Animal books

This guide lists nonfiction children's books and young adult literature in the Cubberley Education Library about animals.

Recently received

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A5765 H66 2019
Lexile measure 660; Ages 3-5; PrK-Gr.2
Ages 4-7; PrK-Gr.2; Outstanding Science Trade Book for Students: K-12, 2019; Best STEM Book for K-12 Students 2019
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .C27 M66 2019
Ages 4-8; K-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH48 .L2435 2018
Lexile measure 590; Ages 3-8; K-Gr.3
Cover of The lost words : a spell book
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH48 .M225 2018 F
Gr.3 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .C27 T477 2018
Lexile measure NC1260L; Ages 8-10; Gr.5-7; Robert F. Siebert honor book, 2019
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .E753 M38 2018
Lexile measure 650; Ages 5-7;  PrK-Gr.3
Lexile measure 780; Ages 5-8; Gr.1-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL31 .M53 S53 2018
Lexile measure 1110; Ages 11-13; Gr.5-8; Robert F. Sibert winner, 2019
New York, N.Y. : Penguin Young Readers, 2013, ©2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL561 .D3 E35 2013
Ages 6-8; Gr.1-3
Cover image of The triumphant tale of the house sparrow
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL696 .P264 T47 2018
Lexile measure 1010; Ages 9-12; Gr.1-3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL51.2 .G7 V35 2018
Lexile measure AD800L; Ages 4-8; Gr.K-3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .R54 G35 2018
PrK-Gr.3
Cover image of Rewilding : giving nature a second chance
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL83.4 .D73 2017
Lexile measure 1090; Ages 9-12; Gr. 6 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL756 .H35925 2018
K-Gr.4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BV265 .K57 2018
Lexile measure 420; Ages 4-6; PrK-Gr.2
Cover image of Two Bobbies : a true story of Hurricane Katrina, friendship, and survival
New York : Walker ; [United States] : Distributed by Macmillan Publishers, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » SF426.5 .L37 2008
Lexile measure AD810L; Gr.2-4; Guided reading M
Mankato, Minn. : Capstone Press, ©2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL775 .T56 2013
Lexile measure IG640L; Ages 6-8
New York. N.Y. : Crabtree Pub. Co., ©2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL756 .K356 2010
Lexile measure 470; Ages 5-7; K-Gr.1
Cover image of Magnificent creatures : animals on the move!
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL49 .W889 2016
Lexile measure 1030; Ages 3-5; PrK-Gr.2
Lexile measure 840; Ages 5-10
St. Catharines, Ont. : Crabtree Pub., [2010], c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QK926 .K35 2010
Lexile measure 830; Ages 7-10; Gr.2-5
Cover image of Actual size
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, ©2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL799 .J46 2004 F
Lexile measure IG1080L; PrK-Gr.2; Guided reading L
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL696 .F32 G49 2018
Lexile measure 480; Ages 4-8; Gr.1-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TJ211.2 .B43 2014
Lexile measure 1180; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-7
Cover of Bird builds a nest
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL675 .J46 2018
Ages 4-6; PrK-Gr.1
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .E594 H45 2018
Lexile measure AD220L; PrK-K; Ages 3-5
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6054 .A937 S65 2017
K-Gr.3
Cover image of Hidden city : poems of urban wildlife
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .U88 A6 2018 F
Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.2

Elementary

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .U63 K57 2017
Ages 4-8; Prk-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E76275 I2 2017
Ages 3-7; PrK-Gr.2
Lexile measure AD810L; Ages 4-8; K-Gr.3; Guided reading M
First American edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL565.2 .H44 2016
Lexile measure AD760L; Ages 3-7; PrK-Gr.1
Lexile measure 730; Ages 5-9; Gr.1-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL696 .F32 H34 2017
Lexile measure 650; Ages 5-9; K-Gr.4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL755.5 .S73 2017
Lexile measure 780; Ages 8-12; There is a Spanish version at https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/12201962
Ages 8-12; There is an English version at https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/12201961
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .P98 R685 2017
Lexile measure NC1310L; Ages 7-11; Gr.3-6; Robert F. Silbert Honor book
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ2719 .I444 P5813 2017 F
K-Gr.2
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH541.15 .B56 D38 2017 F
Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL638.9 .W54 2017
K-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ2719 .I444 H4813 2017 F
Lexile measure 740; Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL49 .Z65 2017 F
Gr.1-3
First edition.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Ask at circulation desk » F788 .C485 2017 F
Lexile Measure 1000L; Ages 7-12; Gr.3-5
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL756 .M34 2018 F
Ages 4-8; Prk-Gr.2
New York, N.Y. : Crabtree Pub. Co., ©2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL666 .C536 K34 2004
Ages 8-10; Gr.3-6
2016 collector's edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9619.4 .D354 S77 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL713.2 .S547 2016
Lexile measure AD550L; Ages 3-7; PrK-Gr.2; Outstanding science trade books, 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL49 .J4453 2016
Lexile measure 840; Ages 8-12; Gr.2-6; Outstanding science trade books, 2017
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA113 .J32 2016
Lexile measure AD860L; Ages 5-7; Gr.1-3; Outstanding science trade books, 2017
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Ask at circulation desk » QL737 .L32 C655 2016
Ages 7-12; Gr.2-5
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .C27 D475 2016
Gr.1-4
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL430.3 .A73 F54 2016 F
Ages 6-10; Gr.1-5; Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Honor Award
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HV4712 .B723 2016
Lexile measure 910; Ages 8-10
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .L3252945 H86 2015
Ages 5-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PE1689 .R66 2015
Lexile measure AD900L; Ages 5-9; K-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL458.4 .M635 2015
Lexile measure 1080; Ages 5-11
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL31 .G58 S55 2015
Lexile measure 1100; Ages 8-13; Gr.4-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BF449 .K44 2015
Ages 4-7; PrK-Gr.2
Ages 8-12; Gr.2-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PE1155 .H625 2015
Lexile measure AD580L; Ages 5-8; PrK-gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH491 .S34 2013 F
Lexile measure AD860L; Ages 4-8; Prk-gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL561 .D3 S5513 2015
Lexile measure AD550L; Ages 4-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL666 .O6 A45 2015
Lexile measure 170; Gr.K-2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .C27 S4753 2015
Lexile measure 770; Ages8-10; Gr.3-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL49 .B255513 2013
Ages 5-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .M376 F56 2015
Lexile measure AD590L, Ages 3-6; Gr.K-2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .A77284 F58 2015
Ages 4-8; Gr.3-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .I87 S66 2014
Lexile measure AD200L; Ages 4-8; Gr.PrK-K; Guided reading K
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL49 .B7464 2014 F
Lexile measure NC1260L; Ages 8-12
Lexile measure AD580L; Ages 4-8; Gr.2-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL544.2 .B79 2014
Ages 6-10
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL676.2 .W382 2014
Ages 5-8; PrK-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL949 .J46 2014
Lexile measure 1040; ages 6-12;  Gr.3-6
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL697.4 .S74 2014
Ages 4-7; Gr.1-3
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL638.9 .R685 2014
Lexile measure NC1330L; Ages 7-11, Gr.3-6
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL763 .J83 2014
Lexile measure AD900L; Ages 5-8; Gr.K-3
Mount Pleasant, S.C. : Sylvan Dell Publishing, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL83 .S52 2010
Lexile Measure 960; Book level 5; Ages 4-8; Gr.Prk-3
Lexile measure 1130; Ages 8-14; Gr.4-7
Lexile measure IG1030L; Ages 8-10; Gr.3-6
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL576.2 .J46 2012
Lexile measure AD980; Ages 5-12, gr. 2-5
New York, NY : Scholastic Nonfiction, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL668 .E2 B47 2008
Lexile measure 890; ages 5-12; book level 4.8; informational, gr. 2-4
1st ed. New York : Roaring Brook Press, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH198 .G3 C44 2012
Lexile measure 900; Ages 6-9, gr. 2-4.
New York : Crabtree Pub., c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL696 .S473 K33 2007
Lexile measure 880; Ages 8-12; Book level 5.5; Nonfiction; Library has 6 copies, gr. 3-6.
Watertown, MA : Charlesbridge, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL696 .S473 F65813 2004
Lexile measure 820; Ages 5-10; Grade level 4.5; General nonfiction; Library has 6 copies, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : Greenwillow Books, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL76.5 .I722 B342 2010
Ages 8-12; Book level 7.1, gr. 4-7
New York : Walker : Distributed to the trade by Macmillan, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .C22 P385 2008
Lexile measure 1040; age 6-13; nonfiction, gr. 3-5
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH541.14 .W55 2010 F
Ages 8-12, gr. K-5
New York : Sterling Pub. Co., c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL768 .A77 2008
Lexile measure 1040; ages 7-9; book level 5.5; informational, gr. 1-3
1st ed. Honesdale, Pa. : Boyds Mills Press, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL430.5 .S65 C36 2008
Ages 6-10; book level 4.4; nonfiction, gr. PreK-2

Middle school

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » SF422.5 .F79 2017
Lexile measure 1400; Ages 14 and up; Gr.7 and up
New York : F. Watts ; Washington, D.C. : Joseph Henry Press, ©2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL31 .V37 E24 2005
Gr.6-8; Guided reading Z
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL31 .A9 P65 2015
Ages 9-14; Gr.7-10
Lexile measure 1020; Ages 9-12; Gr.5-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .A834 Z46 2015
Lexile measure 1210; Ages 11-13; Gr.5-8; Guided reading V
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL696 .C48 H66 2012
Awards: Robert F. Sibert Informational Award Honor Book (2013); YALSA Award for Excelling in Nonfiction for Young Adults Finalist (2013); Lexile measure 1150; Ages 10 and up, gr. 7-12
Boston, [Mass.] : Houghton Mifflin, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL85 .N69 2006
London : Marshall Editions, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL768 .J636 2008
Ages 10-18; general nonfiction, gr. 6-10
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking