A quick guide to resources for the study and creation of animation (animated movies).
Green Library NC1765 .B4213 1994B
Internet Archive: Animation & Cartoons
Downloadable and streaming video, including classic cartoons (Bugs Bunny, Betty Boop, Fleisher Superman), stop motion, and machinima.
Origins of American Animation
Collection of 21 animated films spanning the years 1900 to 1921.
Movie Guides, Credits, and Plot Summaries
Database of movies, actors/actressess, producers, directors and cast members. Includes a detailed plot synopsis.
Annual index to motion picture credits
Full credits, specific date of release, duration, and MPAA rating; includes ten indexes: actors, art directors, cinematographers, costume designers, directors, film editors, composers, producers, sound engineers, and writers.
Green Library PN1993 .A55 Information Center: Non-circulating
The Internet Movie Database
Extensive database searchable by title, actor's name, director's name, etc. Very detailed, nearly comprehensive.
Filmmaking & Production
Peer-reviewed scholarly journal devoted to animation history and theory.
Bright Lights Film Journal
"Popular-academic hybrid of movie analysis, history, and commentary."
From the Film Society of the Lincoln Center.
Film Literature Index 1973 to present
A quarterly publication for articles on film, film history and criticism in over 300 international film journals. It includes coverage of television periodical literature. Indexed by subject, film title, and name.
Green Library Z5784 .M9 F53 Information Center: Non-circulating
International Index to Film Periodicals 1972 to present
Annotated guide to articles, interviews and reviews in international periodicals.
Green Library Z5784 .M9 149 Information Center: Non-circulating
Film Review Index
This index covers reviews from 1882 through 1985 (in two volumes). An extensive film bibliography is included.
Green Library Z5784 .M9 F513 1986 Information Center: Non-circulating
Magazine and Journal Articles Database
Database indexes over 1500 periodicals from the California Digital Library. It is helpful in finding film reviews and any articles relating to film in current magazines.
Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals 1930-1971
Green Library Z5784 .M9.B39 Information Center: Non-circulating