice
SNCC
The Western Sunrise
Brooklyn Mosque of Islamic Brotherhood

Alphabetical Text List

Analytical Guide and Indexes to The Crisis, 1910-1960
3 vols., 1975. E185.5 C923.R67 - Microtext Room
Fire!! Devoted to Younger Negro Artists
E185.5 F5 - Stack. New York, 1926

Databases

New York, New York Amsterdam News.
Green Library » InfoCenter: newspapers (non-circulating) » NEWSPAPER

Indexes and Bibliographies

Guides and Indexes

3d ed. Detroit, MI : Gale Research Co., c1980.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » Z1361 .N39 S653 1980 SUPPL

Bibliographic Table 1. Indexes a number of Black periodicals such as Ebony, The Crisis, Jet, etc., as well as other sources. It should be noted that the newspapers cited are not African American papers but rather mainstream newspapers such as the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, etc.

Boston : G. K. Hall, 1977.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » Z1361 .N39 A28 V.1

Provides selected indexing to a few African American periodicals.

1st ed. Ames : State University of Iowa Press, 1993.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z6944 .N39 P63 1993
Baton Rouge : Louisiana State University Press, c1981.
Green Library » Stacks » PN4882.5 .B8

Provides publishing history, a brief description of the nature of the journal, and some indication of holding institutions.

Boston : G.K. Hall, c1980-c1984.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » AI3 .A56 V.1

Guides to non-Stanford collections

[Tuskegee, Ala.] : Division of Behavioral Science Research, Carver Research Foundation, Tuskegee Institute, c1978.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » E185 .A12 K5

The microfilm is at U.C. Berkeley Library.

Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey, c1986.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » Z1361 .N39 S373 1986 F

Accompanying microfiche collection located at U.C.L.A.