You are here

Aircraft Materials and Avionics

Last Updated: 21-Sep-2016

Online research information on the physical properties of the materials used in aircraft and aerospace. Online technical information on aircraft avioncs, aircraft in serivce and aircraft underdevelopment.

Subject Librarians

Head of the Terman Engineering Library
(650) 725-1012

Material property information

These sources provide interactive tools to discover the mechanical, thermophysical, electrical properties of alloys, composites, ceramics adhesives and others

Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Aerospace and HIgh Perfomance Alloys Database (AHAD) was developed by CINDAS LLC and is provided through a Cooperative Research and Development Agreement (CRADA) with the United States Air Force. A combined version of the Aerospace Structural Metals Database (ASMD) and the High Performance Alloys Database (HPAD). Shows properties and relationships for metal alloys. Provides numeric and graphic information as part of the database, including a comprehensive PDF consisting of additional information for each alloy. The database contains approximately 105,000 data curves on over 275 alloys used in the aerospace and other industries. This is the new web version of Aerospace Structural Metals Handbook (ASMH).
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database (TPMD), contains thermophysical properties of over 5,000 materials with approximately 50,000 data curves. This database is searchable by material, by property, or by partial string (name). For all data curves, the material composition, experimental conditions, raw or smoothed data, and references are given. Dynamic graphing capabilities allow users to compare the same property of multiple materials, change scale ranges, and export and import data.