Alternative education

This guide is for those beginning research on alternative forms of education such as charter schools, private schools, homeschooling, and school vouchers, but also school choice and out-of-school time learning programs.

Background information

Second edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1027.9 .H344 2020
"This encyclopedia documents what the best research has revealed about what is distinctive about out-of-school learning: what facilitates or hampers it; where it takes place most effectively; how we can encourage it to develop talents and strengthen communities; and why it matters."
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC40 .H367 2017
"explores the field of alternative education on an international scale."
New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1027.9 .H344 2009
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2828.8 .W45 2002
Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LC1099 .E38 2012 V.1
"The major aim of this encyclopedia is to describe the most important concepts, theories, research, policies, case studies, and programs at the pre-school through the postsecondary levels and their implications for educational reform. Diversity is defined broadly in this encyclopedia and includes race, ethnicity, social class, gender, sexual orientation (LGBT), religion, language, and exceptionality, which encompasses giftedness and disability." p. xlviii

New books

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2806.36 .C363 2019
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA227.4 .M48 2019
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.455 .W545 2019
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1027.9 .G37 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2806.36 .R76 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1027.9 .G76 2018
9th ed. Washington, DC : National Association of Independent Schools, ©2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2831.3 .D45 2007
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA217.2 .O85 2017
Practice-oriented

Journals

Beverly Hills, Sage Publications.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
[Menasha, Wis., The Executive Council of Kappa Delta Pi, 1936-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .E23 V.71 2006/2007

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

New York, N.Y. : Public Affairs Information Service, Inc., 1991-2015.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z7163 .P3 V.24 PT.2 2014
Indexes selected books, government documents, and periodical articles on contemporary public issues and the making of public policy.

Websites

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking